LOH contest #83: Most beneficial moment of my life

Hello girls, this week's engagement looks really good. My very first experience of having to pick from three questions to write on, nicely done ladies 👏. I anticipate to see more beautiful contents of other authors 😉.

Anyways, welcome to my blog guys and before I proceed, I cordially invite @patjewell and @kemmyb to share their own write ups. So I'll be picking the question number 3 which is; THE MOST BENEFICIAL MOMENT OF MY LIFE.

4A0F8469-0954-49FA-B365-432A4A97C985.jpeg Source

During my first year in college, I and other students in my level at the time were prompted to go on a four-month outside-the-school-premises training which was known to us as SIWES (Student Industrial Work Experience Scheme). This time, we would work and gain firsthand experiences in relation to our course of study, so getting any stipend was totally written off our minds. I went on with mine and completed it. My boss at this time was really nice and understanding so I got some little cash at the end of each month for the four months.

Year two in college, we were asked to go on a twelve-month industrial training and this time, it would be for the knowledge and for pay as well since we'd work as semi-experinced employees. I went on mine and began for the first month but at the end, I didn't get any pay. Then I had a little talk with the HR guy that offered me the job and he said he never spoke about me receiving any pay. Wow, really dude?

20C81C26-A07D-4FFA-A694-143BACF14794.jpeg A day at the office where I worked for free 😂

I spoke to my parents as it was undeniably visible that I wasn't liking this work-for-free job I got. I mean, who would want to be in that position? To be a free employee? Definitely not me, lol. So they advised me to seek another job with a good pay and part-time the one I was currently doing.

I went on with their advice and click, I landed a restaurant job with free food, a little free time plus reasonable pay 💃😁. I worked on with this and my dearies, I've never felt happier.

Thanks to my parents for their advice, I had some time to myself, to give some ginger to my lifestyle, to allow me blog on my favourite blockchains and to help my family as well. I also gained experiences from both jobs and these positive effects have helped me so far.

B6A4BDED-119D-40E2-9082-85081DFAFC01.jpeg A day to just chill out. Spent some time with granny 😌

And thanks to @ladiesofhive, I have shared this experience rekindling happy memories. Adios 😊✌❤

Sort:  

Working for free is never much fun! I once "interned" while being considered for a job. They got 3 days out of me without pay and then in the end didn't hire me. Never again! Glad you found what you like! Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

I like the part you said "never again", lol. Thanks for reading through

You bet! It's too bad that there are employers who do things like this. I really honestly thought I had the job! I am however, now so very glad I didn't get it. I ended up with a much better situation. Take care!

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Working for experience not being paid does happen, although in my opinion should not be allowed. Finding a paying position and keeping the experience position gives you more learning in the long term, good to take parents advice.

Exactly my point of view. But you know how it is when a younger one tries to make an opinion heard. They get shuned immediately, sadly.

Many have university degrees unable to obtain permanent work due to not having experience, taking unpaid often paves the way, not ideal but getting ones foot in the door helps.

It's often the case in the First world countries as well. It doesn't seem fair and I would think young careers should rewarded in some way for their work such as a gift, or their expenses covered, or even a job offer.
Oh, nice outfit.

Thanks for sharing @blackalbino1

Thanks for the compliment 🤗