Thoughts On Being Rewarded!

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Oh the heat, how it plays with my mind. It gets to a certain point in the day, where I can't quite find the words I am looking for. Just too hot to think, is all. When it is this hot, there is no choice but to listen to your body and take it slow. Surrender to flow and let things just pass you by! It feels good to low down!


IMG_6150.JPG

Yesterday I spend most of the day baking, yes a hot oven in the truck, is not easy,(what was I thinking) but there was a mini market in the evening and I wanted to make some money, selling cakes. So I made chocolate and pear and also apple and berry. Both varieties vegan, sugar and gluten free. If I make them I also want to be able to eat them.

The market started at 5 and was at the local rainbow community, which is a little higher up than where I live and also in the forest. So that alone was enough to entice me. It is such a magical spot an it attracts people from all over, with lots of folk living in natural structures and tents.

It's the first place to go to, if you truly want to unplug from society and reconnect with the wild. The further you go into the community the less people there are.

I went with a friend, who also spend the day cooking. She drove her car, which we had to park a little bit away from the community as the truck was really dodgy and after two attempts to drive in, we gave up as it meant driving way to close to the edge of a cliff, for our liking.

We arrived at 4 and it was still hot, add in the weight of our produce plus tables etc and we were well tired and sweaty when we got to the forest.


IMG_6152.JPG

But once we got into the shade and heard the water flowing, it was enough to recharge us a little. Then it was a bit of an uphill walk until we found the spot we wanted to set up shop. Once all was set up and produce on display, it was time for a quick refresh in the river and wow was that magical.

Then more people started to slowly trickle in and before lone, we have folk either side of us and across from us, a we all set up along the pathway. A friend even rocked up with a cooler box full of vegan ice lollies and I was very happy to buy a pineapple and coconut one. What bliss sitting in the forest, surrounded by wonderful folk, eating an ice lolly, in close to 40 degree heat!

It really is all about the simple things in life!

I did manage to sell some cake, that was until I realized that the last ones I baked didn't get to cook fully. I thought about telling folk they were mousse cakes, but in the end I just gave them away to who ever wanted them. It wasn't my most successful market day, earnings wise. But there was such a beautiful atmosphere there and being there, rewarded me in so many other ways.

We can so easily, get caught up in this idea of making a profit, that we miss out on the real value that comes from the exchanges we have with others. The exchange of energy that occurs and taking the time to actually connect with those who come to you. It helps when you are in a space where you feel relaxed and for me, that is always within nature.

I know most of the people who work the markets and we are all open to trading with one another, so I got to have a wonderful dinner of falafels with plum and apple chutney in exchange for a couple of slices of cake. We also use this markets to trade our local currency and it is always exciting when someone wishes to purchase with it. It is slowly growing!

I also attended the market without my girls, as their father is visiting and he took them out for the day, which meant I could fully focus on my surroundings and on the people I was interacting with. And it also allowed me to have some much needed me time!

Moments of magic!

image.png

image.png




___<
<
image.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 66000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Loved to read this!

I visited a somewhat similar, so called hippie market, this Saturday on somebody's land nearby. I bought 4 small crystals and a necklace, drank two small glasses of kombucha, bought some home made natural cream for injuries ( named 'calm balm' ) and talked to loads of people, both acquaintances/ friends and people I never met. Right now my neighbor and I are about to go to a workshop given by a woman we met on the market. We will learn how to make natural soap, detergent and so on, the easy way.

We are lucky that it isn't too hot, here in Portugal, although we have had some days close to 40 degrees Celsius recently.

We also use this markets to trade our local currency and it is always exciting when someone wishes to purchase with it. It is slowly growing!

Seriously? wow! Couldn't help but think of Hive. What if everybody there and or here would use it.

Sending you a huge hug my friend

xx

Thank you Vincent, I would love to get to visit you one day and of course you are always welcome here. Great that you have such awesome workshops going on over there, seems to be a very similar vibe to where I am for sure.
Would love to see all of us using hive in our communities.
Much love to you xxxx