Rescued a few sad strawberry plants

in ecoTrain4 years ago

When I planted my strawberries in the spring I placed them in all kinds of spaces. Some were more big and others were small. I quickly found out that the smaller spots were not good for the strawberries. Mostly in some vertical planters and the coconut containers. I need to give them more space than I planned.

20200723_154834.jpg

Using my newly built planters removed the sad strawberries from their small homes and placed them in the new boxes.. with lots of space. The hand holes also have strawberry plants coming out the side. We shall see if the rains do not wash away those ones as it's a big hole. If the plant grows quick enough maybe the roots will hold it all together.

20200723_152255.jpg

We started off with filling the wooden containers base with rocks. Giving the wood a drainage layer to keep wet dirt off of it.

20200723_152616.jpg

We filled the boxes half way up with mulch. It will break down in the box to release nutrients over time.

20200723_152858.jpg

Once mostly topped off with soil we made space for a few plants. Keeping in mine not to crowd the plants this time.

20200723_153550.jpg

Some of the strawberry plants already dyed but a few were just hanging on so we placed them in the box.

20200723_153712.jpg

Planting them deep enough to cover the roots but not too deep to cover the crown took some practice. Otherwise the plant will not do very well.

Hoping the roots have more space now and will give us some big strawberries. @activate.alpha helped me move these plants into the new containers. I appreicate her help and giving her half the rewards to this post.

Sort:  

I wonder if people wonder you are running some sort of business with those logos on the box.

Hah.. yeah maybe. Pretty unlikely anyone would pick up on what the logo means.

Haha meeting Hive peeps in real life will feel like some illuminati event.

It does feel a little strange, I met with @makinstuff in Alabama. I think his friends and my friends were a little nervous meeting with a stranger. But I have been on his Discord show numerous times and felt pretty comfortable. So in the winter I camped out on his property with @ryulincoln. It ended up being alot of fun, and we quickly realized we share many of the same views. Making hanging out effortless, looking forward to going back to his property.

When I goto Utah maybe we can meet up, its not any time soon but maybe one day I can plan a trip out to the Uinta basin. Depending how far you are from there maybe we can work out a meeting.

We could meet for lunch or something.

Awesome.. I'll let you know when I'm getting serious about the trip.

Those planter boxes with hive logos look wonderful..

Thanks, I think it was a nice touch to add at the end of painting them.

I wish I can see this kind of strawberries to plant as well inside my mobile Seedbed... Thanks for the rescue update.. Jah bless.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!