Saucy Sauces on #marketfriday

in The Alliance3 years ago

It sometimes amazes me at the variety of "convenience foods" that are available in some markets. On a recent excursion to restock my pantry, I just happened to walk down an aisle where the words MAYOCHUP, MAYOCUE, and KRANCH caught my eye...

Offered by HEINZ®, these are blends of 'mayonnaise + ketchup,' 'mayonnaise + barbecue sauce,' and 'ketchup + ranch' dressing, already blended in bottles for one's dining pleasure. It was quite the amusing find. I'm not sure if these blends will be popular enough to stand the test of time, but hey... premixed 'peanut butter + jelly' still seems to be available after decades for those who want to pay a little more for not having to mix them in one's own kitchen, or having to buy two items instead of one.

I suppose these offerings might actually be somewhat beneficial to those living alone, where buying bottles of these ingredients, individually, might be undesirable. For myself, I can never empty a quart jar of mayonnaise before it goes bad, so I buy pint-sized jars, instead — although not as economical on the wallet, there's less waste (or flat taste when it gets old). These so-called "Saucy Sauces" might also be a helpful option for families with small children under foot, where the convenience and variety of flavors might entice a finnicky young'un to eat.

As a child as well as an adult, I have always enjoyed the occasional pudding as a snack. But it has always been off-white (vanilla), brown (chocolate), green (pistachio), or yellow (butterscotch). Now, thanks to the ✨magic of unicorns✨ there are PINK and BLUE varieties of pudding, too! "Made with Star Dust" ~ I couldn't help but think of @enginewitty's little princesses and how delighted they would probably be to have such colorful pudding in front of them! 😊 I also think of @katrina-ariel whenever I see unicorns, too... 🦄

I'm also amused by the "CLAM CHOWDA" I found a couple years ago, spelled just as it would be pronounced in New England! 😂 For those not familiar with it, New England-style Clam Chowder is a very tasty soup made with chopped clams and chunks of potato in a thick cream-based liquid. Sometimes, bits of other seafood or carrots are added, depending on the preference of the person making it. I personally believe it fits the "comfort food" category very well.

I've not tried this particular brand of Clam Chowder, as it is quite pricey, even though it might be a better quality than the traditional canned variety. Of course, nothing beats homemade, but hey, cooking for one is not such a fun endeavor. I don't mind going to extra trouble preparing food when someone else is there to appreciate the work that went into the meal, but I take the easy-way-out now that I am preparing food only for my own intake.

There is another version of Clam Chowder that is tomato-based instead of cream-based and called "Manhattan" Clam Chowder. Some New Englanders with whom I've spoken consider Manhattan-style a sacrilege against the "true" Clam Chowder, the way it was "meant to be." Frankly, I find both versions to be quite enjoyable, although I don't think of the Manhattan-style as "comfort food" as I do the creamy New England-style.

Thanks for coming along with me to the market this week, but why did you let me spend so much money...? 😮 LOL

 😊


       



02-Jul-2021

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 63 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @thekittygirl, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

I'm telling you I would buy that mayochup ahahah
My laziness would love it LOL

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Reading your post makes me realise that i'm sooooo lucky to be a trained chef... 😁 and lucky me i love cooking just for myself. no rules without exceptions hehe

We've totally gotten those before and the girls love 'em. They don't stay on the shelves long when they're in stock and we know they're there. As for the combos? I think Ketchanaise and Barbenaise sound better. But, also sound like some medications or something so - good luck Heinz 🤣

Hmmm... I am a traditionalist, in terms of food ingredients.
I need to change a bit!

Haha, we have a saying in Australia, "Only in America" but those condiments do look pretty good and I'm a big fan of condiments :)

How cool! I have actually never seen those, but, mayonnaise is something I don't buy on a regular basis. I eat it, but, seems like I never run out of it. I buy them 3 or 4 at a time when they are on sale.

I mix the ketchup and mayo together for that special sauce for my burgers. I think they are easier premixed, but, not for me. I still have too many to feed to make it economical. But, it doesn't take it away from a good idea.

I'm sure you make things and then freeze portions of them. I still do that with things that only I will eat.

Clowda! I was just in Boston when I went home. There isn't anything quite as good as a warm bowl of homemade goodness. I grew up on that! We would go clamming most weekends during the season, our little feet feeling for the clam beds. Oh, those cherrystone clams made the best! Of course, my parents said those were the best eating ones and we used the bigger ones cut up for the Chowda! Oh, thank you for the sweet memories. Clams on the half shell with tabasco. Clam fritters, clam bakes. Oh! You got me started.

I swear the Manhatten Clam Chowder is really not from New York but from Rhode Island. LOL The abundance and use of tomatoes brought that to life. It's okay, but, the real deal has always been the creamy deliciousness of the white. Thank you so much for all the great memories! You have a great way of doing that!

I appreciate all the work you put into making #MarketFriday a success! It is heartwarming to have the love and support given to a tag you are trying to grow into something. You have made it fun to visit your post and each different person adds a unique touch to their posts. Your little piece of this world, and, people are interested in expanding their culture. This challenge opens up my world, and, I hope yours too. to me and so many others. Thank you again. I hope you have a most wonderful day! Hive on!!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and to restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.

Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! You must use #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post and then drop the link to your post on my #MarketFriday post, so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! ❤️

Upped and reposted

Kitty girl i can't post or comment i don't have power that's why please help