My Silent 2022 (LOH #110)

in Ladies of Hivelast year (edited)

20221203_155633_0000.png
Photo edited using Canva

This year 2022 adds to my list of years that end so fast I did not even realize it. When I first thought about the question posted,

As we're approaching the end of the year, let's take a moment to reflect on what we've achieved and learned in 2022. We look forward to hearing about your experience!

my initial reaction is a blank stare at the ceiling. In my last entry about how to celebrate my last birthday, I mentioned that I am not ready to go because there's this aching feeling of not having achieved enough. This year ends so fast, but my life moves so slowly. I took a deep breath and let the air out slowly. With it, my memories of this year started occupying my mind. I experienced one of my biggest heartbreaks this year. However, I actually gained some victories. Both of them, though opposite in the resulting emotion in me, gifted me with valuable lessons. I learned something for myself, something about myself, and something about life. The events I will now share are not in chronological order. I prefer to list them according to how they weigh in my heart starting with the lightest.

Something for Myself

First, I finally learned how to drive a motorcycle. It is pretty simple, especially with an automatic one. I tried to learn it in 2020 but I smashed the front and broke a part of the motorcycle. It’s my boyfriend’s Mio Sporty. Fortunately, I am blessed to have somebody who does not mind if I break things, get dirty, or mess a little as long as I learn (and don’t die). He was gentle, but I became unforgiving to myself and decided not to try it again. Coward right?
Then here came 2022. My boyfriend did not stop encouraging me to try learning again and his plea finally bore fruit. Just this month I mustered my courage and tried to drive again. It was rough at first, but gradually my driving became smoother and lighter.

IMG_20221203_154322.jpg
Photo taken by my boyfriend during one of our practice sessions. I wish I have a better quality looking photo. LOL. Soon!

I almost imagined being one with the motorcycle the way a rider becomes one in feeling with his or her horse. That was silly (but I liked it)! Now, I sometimes volunteer to run errands and drive when it's close enough. I still need more experience, and I believe I’m getting there. I’m just so happy to say "skill unlocked".

What new skill/s did you learn this year?

Something about Myself

Second, I realized that I miss teaching, and I would love to teach again. When the pandemic hit, I decided to not renew my contract at the private school I was teaching. Instead, I streamed online games for a living. I love gaming, and streaming kept me entertained, but I started to crave the complicated stuff that sparks my brain. I miss planning lessons and materials. I miss analyzing my students' competency and instructional needs. I miss reading their works and discover gems or see opportunities for their improvement. I miss the opportunity of helping students learn, study, and grow their gifts. Of course, the stress all of these bring is well remembered and recognized, yet there is a certain joy teaching has given me that I did not receive somewhere else. Maybe, a part of me is really for teaching. A stable salary is also a factor. I needed to support myself and help my parents.

IMG_20221201_084750.jpg
This was first day of Creative Writing Class. I asked my students to describe to me in writing the bottle I placed on my armchair. After the activity, I had my initial diagnosis of their writing skills and challenges.

In July 2022 acceptance of applicants for the Department of Education here in our division was announced. I did not hesitate to apply. The process is long. Applicants are scored based on experience, interview, demonstration teaching, talents or skills, portfolio, seminars and workshops attended, and English proficiency test score. I poured my very best into all of them.
The results came In September 2022. I was stunned when my classmate and Co-applicant sent me a message bringing good news. I ranked first in the application for Junior High School (English) and 6th for Senior High School (English). God has granted me my prayers. What an achievement! However, I still have to wait for an appointment at a public school. The division office has not called me yet, so I guess I still have to play a little longer for the waiting game. Will my appointment come to me as a year-end gift or a new year present? I still don’t know. All I have is prayer.

Do you feel like you know yourself better this year?

Something about Life

Last but the greatest, is not an achievement but it gave me an enlightening lesson about life. My Lolo (grandfather) passed away on July 4, 2022.

IMG_20211221_155155.jpg
My lolo few months before his rapid decline. He was fixing my boyfriend's motorcycle when it wouldn't start. He was one of the best mechanics in our family.

He had stage four lung cancer. When it was time to bury him, I, as the eldest grandchild, gave a little speech about my time with him. When I was planning what to say, I realized that my most valued memories of my Lolo are the micro-moments we shared that painted our entire relationship like sunlight on the dew. I remembered the times he would talk to me about science and history. I remembered the times he gave me tips on how to swim. I remember the times he would drive me to school. I remembered this unique squeaking sound he would make which means "hi", "hello", "yes", or "yes?"
It made me want to ask myself: am I making good micro-moments with the people I love? Do I often praise anyone in my family for a deliciously cooked meal? Do I listen more often to my niece's stories and answer her questions? Do I often sit with my siblings and talk about things they love? How often do I check on my friends and remind them I'm thankful for their lives? Do I often provide more quality feedback on my students' work and progress? It’s the small things that matter the most, don’t you agree? No matter how tiny a kind act is, if constantly given, it will create ripples that might turn into waves. Maybe that’s how we live impactful lives.

Do you believe in the power of the little moments?

In summary, every year brings me new achievements and lessons. 2022 has taught me motorcycle driving, brought me again my calling for teaching, and reveal to me one of the secrets of living which is investing in the small moments for bigger impact. I am not saying that I am a totally different person now after what I've learn. That would be hypocritical. I cannot trust that I won't feel afraid again to learn another skill, feel tired and exhausted teaching, or feel that I have taken for granted little moments of my life. What I'm trusting is that these lessons have marked me for life, and though I forget them, they will speak to me in any way to be relived again. For these, I am excited to end 2022 and start 2023 with a grateful heart and hopeful soul, craving for more achievements and learnings. Happy new year in advance and cheers to what we'll achieve and learn in 2023 no matter how small like the individual breath we take or grand like a life-changing event!

1669375963457.png

20221125_170523_0000.png

1669375963457.png

all photos are by @cloflo unless stated otherwise

Sort:  

I wish you good luck in your application and in God's will, you'll take the job. It's always better to have a stable stream of income than to put all your trust online. It seems this year has been so good with you, !PIZZA

Thank you! You are totally right. Having a stable income is a basic step. I also hope this year has brought you blessings that will continue til next year. Thanks for the tip!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@cloflo, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I've driven a motorcycle before, but I've never tried it on a busy street; the thought of it makes me nervous already. Congratulations on all of your accomplishments this year!

!PIZZA

I still feel nervous so I'm taking it slowly. Thank you! You yourself have great accomplishments this year! Congratulations and thanks for the tip ❤️

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
cindee08 tipped cloflo (x1)
dennnmarc tipped cloflo (x1)
@sensiblecast(1/15) tipped @cloflo (x1)
jijisaurart tipped cloflo (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I just feel like the more we age the more time flies. I am sorry to know your grandma's passing. I am sure he is looking after you guys. I learned how to drive the motorcycle in the 2020, when pandemic hit and there is nothing to do hehe

Hungry, Clo? Have some !PIZZA

Thanks, jiji! I totally agree. We have so much we want to achieve but with little time. We sometimes are too hard on ourselves and forget to take things one day at a time. I'm sure Lolo does that. 😇 Thanks for the tip, ji!

I am so happy that you have supportive people around you especially your fiancee and your Lolo. You are lucky to have them and I am proud of you for being able to ride a bike.

I am also proud of you for identifying your deep needs to teach others, to inculcate lessons into their lives and to make them better, and I you want to encourage you to reach out and do it again. I wish you all the best

Thank you very much. You are right. The people around me have been so supportive. 🤗 And yes I'm really hoping to teach again. It feels so different when I see that I am contributing to somebody especially students. I also wish the best for you! Thank you for dropping by ❤️

Congratulations for all the hard work and dedication you have put in to achieve success in school! Riding a motorbike is an amazing experience, it's it's also a great way to get around :) I'm sure you will soon love it when you are out for a leisurely ride or hitting the open road on a cross-country journey :)

Sorry to hear about your grandparent, the memories you share with him will be invaluable and last a lifetime❤️

Congratulations @cloflo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 1
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the last day of the group stage.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Do you believe in the power of the little moments?

even in the smallest things you can find the deepest meaning of life, in the worst the best lessons. good luck! andd enjoy your journey cokefloat! ✨💯

!PIZZA

holding on to this. cheers to life!

which one? the pizza? the cokefloat? or the lesson? haha jk, btw hindi ako marunong mag motor and feeling ko di ko sya gagawin ever hahaha, so yung "small" success mo sa motoro, is too big for me. so enjoy the small things hihi