GOOD NEWS! I Have Finally Found A Camper Shell For My Truck!

in The Alliance3 years ago

As I was preparing to get on the road next week, I was still hoping I would find a camper shell for the back of my truck. I have been looking and nothing has been going right, the camper shells were either too long or too short for the bed of my truck. I was discouraged as there are so many on the marketplace on FB and lots on Craigslist. Just seemed it was not going to happen so I would be sleeping in the seat in the cab of my truck. It was not the most comfortable way to travel but I just accepted it as the way it was going to happen.

My wife got a phone call from a friend of ours that lives just down the dirt road from us, her neighbor had a camper shell that he wanted to get rid of. Ok, so I said let's go and look at it and see if it would fit. I was thinking it would not fit but it is just down the road, let's go and look at it.

IMG_0446.JPG

So we did and we measured it and it was close to the size of the bed. So our neighbor told me to pull over to it and we would lift it us and be sure it fits and take a closer look at it. It was the right size and I was happy, that was until he told me what he wanted for it. There was one other thing that made me wonder about this camper shell.

IMG_0445.JPG

It had a window on one side and it was just a door on the other side. It had a toolbox on that side of the camper shell. I was trying to figure out if this would work or not, he also wanted $300.00 dollars for this camper shell. I did not have that in the budget for leaving next week.

IMG_0448.JPG

So I talked to him and asked what was his bottom dollar. He told me he needed to get some stuff to fix some things in his house and they were going to cost him $225.00 and that was as low as he could go on the camper shell. So I told him I could do that and I now have a camper shell for my truck.

IMG_0447.JPG

It is an older camper shell. It is an A.R.E camper shell, it is a commercial camper shell and the tailgate comes off the truck and the whole door in the back opens up. I have a place to put some tools now and they will not take up room in the back of the truck really or in the cab of the truck. I have to do some things to make it draft proof like seal up where it meets the truck bed real good, I will re-chalk the windows and I need to put some new seals where the door opens on the top of it. I got it bolted to the truck today and I will do most of the other stuff tomorrow. I will need to build a bed in the back and make it as comfortable as possible. I will not be leaving next week as this is Friday, it is all good and I am happy. I thought this was not going to happen and it seems when you are trying too hard it never works out, so it was a learning lesson to just be patient. I will have to possibly wait till the first of February to get on the road as this purchase set finances back some, plus the stuff I had to get to make it draft proof and material to build the bed. The new tires for the truck will have to wait but I know in the end it will all work out for the good. This has been a long process and I have had my patience tested several times in the last couple of months. Thank you for all of your patience with me trying to get on the road, it will happen and it is really close now. I hope everyone has a good night/day, whatever it is in your neck of the woods!

Do Not Forget To Upvote, Follow, and Reblog This Post!
logo 512 x 512 400 x 400 2.jpg

Made Using https://www.freelogodesign.org/

Please Help Support Our Veterans And Our Veteran Witnesses

My Post 5 400 x 267.jpg

Sort:  

What luck and just around the corner, it's like that, friend, the best thing is to be patient and not to force things.

Yeah, I always get in a hurry and I need to slow down and learn things will happen when it is time.

Hey that's awesome! What a great fit, too! That's going to be loads of fun.

Yeah, I spent lots of time looking and not a one fit the truck. I guess it was meant for me to get this one.

It has been fun just getting everything ready so the time on the road will be a blast.

Awesome to see more progress being made👍

Yeah, as I say "Always Forward!" I try to make that a motto for my life and so far it has been.

It sometimes seems the forward movement has stalled but things are just working themselves out.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thanks! @fambalam. I appreciate every vote from my friends and family.

Congratulations @ambiguity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP