Red White and Bloom

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago


My goosebumps heard it before I did, those notes of the trumpet. The buglers all gathered in the mist and fog that left a glistening of dew on the grass beneath my feet at the Old Amphitheater; taps were played during the Bugle Call to Remember in Honor, then again as they spread out throughout the cemetery- to honor the fallen. I could scarcely distinguish them through the haze, but the sound of sadness echoed over and over and over throughout the cemetery. God Bless you, my brave soldiers. I salute you. I shall remember you and all the fallen soldiers in wars past and present – who devoted their lives to keeping peace and freedom on foreign soil and at home. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I feel the need to thanks them. after their special day is done. Perhaps so they know they are "Never Forgotten"


1398250_10152057334813832_475247526_o.jpg>


It was a racetrack for his little boy, two weeks since, to the day that he had buried his father. The sacrifices people make. Every day, every day. Not only for those who died but also for those they leave behind. With that memory burned in my head, I lay down my thanks and step over the fresh sod, barely rooted on the newly dug graves. Until we meet again.


1403429_10152059503433832_1418122278_o.jpg


I look at that, knowing it could be today, except this memory was a couple of years back and the cemetery could almost not keep up with their burials. I went to visit the grave on Veterans Day, These are markers for the grave until the headstones were completed. It usually takes a couple of months. and when it is done, there will be one stone, with the whole crew together, which is probably exactly how they would have wanted it.


1397444_10152064486358832_502231201_o.jpg


I'm not sure what drives me to visit the eternal flame, the final resting place of John F. Kennedy. I can remember my Grandparents lamenting over the loss of JFK decades after he was gone... Looking back on history, this was a stark turning point in a decade that seemed to hold so much promise in the beginning but fell into so much strife and turmoil. One has to wonder how our nation, society, and public psyche might have been like if this tragedy were avoided.


1451996_10152069725153832_192210581_n.jpg


While my bleeding, bleeding heart cannot help but to ponder what might have been for these brave men and women, I know it is unhealthy for me constantly dwell on it. So you know, I strool along the canopyy of life, usually in a most positve manner, but, will freely admit that my heart belong to bearers of honor.


lily pink 2.jpg


May there be @alwaysaflower for you. And just like that, these words are over. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again. Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see, just how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Leafy Vine (S).png

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Shakespeare


Heart Vine (L).png

#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Goosebumps got you before you realized, that is so descriptive of how certain things are deeply etched into our very being.

Bagpipes or trumpet call are two memories for the fallen, those who went to make the path easier for the many who today know no better.

Beautiful flowers and bitter sweet memories are what we cherish, for those who did what they felt they needed to be done, yes JFK who know what the world would look like today?

I often wonder if my grandparents had misplaced reverence for Kennedy because he was assassinated. Looking back on history, I can say that while he may have been charismatic, be fell short after that.

My dad had great respect for JF Kennedy, Sir Winston Churchill and Jan Smuts, who knows how politics would have played out back then to sway the folk so strongly.

Life is most definitely six foot forward then six foot back again, we never appear to learn from lessons taking us on an endless roller coaster ride called life....

Nice tribute to the veterans who we owe so much...

Thanks so much, Mike! @manorvillemike Hope all is well with you and all your furry friends! I can feel fall sneaking up on us today!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thanks so much for the repost @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!

Wonderfully written , really touches the mind . thank you for sharing @dswigle

Ahhh... you touch my heart
With your words.
You have a way of expressing
The things in my heart.
Thank you, @dswigle.

We owe them so much. Lets hope their sacrifices will never be in vain.

Beautiful post, @dswigle. I am glad we have Veteran's Day and take time to think and ponder and pay respects to our soldiers for all they have done and sacrificed, especially those we have lost.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

A lovely tribute Denise to those brave souls we owe so much. It was a sad day November 22, 1963 when JFK was assassinated. Canada mourned too. I remember watching it on a black and white TV.