Advertising For Sale

I am writing this post using HiveList.org with the hope that the post will somehow show up in the Hive List Marketing section

blank.jpg

I joined SteemIt at the beginning of 2018 with the hope of finding a way to fund independent web development. Quite frankly, I think independent web development is the ultimate form of a distributed Internet.

Even though SteemIt was built on a distributed blockchain, I believed, back in 2018, that it is possible for a miscreant to capture the platform and use it for nefarious purposes.

One miscreant later, I am still seeking to find ways to fund independent web development. This time on the HIVE blockchain.

I figure that the best way for independent web developers to fund web development is with advertising.

Periodically, I post an intention to sell advertising on the platform. I do not track users on my site; So, I like to charge by CPM. That is cost per thousand ad views.

I currently charge $0.25 for 1000 ads paid via paypal. I will charge $0.20 for 1000 ads collected via HIVE, BLURT or STEEM. I accept all tokens on Hive-Engine. (You get 5,000 ad views for $1.00 USD in tokens)

If a person pays for the ads with an alt-token; I will look at the value of the token in Hive-Engine, calculate the number of ads. Them stake the token.

I am writing this on HiveList.org. If I received $10 in LIST, I would value that at 50,000 ads and power up the $10 in LIST on the @vagabondspirit account.

I created the OMA coin to facilitate transactions between my account HIVE engine. I am currently valuing OMA at $0.125 (an eighth of a dollar).

I will sell 1000 ads for 1 OMA. This is the cheapest way to buy the ads. Buying the ads with OMA is just a 0.125 CPM.

I trade OMA as if it was worth $0.125 USD. CoinGecko said the current price of HIVE was 0.3 .

0.125÷0.3 = 0.4166667

I place an order to sell 16 OMA at 0.42

If someone bought OMA. I would immediately place an order to sell OMA at 0.41.

If you look at the OMA Richlist; you will see that there are two principle owners of the token: @vagabondspirit and @yintercept.

VagabondSpirit is a business account that owns the web site. OMA paid my personal account 10,000 OMA to offset some of the debt I incurred creating the web site. Vagabondspirit will pay my hosting fees. (The coins held by @yintercept is essentially the mining fees related to the OMA).

What Will the Advertising Revenue Fund?

Back in the days of SteemIt, I created a tutorial for new hive users. I want to update that tutorial for HIVE. The tutorial will have information on setting up KeyChain and will include links to the many sites that access the HIVE ecosystem.

If you look at the comment section of @yintercept ; You will notice that I often upvote and respond to new users on the platform. You will probably notice that I've spent hundreds of hours writing encouraging notes to new users to help increase the HIVE retention rate.

I sometimes give out delegations to new users.

You will also see that I rarely get paid for the messages of encouragement that I write to new users because new users don't have HP.

I had a high click through rate on my SteemIt tutorial.

I expect to have thousands upon thousands of hits on my HIVE tutorial. The only thing I receive is advertising revenue from the tutorial.

NOTE: I tried funding the SteemIt tutorial with an ad for overstock.com . I had zero sales through that link. I don't think that was a good match for the space.

I think ad back to the platform would do better.

Anyway, if anyone bought advertising, I would use the money to fund a tutorial for new users.

But what good are new users. They have low HP. Even if a new user came to your page and upvoted a post, it would be worth nothing because new users have low HP. I can't guarantee that you will make back more than the cost of the ad.

advertising.png

How to Order Ads

The ad is a 720x90 leaderboard ad that goes at the top of the page. It can be either an image or two lines of text. Text has a higher click through rate. It will look like the image above this section. You can see a sample ad on my Hive resource directory .

You can order the ad by leaving a comment. The ad needs two rows of text and the destination URL.

You can order the ad through the online order form . This form asks for you email address.

You can order the ad by sending me a Direct Message in the HiveWallet. I will give you a DM with my phone number (which is in the US).

Summary

I've tried selling advertising on SteemIt/HIVE since 2018 with no success.

If someone bought advertising. I would use the funds to create a HIVE tutorial aimed at increasing new user retention. The primary viewer of the ad would be new users on the platform. (Since new users have low HP, this is not a prime market).

I will build the traffic by posting welcoming posts to new users.

Lets say someone from HiveList bought an ad to the HiveStore with LIST. I would power up the LIST and display the ad to new users. Some might be interested in selling through the HiveStore. Who knows? They weren't interested in overstock.com.

If someone bought the ads with LEO and pointed the ad to LeoFinance.io page. I would then power up the LEO. It might bring new users to LeoFinance.io.

If someone acquired OMA coins for $0.125 per coin, I would place an order to buyback the OMA at $0.124 . If the person bought the ad with OMA; I might buy back the ad on the @yintercept account. @yintercept would squander this money on loose women and song.

I started using SteemIt three years ago thinking that it would be fun to find a way to use the blockchain to help fund independent web development.

I periodically write posts to sell advertisements. I think it would be cool to use the HIVE platform to sell advertisements.

PS: I have millions of ad views for general advertisements.