Kestrel house out in the elements

in ecoTrain4 years ago

This bird house has seen a large range of weather, from snow, wind, tropical storms, hail, tropical depressions, thunderstorms, hot summers and cold winters. I did not paint the house as I have read birds may reject it. But I hope it will hold up to the elements over the years. If I can get five to ten years out of it I would be impressed.

Right before the eight minute mark I edit in a video lapse of the moon visible during the day slowly falling below the horizon.

So far one family of Wrens have used it as a home, hoping in the upcoming years I will get more kinds of birds and preferably a Kestrel or Owl.

Surprised the Kestrel house has handled the wind, I see it rocking a little side to side when it gets real windy but I guess its not swaying enough to deter the Wrens.

I do not think I will see much activity until next year, but then again I do not know much about birds so maybe there is a fall and winter nesting bird out there. We shall see, I will keep an eye on the house and see if anything moves in between now and next years spring.

Thinking of building a Hawk perch if I do not get any predatory bird activity in the next year or so. I know we have many Hawks, I hear and see them all the time. But they require a special kind of home, more of just an open ledge actually. This Kestrel house is better suited for Falcon like birds along with Owls and general song birds. I am surprised the Wrens used the home, it is so big and they seemed happy with it. I wonder if the baby birds had to work extra hard to climb out the the hole. Being designed for much larger birds they must have had quite the climb up to the exit hole.

Maybe one day ill add a webcam inside, though I may not be able to live stream it as its quite far from my internet connection. Also would need to set up a solar charger as there is no power by the Kestrel house. I can live stream the Mason Bees because I set up their home right next to the house, unlike the Kestrel bird house.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

@tipu curate

thanks alot for the curation.

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 94000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Update for regular authors