Setting Up a Web Server

in Vagabond Spirit4 years ago

There are mnay funny things happening on the Mother Ship.

The 100DaysOfSteem promotion ended on July 11. The next day, corporate announced a new promo called "The 1000 Days of Steem" which is to start on August 1. The central feature of the promo was TheDiaryGame challenge. Players are to write a diary post every day for the duration of the promo.

The original post asked for a diary post every day for 1000 days ... 2 3/4 years.

Imagine writing a post every day for 2 & 3/4 years. Egads. That is quite a challenge.

I couldn't do it.

Anyway, I've been looking for a justification to relaunch the @vagabondspirit game. In this game one records their daily steps. The player's vagabond spirit jumps from its sedentary host to take walk about around the world. For every step a player takes in the real world, the vagabond spirit takes a step in a map based on Open Street Map.

In this game one records their steps once day. Such a program could run for a thousand days!

Computers are amazing things. They can stay away for years at a time.

Anyway, I decided to relaunch the Vagabond Spirit game in conjunction with The1000DaysOfSteem.

Before the relaunch, I need to upgrade the server. My current site started with Ubuntu's Trusty Tahr which I upgraded to Xenial Xerus. The code is written for PHP 7.0. Since I am jumping up several releases, I decided to start with a new installation.

I think I will stick with PHP.net as the host.

I am thinking of using Debian "Buster" release as the OS. An Apache server. The code will be in PHP 7.4. I will SQLite3 for the database. As everyone is in love with blockchain technology, I am thinking of creating an "open ledger" with simple flat files as part of the game.

I will use a TLS certificate from Let's Encrypt

I was extremely unhappy with the PHP 7.0 release. I had a ton of problems with the PDO database object. I seriously thought of abandoning PHP and writing the program in C, Rust or Python. The PHP works and is good enough.

I believe in lightweight code on lightweight servers. I appreciate comments or suggestions on the start up.

Anyway, for the image I snapped a photo of a local running track and pasted logos for Debian, PHP and SQLite on the track.

lineup.png