Mary, Mary and other Garden Thoughts

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

I watched the temperatures plummet last night, knowing this was the beginning of the end. We didn't really get fall and I already had started the garden, being part of the advance team in this house. Okay, to be fair, plummeting meant it was in the fifties, Fahrenheit.

Cabbage definitely lends an entirely different texture to my winter garden. There! I said it. Winter. Gone are the golden, carefree days of summer. Here is hoping that the beautiful backdrop for the inevitable pansies will be enough to keep me on board with the impending cold and colder that will be showing up anytime soon.

980964_10152021965353832_76628352_o.jpg

Yesterday, I brought in the last of the pumpkins. Pumpkin guts.... Making pumpkin seed brittle. Yes, indeed. No, I am not kidding. You can't make that kind of stuff up.

Have you ever tried it? I use a recipe I found a couple of years ago from the Tasting Table.

1412591_10152013795893832_420652074_o.jpg


INGREDIENTS

¾ cup of sugar

¼ cup light corn syrup

3 tablespoons water

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 cup raw shelled pumpkin seeds (pepitas)

¾ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

⅛ teaspoon ground cinnamon

⅛ teaspoons cayenne

¼ teaspoon coarse sea salt

DIRECTIONS

1. Using a wooden spoon, stir the sugar, corn syrup, and water in a medium heavy-bottom saucepan over medium-high heat until the sugar melts, about 3 minutes. Adjust the heat to medium-low and continue to stir until the sugar has become a light golden brown color, about 12 to 14 minutes. Add the butter and allow it to melt, then add the pumpkin seeds. Cook, stirring constantly, until golden brown, about 3 minutes. Add the baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and cayenne and stir for 1 minute.

2. Pour the brittle mixture onto a parchment-lined baking sheet coated with nonstick spray. Spread the brittle into an even layer using a rubber spatula. Sprinkle the coarse sea salt on top of the brittle and allow it to cool at room temperature until completely hardened about 1 hour. Once cooled, break into bite-size pieces. Make ahead: Brittle can be made 1 week in advance and stored in an airtight container.

red rose.jpg

May there be @alwaysaflower for you. And just like that, these words are over. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again. Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, just how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Leafy Vine (S).png

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Shakespeare


Heart Vine (L).png

#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Sort:  

Not sure about the pumkin guts, but I sure like the colors on the winter cabbage.

The pumpkin guts, when properly done, make the best spicy pumpkin seed brittle, ever!!

Yes, it is Winter is coming...
I never tried pumpkin brittle before.
Something to try that's new!

I would have to say that most people have never even heard of it. I hadn't heard of it till about 5 or 6 years ago, so I have little room to talk. It is interesting so I hope that you give it a try! Good morning from here!

Good morning... sorry to have missed this! 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you so much for the curation and the interest @thekittygirl and @innerblocks! Much appreciated!

I'm proud of you, Denise! Welcome to the group of cooks.

Haha! Such a low-level cook!!! :))

I don't believe!

Very interesting meal on pumpkin seeds, we have eatten only rosted seeds at my childhood!

We always have roasted pumpkin seeds also but the pumpkin seed brittle is interesting and different. It makes a very nice treat.

The purple in the cabbage looks so vibrant and alive.

Pumpkin Brittle. I've never heard of it. The recipe looks so easy to assemble. Thanks for sharing.

I love fall/winter gardens! They keep the growing season going!

The pumpkin brittle is awesome! If you find that you don't like spicy things oh, you can take out the Cayenne and it won't detract from the yummy deliciousness of it.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have a most wonderful day!

Mmmm, Pumpkin spice.
I can almost smell it.
(Got Pumpkin spice candles)
I usually bake a very basic Pumpkin pie but haven't tried the Brittle version.
Too much sweets but I'd give it a try if I have enough Pumpkin leftover.

Lol!! Thanks for making my day! Ha!!

Wow, I love vegetables and pumpkin leaves is one of my favorite, its a blood booster... But for the seeds, I never knew it could be prepared for consumption.
Thank you for sharing.

That is so awesome! I love all kinds of vegetables and Greenery. I think you should try the pumpkin seeds because they're a tasty little treat and I think he would love them. If you don't like spicy, you can take out the cayenne, as it won't detract from the delicious taste. I personally like a little bit of spice to it!

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have a most wonderful day!

I would sure like spices too.
Thank you for prompt reply, my day has been great.
Stay blessed

It's good that way!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated by me!

Have a great day!