Contest #81- Existential Dilemma of Time

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

The prehistoric times of this technology era always seemed so tempting to me for what reason I could never discern!

Especially when writing letters was the only means of communication!
Even in these days, I love writing letters! And perhaps I have got that excessive passion for it while experiencing my mothers' letter writing in my childhood days.
In our country, when even land-line or telephone was very rare, I remember my mother wrote "Letters" to communicate specially with her parental family.

And for my mother, writing a letter to her parents was like a ritual.

She would make the arrangement in perfection. The timing, the necessary equipment, the quiet and serene environment without any hassle of intrusion.
The vibe of that perfection is so grandeur that it compelled me to act calmly as I sat next to her; watching her writing, filling out the white page with emotions shaped in words.
And with tears!

A few drops of her tears would fall on the paper unknowingly. I still remember those tears would leave a small brown mark on the paper.

I wonder if my grandfather knew the tears of her precious daughter. And how would he feel if he knew!

From the vague memories of my childhood, it has been sealed in my memory that the emotions, bonds, dedication towards each relation at that time was very sincere, inveterate perhaps. When I look back at that time, everything from that pre-techy era seems very aesthetic, classic and artistic.

People were classy in manners and attitudes. The appreciation of arts, literature, theatre etc. were immensely adored and highly admired by all walks of life irrespective of their social class.
Culture and religion had their own place to rule without any unreasonable conflict.

And because I am a great fan of art, I have always wanted to go back to that time.

But as a woman from a 3rd world country, this speed of technology is power for me. Speed is god to me!

Although we are evolving through more modernization, I experience we are trampling culture more and more, conflicting ideologies with religion, losing sense of gratitude, almost stopped thinking about life, philosophy, rationality and becoming vicious, keen to crime and injustice!

And that is happening because I assume we have lost a civilization of art, literature. We don't participate in exhibitions, music concerts like opera, instrumental music eve or theatre; We don't read neither we discuss books or poetry or literature amongst us. Even our usual accosting or soliciting seems rude!

As if by the time we have grown into tech-time, we have lost all the harmony, melody, tune, comedy of life and have become a tech-zombie!

But then again, as I have said, as a woman of overly prejudiced culture, religious oppression, social taboo, dogma, Tech-time is an utmost blessing for me.

Because of technology I have become doughty enough to assert for living a life I dream of, defying all those imposed wherewithal approaches!

43key5.jpg
I can travel a lot, earn plethora, experience diversity, cherish my hobbies, indulge my procrastination.
While, I long for the classic time of art, company or artistic people and discussion, enjoying aesthetic practices in daily life, yearning for sincerity and dedication in love and all other relations!
I presume I will have to live in this dilemma forever and after!
Henceforth, I continued living my life in tech-era while my heart remained attached in classic pre tech time.

And I am tagging one of the strongest women I have seen in my country @surrealfia to ready her dilemma.

Sort:  

But as a woman from a 3rd world country, this speed of technology is power for me

What is the '3rd world'?

Hypothetical representation of the least considered stagnant-country amidst the highly progressive countries.

I thought that’s the usage you were after. Incorrect by the way. It was originally a political construct at the Warshaw Treaty at the beginning of the Cold War.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_World

After the fall of the Soviet Union that term is no longer valid. Still widely used in SE Asia. And it’s usage is what you said. It’s considered derogatory. Just like the word “negro”.

The “empathetic” way of usage of that term would be “the developing world” or “the emerging world”

Thank you for explaining. I know I could have marked my country as "developing or that type" however, didn't intend to be empathetic. I implied to express all gawked nakedness of my country by that if it has been expressed.

"Although we are evolving through more modernization, I experience we are trampling culture more and more, conflicting ideologies with religion, losing sense of gratitude, almost stopped thinking about life, philosophy, rationality and becoming vicious, keen to crime and injustice!"

Wow.... not truer words for today.

Great write !

Thank you very much.

Hello @fahmidamou!
Welcome to Ladies of Hive.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
Thanks for sharing and
good luck with the contest.

Meet other women in the community! Get others involved!
untitled.gif

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

Perhaps technology isn't to blame but how people use them. It is indeed sad to see that most of the simplest of things enjoyed in the past are now gone.

Indeed! Still AI is in our control and it's the user who decides how to use. Though we are loosing every passing day.

However, it's also despairing how we are drifting away from art, literature an all which has nothing to do with technology empowerment.

Yes, sadly, certain things are pushed away because of tech advancement.

aww thanks for mentioning me...

Henceforth, I continued living my life in tech-era while my heart remained attached in classic pre tech time.

this is something I'm grateful for... That I can get what I would need to just go to places I want to and because of tech, I can take glimpses of places I long to see before I get there...

and yes I'll also miss the times when I used to pass notes in crumpled papers during classes and just having a normal talk without wondering who's blowing up on my phone

Absolutely! What hurts most is that right now culture and religion making such a fuss and conflicting all the time. While those are the thing should just co-exist in equivalence.