I Am Amazing

in Vagabond Spirit3 years ago (edited)

I walked to the State Liquor Store as part of my 10K step goal. The liquor stores are state owned in Utah. The arch-conservatives of Utah are opposed to certain types of businesses.

The clerk acanned my driver's license after I placed my order. So, the state is actually compiling information on everyone who buys liquor. This is conservatism in action.

But the walk was the important thing. It was 2000 steps to the store and 8000 back. I don't know why there was such a discrepancy. The pedometer read 7217 when I left the store and 12646 when I got back.

st_liquor.jpg

I used to do this walk every day. My first job was at a grocery store called "The Store." They tore down "The Store" and replaced it with a Smith Food and Drug which eventually turned into a PetSmart store.

petsmart.jpg

On my way home I walked past Eastwood Elementary School which had a sign declaring that "You Are Amazing." I felt flattered because I thought the sign must be about me.

amazing.jpg

As I walked, I started to wonder if the sign was meant to be sarcastic as in say: "It's amazing that someone like you can walk and talk at the same time."

The hill behind the school is called Grandeur Peak.

Anyway, that was may 10K for the day. I started recording my steps again with a hope to relaunch the Vagabond Spirit game.