23rd EDITION LADIES OF HIVE WEEKLY CONTEST... BEING A PLAYER

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

Back in the day when I was a child, playing was our job. Playing hop scotch, skipping rope, swimming, skating, fishing, riding bikes, shooting hoops, card games, coloring in books, you name it, I probably did it as a kid. Shoot, I even played football with my older brother and his friends. And I was competitive.

I could out run most of the kids in our neighborhood, not bragging, well maybe a little.😄

image.png

In High School, I got my Varsity Letter in Basketball, Volleyball and Cheerleading. It was pretty cool back then (1972), for a girl to get three Varsity letters.

IMG_7935.JPG

sorry, bragging again, but I was proud of myself.

My proudest achievement though was a Badge called the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports.

That was it's name prior to 2010, when the Badge name was changed to "President's Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition.

image.png

The President's Council on Sports, Fitness and Nutrition (PCSFN) is an American government organization that aims to "promote, encourage and motivate Americans of all ages to become physically active and participate in sports". It is part of the Office of Public Health and Science, an agency of the United States Department of Health and Human Services. Prior to June 2010, it was called the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports.
Wikipedia · Text under CC-BY-SA license
https://www.bing.com/search?q=president%27s+council+physical+fitness&cvid=5bebe6f2cb6d42fe9bee37dc1c7e1379&aqs=

Oh the good ole days, young, fit and free.

No mortgage payments, utility bills, no credit card debt or insurance to buy. Mom and Dad took care of all that silly stuff.
I just kept playing.

Now the Adult games.

We have a play date this weekend with two of our adult children and their families, plus three dogs. Three whole days of playing. As well as eating, drinking, BBQ and blueberry bombs, drenched in freshly made, 100% pure maple syrup.

IMG_7759.JPG

We have the date, so what's the plan?

This past week has been gorgeous with the sun shining for the last 5 days. Temps in the low 60's, just great. Only one draw back, the big piles of snow that are melting like crazy. The roof, that had a 10 inch ice dam, is melting and filling the gutters, flushing water out onto the yard.

It's a muddy mess.
So the games of corn hole may not make it onto the itinerary.

IMG_5346.JPG

No problem, I have a closet full of toys and games.

Here's the top three that will most definitely be played after all the kids are tucked away , falling asleep within minutes. Playing at the farm with all that fresh air wears those little kiddles OUT !

IMG_7923.JPG

Cards, we play poker, for money. Always gets a little more competitive when all those nickels, dimes and quarters are on the table.

Catch Phrase can be played any where. This little electronic device shows a word to the person holding it. They proceed by giving glues to identify that word , first one to shout out the word gets handed the devise to move onto the next word. It's on a timer and you have to pass it on to the person who got the word. Trick is to pass that dang thing onto the next player before the timer goes off. If you're stuck with that gadget, you're out.

Now the real competition is the game of Sequence

This is a board game with card faces on the board. A deck of cards are dealt around the table to each player, 8 cards each. Each player turns a card, then places a chip on that card on the board. 1st team to get five in a row, wins that round, the score is tallied. The winner is determined after 8 rounds of cards.

Here's the really fun part. We always play this game guys vs girls. It's a really good thing those little ones are asleep, adult language conversation and messages tend to bounce around the room.

The cajoling never stops, my eyebrows have been known to arch up at times. An occasional shhhh, comes out of my mouth when those boys win a round, not because of the sleeping angels, but because their laughter and cute little remarks can be loud, so annoying when you just lost. Men tend to rub it in, don't they? 😡

The girls have been talking on the phone, working on our strategy. Unfortunately, the last time we played, the ladies got beat up pretty good. But we are ready, bringing our triple AAA game, no doubt about it.

Ladies of Hive are the best, we know how to have a good time.

I would like to invite @goldenoakfarm to join us in this awesome community.

A big shout out to @elizabethbit for hosting this contest and @loise for the translation, nice work girls.

Best wishes to all you lovely ladies.

Sort:  

Sounds like you have an awesome family play time get together planned for sure! Enjoy and let us know if you ladies win(I'm sure you will!). Take care and thanks for sharing!

Hello @elisabetbit, nice to hear from you. Glad you liked my little post.
Yes I am so looking forward to seeing my family and all the fun we'll have.
Enjoying the #ladiesofhive very much. Thanks for the support.

Congratulations @farm-mom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

Hey there @hivebuzz, thank you forkeeping stats for me.
I just love getting new badges.

You're welcome @farm-mom, that's always with pleasure! We wish you a happy weekend 😊🌹😊🌹😊🌹

I have joined but I am not much for writing on selected topics or doing contests. :))

Hello friend, I wasn’t sure if you had joined, sorry. I know what you mean about dates and deadlines. Much of the time I don’t know what day it is 😜❤️

Do not forget to include a link to this post on the original article!
Good luck with the contest!

Thanks for sharing. You have an wonderful family and great times together. That competitive spirit has served you well. :)
Tip

Hi there, @redheadpei, thanks for your kind words. Sometimes I think I gab a little toooooo much about my family, but I can't help myself, I have had a blessed life. Family has always been my life's focus. I figured if I brought up some cool and respectable children, then I must have done something right. so far so good.
So excited, three of my four will be here tomorrow for a long weekend. Let the games begin!
Hope you are having a wonderful day. Spring is here my friend, let's get growing.

Hi @farm-mom. You are most welcome. Spring has sprung and it feels wonderful. Have a great Friday!