My most cherished holiday tradition Loh contest #59

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

The name holidays brings so much memories to me especially the Christmas and new year holidays. There are numerous other holidays we celebrate which includes the Easter holidays, the Islamic holidays and so many more.i personally love holidays because it always so special and bring the family together.
7F8507CC-CA09-40ED-AA65-590D0272B398.jpeg image source


MY FAVORITE HOLIDAY

My favorite holiday is the new year holiday,well this isn't because it New year but for the fact that we celebrate our culture in my hometown. I'm from the eastern part of Nigeria.This always happen every 1st week of January in a year. Every indigenous people of my hometown travel down to the village to celebrate our culture,people travel from other states and countries to join the celebration.
Most people actually fix their wedding parties during this time because a lot of people will definitely be present, when coming, we will always come with lots of gifts for everyone in the family this goes from clothing,foods, jewelries and so much more.
163EA8F3-8286-42F0-838B-B07E3C13C352.jpeg image source

61D4EC57-C2B3-4755-8CD6-BA3849B4D817.jpeg

C5A541F7-063F-4028-871B-D84CB480E872.jpeg image source
After arriving on the first to our village (hometown) we would go round and say hi to various people ranging from our grandparents, granduncles and aunts, neighbors and old friends. We exchange gifts we bought for ourselves and talk about how the past year has gone and our it treated us. We also talked about how grateful we are to see another new year and also to see everyone alive even though we still get to hear news of people that couldn't make it like they died.
The next day before waking up we already hearing different sounds of our local music playing every where, people are getting prepared for the festival celebrations. We put on our attires and we getting ready to start dancing, jumping and singing down to seeing faces we haven't seen for a while. It is always a beautiful sights to behold and I sincerely love it.
31C5797F-49F8-44CF-AAAF-04BFDAD99D86.jpeg

Masquerades are always every where dancing and show casing their skills 😂😂😂
14954C87-A3EE-43C0-9666-157438C23EFD.jpeg image source


what makes it so special to me

  • It really special because I get to see my aged grandparents again after a long time and I get to spend time with them
  • I also get to go to the farm and see crops and fruits that we planted the previous year.
  • I get to see my cousin that don't stay in the same state as I, we would always gist about everything from boys to neighbors and also school and work.
  • I get to hear my language often
  • stories of our cultures are been told to us and why we shouldnt go out late at night because of masquerades
  • I also get to travel to another town to see my maternal grand parents since they are still alive.
  • most especially I get to take good amd memorable pictures with my extended families and friends
    138D01AA-FB86-4070-BC54-30FFF4EF38FC.jpeg
    I'm inviting @harnah12 to join

Thank you for stopping by ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Sort:  

Hola, @bettybunny, me fascinó esa forma tan alegre que tienen en tu pueblo de celebrar el nuevo a;o, y de veras que se siente a trav;es de tus palabras cómo disfrutas el reencuentro con familiares, amigos y vecinos. Que este año se multiplique la alegría para tí y tus seres queridos, éxito en el concurso y gracias por compartir.

Hello, @bettybunny, I was fascinated by that joyful way that your town has to celebrate the new year, and it really feels through from your words how you enjoy the reunion with family, friends and neighbors. May the joy multiply for you and your loved ones this year, success in the contest and thank you for sharing.

This is actually so sweet darling Thank you💕💕 i just followed you pls follow back

Thank you for inviting me🙂 I really enjoy watching masquerades showing off their skills

I can tell you enjoy your holidays very much, my dear. These dates are an opportunity to meet again with family members you haven't seen for a long time. I am glad to know that you enjoy them very much.

Yes I always do! Thank you so much 💕💕💕

It seems that we have something in common. On the New Year, we visit relatives, grandparents, and friends, but our NY actually occurs on the first of January according to the lunar calendar. Those traditional dresses that you wear in your country are awesome, and I also love the way you celebrate it by singing and dancing...so much fun!

Thank you for sharing, I learn something new today. Great post and good luck in the contest :)

Thank you so much love 💕💕💕

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

Looks like an a beautiful and exciting way to celebrate your culture and to buoy fresh optimism in the New year.

Thank you for sharing your special New Years Tradition @bettybunny 🎉