My Best Friend’s Wedding

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

photo by Carrie Beth Photography, Fairbanks, AK

I have never been in a wedding before. When my best friend asked me to be her maid-of-honor, I gleefully accepted.

My friend is exceptional. We grew up together in one of America’s most vicious cults, Sam Fife’s Move of God. I wrote about my childhood in my memoir, “Cult Child.”

She ran away when she was eighteen. Then, she took her parents to court and rescued her little brother, who lives with Down’s Syndrome, away from the abusive environment. The cult believes DS to be demon possession. I may go into this in a later post. Needless to say, she fought hard, and she won.

When she gained custody of her brother, he was non-verbal. He had severe OCD. He would randomly lose his faculties. He choked down food, afraid to not get any, having been starved for many years. Now, he has his own apartment in her home. He can say words. He uses sign language. He says “I love you.” He is a wonderful man with a gentle spirit who adores his Lego’s.

On September 2, 2022, he walked his older sister, my dear friend, down the aisle, and we all looked on with pride and deep love.

photo by Carrie Beth Photography, Fairbanks, AK

We had a wonderful time at the reception, ate good food and got silly after a few glasses of wine.

photos by Vennie Kocsis

There is a life to be attained after suffering. There is love waiting, and growth and realness. Beyond the pain, life does await, and my heart bursts with happiness for my friend. Now, I get to say I’ve been in a wedding! That’s cool.

Being back in a place which holds a lot of gut wrenching memories was bittersweet. I was happy to have joy around to blow away occasional realizations of returning to that area. Not a day goes by that I do not think of the children still on the compounds far back in the woods beyond Delta Junction.

I soaked in the flowers and sat in the glow of a night sky that never quite arrived.

photos by Vennie Kocsis

🙌🏻Please help me protect children

This petition to End Child Abuse and Neglect is my deepest passion. I would be appreciative if you read it and if you agree, to sign and share it. At 100,000 signatures I can present this to our Congress.

https://www.change.org/p/end-child-abuse-and-neglect-in-america

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@centarficus, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I’m still learning what this means and how to utilize these, and meanwhile, thank you very much. 🙌🏻🙌🏻

I am happy for you and your friend and very much so for her brother! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! 🙌🏻🙌🏻


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @centarficus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ in Amsterdam is next week. Attend and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

OH Vennie .. what a beautiful presentation of a painful story

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @shadowspub.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more