It Has Been Raining, Been Busy! I Am Still Around And Have Some News To Share!

in The Alliance3 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Sorry, I have not been around for a while but it has been a busy few weeks for me. I get up and grab and a cup of coffee and it is out the door. There have been setbacks and some trials to go through for me lately, I know it might seem like they are that bothersome to you but to me it was. My wife's van breaks down and it is the timing belt. Well, that was about 800 dollars to fix and we did not pay that much for the van, she really did not care for it much so, not a fan of Kia anything. We sold it and went looking for her another vehicle. We still had my truck that runs great, knock on wood, so we were out looking.

We Knew that the van had problems and would not last much longer so we had been saving up our dimes and nickels, so to speak, to get her something else to drive. We were not the lucky many that got the stimulus checks, as the house that we bought before I went to Iraq got foreclosed on and the IRS did not get the First time Homebuyers Credit thing right, that knocked us out of the stimulus checks. Still trying to get that figured out! So we hit the Facebook marketplace, about the only thing we use Facebook for now.

She needed something that was third-row seating as there are six of us in the family and it made it much more comfortable when we all had to go someplace. We got to looking and there was a 07 Jeep Commander on there. It had an overheating problem and his mechanic could not figure it out so he went out and bought a new Jeep and was selling the Commander. The mechanic replaced all of the cooling system components on the vehicle. The radiator, water pump, thermostat, even the radiator cap. Still overheating! So he was asking 1500.00 for the Jeep. We went and looked at it and he had all the records of everything he did to the Jeep, oil changes, new tires, new CV shafts, everything.

We had to pull from my nest egg of my getting on the road money and the little we got from the van, to get the Jeep and get it tagged and on the road. I could have fixed the problem in his driveway and told him what the problem was but he said he just wanted it gone, asked if we could tow it home. Could not work on it at his house, so I came home and got the trailer, and towed it home. The reason it was overheating was he did not pull the plug on the top radiator housing to burp the system of air when he filled the radiator. Jeeps have to have this done or there is not enough antifreeze in the system to circulate to keep the engine cool, I always burp the cooling system on any vehicle I do something to get the air out of the system. So that is a good thing and life has gotten better.

It sounds like it happened in a couple of days but we were looking for and looking at vehicles for a month solid and it was going like crap till just about a week ago. I did not get a picture of the Jeep but I will here in a few days and post it if I can remember too. At this time we came across a roofing contractor that had bought a step van that he bought to do seamless gutter in and it was not going to work and asked us if someone we knew might be interested in buying a step van? The person he bought it from retired from doing a bread route and he bought it from him. The motor and transmission had been gone through about 6 months ago and he had just put new tires on it and a complete brake job, front, and back brakes. He was just sitting it in front of his shop for advertising and he wanted someone that would put the step van to good use.

IMG_0461.JPG

I told him I had been looking for one for about a year now but they were way out of my budget. He said we needed to talk and see if we could work out something. He knew I was a veteran by the tag on my truck and he likes to help vets as much as he can. He wanted 2500.00 for the step van and I told him I did not have that as we just had to get the wife another vehicle, he told me no worries it would be here when I got the money up and just let him know. So we spent the last month or so scraping together all we could to make it happen. I tried to use the pickup but it was not going to work out for me with my knees and all the other problems I have. I can stand up and move around in the step van.

IMG_0462.JPG

It is a 1993 Chevy P30 Step van. If you are in the area of this roofer and need some work done on your roof, the number on the truck is the number to call. Just tell him the guy who bought the step van put out some advertising for him. LOL. He even drove it 60 miles or so to my house for me. So that price included delivery. I will be getting on the road really soon, should be the first of April. It will be short runs as I have to build back the nest egg I had saved, in case something does go wrong. I will fix it up as I go, things are good here and now I can get started. I will throw a bed platform down and the foam mattress and just go. If I keep hoping for everything to be perfect I will never get on the road. So it has been busy here lately getting these things done and get everything set up to get moving, it is done so soon the journey starts. FINALLY! Even when I thought I was going backward, I was really just moving forward, if you think about it. Like I always say "ALWAYS FORWARD!"

Do Not Forget To Upvote, Follow, and Reblog This Post!
logo 512 x 512 400 x 400 2.jpg

Made Using https://www.freelogodesign.org/

Please Help Support Our Veterans And Our Veteran Witnesses

My Post 5 400 x 267.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

The purchase of the van was successfully completed, very good publicity, you should have asked for a discount in return. Regards @ambiguity

The price I got on the van was very good. Normally people are asking around 5000.00 for these step vans. So kinda did get a discount. LOL

Hope the new vehicles work out very well.

Thanks! I believe they will!

Totally! Keep moving forward! Glad you have gotten some things situated and that was cool to promo your buddy. 😎

Thanks! It is slow but I will get to where I need to be.
It just takes time and a little figuring out sometimes.

I would love it if he got some work from this promo, it would make his day.