Roots are forming on the Tomato cuttings

in ecoTrain4 years ago

About a week ago I cut off extra growth from one of my tomato plants. I removed the lower leaves from the cuttings and placed them in mason jars with water inside. I checked on them every few days, no action for awhile. But the stems stayed green and happy. A week later we now have roots forming on these cuttings.

20200730_082011.jpg

Most of the tomato cuttings survived. One did not, not sure what happened. Maybe the cutting was too small or some bacteria got to it before it could grow strong.

20200730_082110.jpg

I tossed out the dead cutting but glad to see most of the other cuttings are doing well. And most of them have formed some roots.

20200730_082126.jpg

If all goes well I should have a bunch of new plants to start. And it's still pretty early in the season so it would be a good time to start them.

20200730_082200.jpg

I let the roots get longer and then put them in the ground. At this pace it should happen in a few days. Depending on how quickly the roots will grow.

20200730_082234.jpg

The jars get sunlight through the window, and hoping the other cuttings do well too. I have mint I'm trying to root, along with a Camellia stem.

20200730_082133.jpg

I put the mint cuttings in jars and cleared off the lower leaves so just the stems are in the water.

20200730_082138.jpg

No roots yet on the mint. But they seem to be hanging on just like the tomato cuttings did. So maybe soon enough I'll have roots on the mint too. Planning on placing them around my blueberry bushes. They are established and should not be affected by the mint. We shall see, if I have to move them I will.

Sort:  

Congratulations!
When I grow roots from cuttings, I definitely add an activated corner to the water.
Per 250 ml. water 1 tablet.
This prevents the cuttings from rotting.
I hope that my advice will be useful to you :-)))

Oh did you mean to say activated charcoal? I'll look into using those. Luckily only one cutting died so far.

Yes, activated charcoal.
I also sprinkle the roots of plants with crushed activated carbon before planting them.

Oh gotcha.. good idea. I need to buy some or make my own.

Make your own!