HOMEMADE KIMCHI (EASY PEASY) - Your body will thank you for it!

in ecoTrain4 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: 100% Laziness guaranteed #LOL

I'm not that patient when it comes to cooking, baking, or anything in the kitchen so, if you're one of those who loves speedy recipes yet super yummy and most of the time (?) healthy, make sure to stick around by following me here on Hive! :)

Kimchi, in Korean cuisine, is a traditional side dish of salted and fermented vegetables, such as napa cabbage and Korean radish, made with a widely varying selection of seasonings More info on wiki

Since it's sour, salty, a bit sweet, and spicy, Kimchi goes so well with all the dishes like rice, noodles, meat dishes, and all kind of main dishes. It balances well with all the greasy food as well. People also put kimchi as one of the ingredients in some dishes such as kimchi fried rice, kimchi soup, kimchi noodles & more. As well as the fact that this side dish is a superfood, I just can't resist to love Kimchi!

If you live somewhere far from the authentic Korean grocery stores (where you can get a HUGE jar of kimchi for $12), kimchi can actually cost an arm and a leg. We found a small jar (really small) for $8 here in a supermarket and I was like, helllll no, that's outrageous so I got an idea of making my own.

How hard could it be to make my own kimchi!?


Napa cabbage

One popular veggie for this Korean pickle and probably the most popular kind out there. I grabbed just one big one from a supermarket but you choose the sizes and how many you'd like. Wash well and cut it up just the good size for your liking.

IMG_20200910_160630.jpg


Salt water (+ a secret!!)

After that, soak it in salt water for a few hours.

*Here's a thing, we didn't have any big container or bowl so I chose to use a ziplock bag instead. Turned out, it works probably better as I found it's so easy to drain out the water afterward and how easy to mix all the ingredients later on.

IMG_20200910_190840.jpgIMG_20200910_160912.jpg
IMG_20200910_162717.jpgIMG_20200910_162631.jpg


Gochujang & Fish sauce (or soy sauce for vegan version)

Now after draining the salt water, some people wash the napa cabbage again a few times but really, not that necessary. Then, add gochujang paste (Korean red chili paste) and fish sauce. I know fish sauce smell quite bizarre so not all the people like it so, soy sauce works as good so, go ahead and use what suits you best.

Speaking of all the ratio, I honestly didn't follow any instruction but my heart <3 Just dump in some portion I think it would be delicious for your taste. In this case, I put in about 2 tablespoons of gochujang and 2 tablespoons of fish sauce.

IMG_20200910_191405.jpg


Garlic & Ginger

Garlic and ginger are what will give the intense flavors and a bit of spice. Again, follow your heart how much you'd like these in your kimchi. I put quite a good amount of garlic but not much as ginger because I don't think I would like the ginger taste in my kimchi much.

Ideally, you should grate them but for my laziness, chopping them up nicely is just good enough :)

IMG_20200910_191355.jpgIMG_20200910_192002.jpg

IMG_20200910_191725.jpg


Apple

No sugar for this recipe. We use this natural sweetness from apple! Sounds delicious, doesn't it? Same as garlic and ginger, grate or chop it up real good and dumb in just a good amount for your liking :)

IMG_20200910_193418.jpg

IMG_20200910_193901.jpg


Mix the ingredients around

See! How easy it is to use ziplock to make kimchi. I don't even need to get my hand dirty and no gloves needed either. Just gently flip it around and massage the bag to make sure the ingredients are well mixed.

IMG_20200910_192701.jpg


Flip!

The first day, when there's not much of liquid yet, I flip it around every few hours just to make sure all the napa cabbage gets the liquid equally.

IMG_20200910_194208.jpgIMG_20200910_194222.jpg



The process of fermenting


DAY 1

IMG_20200910_194250.jpg


DAY 2

image.png


DAY 3

image.png


After not even whole full 3 days yet, the cabbage's shrunk real good. A lot more liquid is coming out and holy, even stored in that zip lock bag, I can slightly smell it. Very strong smell and I can't wait till tonight to open the bag and try the kimchi with dinner!!

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!
 4 years ago  

very nice post! i love kimchi and its so good for you! yours looks like proper kimchi too!

I'm glad! and thank you for checking it out :))