(500) Days of Summer

in The Alliance2 years ago (edited)

500-days-of-summer.jpg

Been there! Done that!

A nice guy gets high hopes against all odds. The inevitable happens; his heart gets broken. He still has hopes--Thinks it's destiny and all that … you know. Gets his heart crushed. Knowing that she gave him enough disclaimers, the fault is his own.

She emphasized not wanting a relationship. Gave him mixed signals. Right! But when sober and thoughtful she made it clear their little game isn't leading anywhere. She toyed with him. I'll admit. But he also toyed with himself.

Been there. Done that.


I have this superpower of manipulating my own feelings and growing some feelings inside me based on little facts and many fantasies. As a result, I had a fair amount of misery.
I met a few Summers. That was nice while it lasted. Then life hit hard and I met the inevitable with a smiling face and a broken heart.

Back to the movie.


What I liked the most about the movie is the dialogue when Summer, after making Tom doubt the idea of love and destiny, admits that he was right. Shuttering what's left of his dignity when she says she experienced it with someone else. But the point is that there is hope. He can also live it with another woman. All in one dramatic line that I guess made several people cry.

“You weren’t wrong, Tom. You were just wrong about me.”

Finally, Tom meets Autumn.

All my summers had their happy ending but I haven't met my Autumn. Yet.

I won't rate the movie cause I wasn't expecting much in the first place. I only watched out of curiosity. And I was impressed with how smoothly the story unfolded, how realistic it developed and how similar it is to the classic little adventures we live and watch our friends live, even though the effects and the narration imply it's a "fairytale".

I enjoyed watching (500) Days of Summer but I won't be walking around recommending it to everyone. Watch it if you want at your own risk 😉

Sort:  

I actually seen this movie and like you I can't say Eather that I would recomend it to others to se.
But glad I saw it, and it was a movie that made you think and I like the way you explained it here in parts and gave your point of view.
It is mixed feelings like... Did she really misslead him, a sexual relationship can often grow to more.
Can cause complications and broken ♥️ feelings are ones we can't Control like the heart.

Thank you for sharing this and now you gave me some good pointers on how to make a good movie post.

I actually thought of doing one this week, and it is a favorite of mine.
Edward Scissorhands 😜
And I even got a surprise to add to that movie that makes it a little special.

Love you Bunches twin 🤗🥰😍🤗
You are amazing and much more

thanks <3
love you too. and looking forward to your movie post 😉
Now I'm curious about the surprise haha why do you like teasing me? 😜

Cause teasing you... Is what twins do and I think you gonna like this one surprise. I can hold it 😜
Suck on that one till then ♥️♥️

TLDR: nice post @hazem91, I enjoyed your breakdown of the movie!

One thing I really liked about 500 days of summer, that made it stand out as worth watching, is that Zoey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt appear in a few indie films together. One that I loved as a teen, which is a terribly toxic story fyi, is Manic. In this film you see the two at the beginnings of their careers (JGL was just the kid on 3rd rock) in case you want to watch it someday I won't spoil it, but 500 days of summer seemed to fill a need Manic left... and was also satisfying for someone who followed their indie careers.

I like your synopsis of the movie, overall it's nothing profound or special. One thing worth talking about, that I think is often overlooked however, is highlighted in this bit:

Gave him mixed signals. Right! But when sober and thoughtful she made it clear their little game isn't leading anywhere. She toyed with him. I'll admit. But he also toyed with himself.

I don't think she toyed with him at all, they hooked up while wasted, and Tom expressed his feelings soon after by trying to define the relationship. It is then that Summer tells him "let's just have fun". The thing is, Tom was using her to meet his own expectations- which is outlined in the Expectations vs Reality montage, where he daydreams of how things would be if her every move were just centered on him. If there is someone in the wrong here, it's Tom.

Part of what mislead Tom was the enjoyment of a sexual relationship, which Summer was healthy and fun with- leading to the feelings. That wasn't mixed signals, they agreed to FWB and Summer was a nice person who wanted to be friends instead of having a cold hookup. Wanting a friendship with a sexual element is valid, and good for both parties if they are in agreement (not my thing but it seems cut and dry). When Tom signals that he didn't actually take her feelings seriously when the situation was discussed, that is when Summer pulls away. The theme of him constantly pushing her is hard to denounce, because I'm pretty sure we've all been Tom in one way or another. It's not a crime to seek love.

Sorry to write an entire post on your thread, but it just kinda fell onto my keyboard 😂 In summary, I think your take from this movie is great. It's a murky love story, and you summarized that very well :) here's hoping you find your Autumn someday soon!

Oh!
Thanks for reading and commenting. Good to see that I'm not the only one whom this movie provoked and made overthink lol
Yeah, she was clear. But usually, some guys want to focus on the slightest positive signals and ignore the negative, especially when in love 😁 (You know, I've been there and done that 🙈) That's why I kinda took his side for a while in my post.
Don't apologize for being genuine. Ever.

Should totally put movie stuffs with the #cine tag my man! They love that. Haven't seen the show tho, but I do like the actress. She's the one from ELF with Will Farrel!

!PIZZA
!LUV

Thanks for the tip, I didn't know about that tag. I guess I still have a lot to learn from you 😉

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@enginewitty(1/10) tipped @hazem91 (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!