LOH Contest #77: My favorite childhood foods

20220408_121825_0000.png


Hi, sweet Ladies of Hive! I know I've been a bit absent due to some family stuff and work but I wanted to make the Contest this week because I've read the super funny post and I have some stories to tell. For my entry in the 77 Ladies of Hive Contest I'll answer the second question:

20211017_144050_0000.png

What were your favorite foods as a child? Do you still enjoy them now?

IMG_20220408_122027.jpg

20211017_144050_0000.png

The first thing I've to say is that I was a baby fed with exclusive breastfeeding till 6 months, then I don't know if baby-led weaning was sort of a thing back in the mid-'90s but that's how my parents raised me. They'll give me a piece of fruit I.E: mango or a piece of beef and I'll eat it with my hands and make i big mess but I'm grateful they did that because now I have no problem eating any kind of food, even when the textures might be not the most pleasant. The other thing I've to say is that I have always been a person who loves to eat I love it way more than it should haha, so feeding me never was a problem for my parents.

Now for my favorite foods, let's split them in too the healthy ones and the not-so-healthy ones. For the healthy one and this is shocking for some people I'd say: raw fresh onions, yes, without any seasoning o cooking, I WISH I had photos of my eating raw onions as a child but I used to do it and I LOVED IT and still do, usually, I cut the veggies for a salad as I'm eating them. I love raw vegetables in general, as weird as it might sound. On the non-so-healthy side, we have tequeños. Tequeños are a typical Venezuelan that more or less are a mozzarella stick, when mom or dad put some of them in my school lunch it'd make soooo happy and I still get super happy when I came home to some freshly fried tequeños.

IMG20211212200921.jpg

20211017_144050_0000.png

Lastly, there are these muffins which are called penguins from marinela, I know you can find them in most countries in Latin America but I don't know if you can find them in the US, they're chocolate muffing stuffed with creme. They were my favorite treat as a child and the sad thing is that they stopped selling them here in Venezuela, I don't know why. Lucky me, we live near the border in Colombia and we can buy them there, usually, when my dad goes there he brings me a package of them and I eat them with some coffee. It brings me so many memories to eat them, I felt like a little girl.

IMG20220408121022.jpg

20211017_144050_0000.png

It's incredible how food can make us make memories that could last forever. As always, an awesome topic to discuss thanks to the questions of the contest. Thanks for coming this far. See you soon. Bye!

20211017_1436321.gif

The cover was made with Canva. All the photos of this post belong to me and were taken using my Samsung J7+

Sort:  

Que ricooooo, precisamente ayer le decía a mi esposo que tenia ganas de comer tequeños jajajaja, y los pinguinos me encantan también, poco los como, pero cuando tengo uno en mis manos me los deleito. Besotes amiga...💕

Thank you for sharing your memories in our weekly contest! 🙂