HARVESTED BELL PEPPER, CUCUMBER, AND SPONGE GOURD! (September Plant Update)

in ecoTrain4 years ago




Hey! It's been a while since I posted about our mini garden! I guess the last one was still last month? I remember it's about harvesting cucumber and the lone tomato fruit which took several months to grow. Haha.

Guess what? Another plant have bear fruit for the first time!



IMG_20200920_175917_2.jpg

It's the bell pepper plant. Ah, finally! We planted it from seed last January and it took 9 months to grow fruit. Here is a photo when it was still attached to the plant last week.



IMG_20200918_164950.jpg

When some areas of it began having some shade of red, my mother asked me to harvest it already. The fruit is kind of small, around 2.5 inches maybe. I don't know if the fruit is healthy but it doesn't look like there are traces of pest infestation on it. I'll find out once it gets sliced!



IMG_20200918_164844.jpg

Next, are the squash plants. My mother already removed the tomato plants since it's plague with aphids and can no longer produce healthy flowers. She cultivated the squash seeds that was accidentally poured near where the tomatoes once were planted. She placed the seeds on a styrofoam container to let it dry under the sun but the wind blew the container and the seeds toppled to the soil. She got lazy to pick them and we're surprised that after a few days, the seeds have already sprouted. 😂 It now has huge leaves which also looks healthy. I wonder how long will it take for the plant to produce squash.



IMG_20200915_180244_2.jpg

The cucumber and patola (sponge gourd) are continuously producing fruits but the cucumber is slower and only produces one at a time. The other cucumbers don't continue to grow. I wonder what's wrong.



IMG_20200918_164801.jpg

Meanwhile, all the onion leaves have withered but the aloe vera plants are looking healthy and the replanted ones are also looking good. I hope we can grow them into really big ones so we can have lots of aloe vera gel! Haha! 😂 Those plants in between the aloe vera are gingers. I think they're looking healthy as well. I haven't taken a photo of the eggplant but it has already grown around a feet tall.

That's all for the plant update for September. Right now we have a continuous harvest of the sponge gourd so we often have a soup called "Misua with patola". :)






2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn8BGehqkW7w8m8nh.gif
Hive PH badge by @bearone. :)




I AM ON INSTAGRAM and YOUTUBE!



instagram128 1.png


youtube2128.png

Sort:  

Nice harvest! I think you will need to manually pollinate the cucumbers. If I remember correctly, I think they are one of those plants that has male and female flowers (I think), that you need to manually transfer the pollens by placing the female flower on top of the male (or maybe the other way around) so you can transfer the pollens, initializing the pollination.

But if there are natural pollinators around your place, then it may be some other reason why they don't produce much fruits.

I'm waiting for the tomatoes I planted last month. My bell peppers were the ones plagued by aphids and ants now. Thinking about just killing them off including the olant itself. But of course can't get myself to do that yet. Hehe

There are bugs on the cucumber.. sometimes bees too. But I think they're not doing enough. XD

Wow good luck with your tomatoes. Wait a little longer before removing the bell peppers. Who knows a miracle might happen. XD

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #48.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

Thank you po :D