Self Realization, Awakened and Motivated || ecoTrain Question Of The Week Season 6 #7: How do you feel in this moment

in ecoTrain3 years ago

What perfect timing for this QOW. I just read it and felt like answering it right away because for the past 2-3 days I was feeling so much, a plethora of emotions (mostly sad and depressing ones) which eventually led to immense & powerful thinking, strategizing, and motivation.

Untitled design (81).png

Let me tell you my story about my emotional awakening over the past 2-3 days. I am an IT professional and working at a senior level in my organization. When I rejoined after my maternity break (which I reduced from 6 to 3 months to stay on top of my work), I felt kind of disconnected from work. People were like you have joined too early, your baby is small so you might not be able to manage so much right now. And I was like ok, let's enjoy some work but no work moment. But this kept on stretching and I started to feel that my job is not challenging at all and I'm not contributing to my organization and my professional growth enough. This made me feel sad, frustrated, and guilty all the time. But I kept ignoring these emotions and thought of using this time to take care of my baby. Since I am a new mom, I was enjoying my baby's first actions and reactions and that was keeping me busy.

Untitled design (84).png

But very soon I realized what am I doing with my life. Caring and loving your baby is one thing but giving him all the time in the world and not doing anything for your ownself is absurd. No offenses against any other mom but I personally don't find happiness in being a full-time mom.

So the very next day, I called my manager to ask her for more challenging opportunities in my career. I told her my baby is grown up enough I am all set to take additional responsibilities. She asked me to create a presentation with my skill set and area of interest so that she could find me a suitable opportunity. And I did that happily.

Untitled design (82).png

I love to solve problems. I like bringing in solutions to industry issues and incorporate those into our product. I have done that in past and I feel that role challenges me. So I told the same to my manager and CEO and guess what, they created an all-new team for me and made me the Head of that team. I am leading the Solution Engineering vertical in my organization now along with my Business Analyst role and I am just loving it.

The entire situation made me realize that how important it is to self-analyze, understand your shortcomings, and awaken yourself to get out of that trap. I am so motivated and pumped up now, can't wait to solve more and more problems coming my way!

So that's how I feel - Energetic, Pumped Up, Awakened, Enthusiastic and Motivated.

Untitled design (83).png