You are a girl #93

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

 "photo-1644056347416-8180f2548fc1.jpeg"

When did you begin to see attitudes towards women changing in your life, and what do you think prompted those changes?

So this weak question from ladies of Hive community is interesting in the sense, that it is an opportunity for us to share the hard experiences of our life, and the discrimination women received due to their gender. So I will share some examples which made me to realized the hard treatment woman received till now.

I was very found of studies, so it was my biggest dream to be a doctor. I studied hard and passed my matriculation with good grades. Now it was a time for me to decide, to which filed I want to go. But my uncle ( my father's brother) asked my father to stop me to go in medication.

I heard,

You can't be a doctor, because you're a girl.

I was hurt, but I obeyed them, and decided to become a lecturer. My uncle was still against it, but my father supported me to pass my graduation. Even my elder sisters were not able to complete their studies, due to the same old thinking that their only job is housewife.

It was also my biggest dream to have my own bicycle, and later when I grew up, my wish was also upgraded, so I wanted to have my own car, but I always heard,

You can't run a bicycle, because you're a girl.

I heard this sentence for many times, and it still echoes in my ears. I always ask myself, Is I am at fault to be a girl.

Once my sister wasn't feeling well, so her husband was helping her in kitchen. But as soon as her in-laws saw him helping her, they started to criticize her for allowing her husband to do the households. As according to them the households are only for women.

There are so many times, when I heard the same sentence again and again, but now a little change is happening, as world is accepting women in every filed of life. First time I noticed this change, when I saw women in politics. A lady become a prime minister in our country, and another lady was appointed as a Head in national Bank. Now we can see women working as a doctors, nurses, police officers, teachers, and politicians.

As for me, my father has allowed me to have my own car, and also promised to teach me, how to drive. I can see the change, which is happening slowly. I am sure, a time will come when there wouldn't be any gender issue.

Thanks for reading. Image source https://unsplash.com/photos/oAU0c0SsO8A

@wajihafawad is invited.

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@farahikram, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest! 😊

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @farahikram and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (15/15 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.