Spring Garden Update: Strawberries

in ecoTrain4 years ago

Making use of old food containers I put holes in them and then placed Strawberry plants and added dirt and mulch. Within a few days leaves and flowers were forming from all the sides and on top. I made this video a month or so ago and since then its produced many Strawberries.

I took rope and using knot work I made a harness for each of the containers. Watching videos online I saw how others hang pots with ropes and copied their technique. Three are hanging on top of each other. Making it easy to water them as gravity pulls the moisture down into the next container below. I still need to water them every so often when the rain does not do that for me. But seems with the mulch added it really helps them to retain moisture.

I also put Strawberries in other containers and pots. Though the Squirrels get to them and other critters. Not so much the Ants I was worried about but more of a mammal problem now. Its okay they leave enough for us at the moment.

Placing a cluster of Strawberries in the ground it will act as a control and help me see how quickly the ants take over the berries. So between all these containers I am hoping for many berries throughout the year. I am thinking June will be the big month for the berries though we shall see.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  

Always a challenge to get to the fruit before the critters...😊

Hehe sure is.. they sure know when they are just about ready.

I like to grow Strawberries out of ten pots, I currently have a nice bounty green berries already. June is certainly looking good for my pot patch. I also have several Blueberry shrubs that I expect to pull out a decent crop providing they don't get raided by the local starlings.

Ah very nice. Best of luck this month with your harvest. I feel ya on the birds raiding the Blueberry bushes. I had the same problem the year before last. But last year a hawk killed a bird next door right around the time the berries were ready. And this caused the other birds not to hang around my bushes. Learning this I built a Kestrel House and trying to attract one to protect my fruit trees and bushes from greedy birds.