I Lost More Than Half A Million, What's My Next Financial Goals? (LoH #96)

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

August 23, 2022

I was reading @kerrislravenhill's post the other day and I never thought it was for the current LoH contest. Memories flashed in my mind about crypto trading. Those days when I was still a newbie and a noob, until I learned how to trade, invest in DeFi, and grasped things about these complex Blockchain and Cryptoverse.

Along with the achievements are setbacks which are inevitable, especially here on Cryptoverse. There were a lot of failures, losses, scams, rug pulls, and more that I encountered that often motivated me to pursue this crypto journey. Life here is as volatile as the crypto market. It goes up and down, and even reaches the bottom. Getting back to the track isn't easy as well. It takes time, courage, and determination to acknowledge the situation to start a new step, a better crypto journey.

Prior to stepping into the Hive chain, I started on another chain in blogging. Things were still too tough to fathom. But my consistent learning and reading crypto-related articles on that platform helped me a lot to get a hold, not of everything, but at least the basics and more about cryptocurrencies and blockchain. I was a curious cat who was so eager to try new stuff, certainly in crypto trading and DeFi investing.

Setting goals and financial plans weren't my forte back then until I got inspired and motivated by several crypto enthusiasts I met on blogging platforms. That's when I realized that I also need to have mine and set financial goals for my future. I valued saving more than spending. Some of the leisures and unnecessary habits were taken off. Well, the former fangirling to Kdrama series was gone and I became a crypto noob wandering in the crypto world with better goals and plans.

If you want to know more about my crypto journey, achievements, and failures, you can check this blog below.
A Crypto Noob Wandering Around The Cryptoverse

And this one that was posted on another platform, click here

3jpR3paJ37V8XPrHkfZdMtiM68fywBJwYt7EuhvpC9y91wCtmsFAPR2hd8YsciUbc22rVaeYHVLt8nmEF6BfW5nHAbc3DYnredGWnQqohdFE8L5sqSA7uaZNJ7v5tCba3VHPC.png

"Whether a newbie or veteran blogger, it would be good to have financial goals and a plan. Have you considered diversifying into other cryptocurrencies or tokens in your plans? If so, which ones would/did you choose and why?"

In my two years of staying in this Cryptoverse, one thing I learned is crypto crashes and sudden market swings are inevitable, so one must have better financial goals, crypto asset management, and plans.

Struggles and losses of a Crypto Noob

Not all days are diamonds because mostly are stones. Those bear markets and bloody episodes are sometimes demotivating, especially when seeing a huge loss in my crypto portfolio. I recently updated my crypto portfolio, removed those I sold, and added those I bought. Hive was one of them.

I was shocked by the number of losses I got this past 12 months. I was like, "D#mn, that's pretty enough to put up a business in the country." If I will convert it to my fiat currency, that's more than half a million pesos. Coingecko's portfolio only shows 1 year of data, so previous months couldn't be shown. There'll be more losses if 2 years' data are shown there.

Screenshot_20220823_093245.jpg

And from 20+ to 13 BCH worth of Sep20 tokens on SmartBCH, as of the time of writing. I also had huge losses in my BSC DeFi investments, in CUB, BAKE, JulD, and CAKE to be specific.

IMG_20220823_110359.jpg

Meanwhile, I tried my luck on Metaverse and invested in Pegaxy. Unfortunately, prices dropped again and I didn't sell my profit. It was the worst decision I made. I was able to buy and breed up to 5 pegaxies but none of them were able to recoup my investment and losses. After several updates and price dumps, more than a thousand dollars were lost here.

Screenshot_2022_0823_134708.jpg

3jpR3paJ37V8XPrHkfZdMtiM68fywBJwYt7EuhvpC9y91wCtmsFAPR2hd8YsciUbc22rVaeYHVLt8nmEF6BfW5nHAbc3DYnredGWnQqohdFE8L5sqSA7uaZNJ7v5tCba3VHPC.png

At the start of 2021, my goals were to achieve $20k worth of crypto portfolio, 20 of a certain token I was holding, and six digits in my savings account before 2021 ends.

My portfolio almost reached $20,000 when the crypto with the biggest amount I was holding reached its ATH at more than $1500 per token, along with other cryptocurrencies in my wallets. I got almost 30 of that certain token, yet, I invested more than 50% in its different projects. I did achieve them, yet, my crypto profits remain unrealistic as I didn't convert them to fiat or stablecoins when all tokens in the market skyrocketed. I was too weak to let go of my assets. Then an unfavorable market crash happened, not just once, not just twice, not just thrice, but multiple times.

What's more upsetting was when I threw in my real cash to invest in a certain token, but after buying, the market crash started and continued to drop drastically. Just imagine buying a token at $1000 and it slowly dropped to $100. What would you feel? It was frustrating. My real cash seems turned to ash. So my six-digits saving goal was burnt.

That crypto has so much potential and a great use-case and vision, yet, it has a lot of rivals and bashers and lacks the support it deserves. From the top 5, it slowly dropped to the top 30 which is more disheartening as it has been a huge help for me in starting my crypto journey and diversifying my portfolio. Without it, I wouldn't have other tokens by now, and I wouldn't be on this chain.

My blogging friends here definitely know my losses because of my ineffective crypto assets management as I often throw my frustrations on another platform. A lot of realizations and regrets happened this year and I felt too unlucky, contrary to what I got last year. Sometimes, I would think, "I should have had big savings now if I wasn't too weak to take my profits."

3jpR3paJ37V8XPrHkfZdMtiM68fywBJwYt7EuhvpC9y91wCtmsFAPR2hd8YsciUbc22rVaeYHVLt8nmEF6BfW5nHAbc3DYnredGWnQqohdFE8L5sqSA7uaZNJ7v5tCba3VHPC.png

Diversifying Crypto Portfolio

As mentioned above, I sold some of my assets and added some. Currently, I have 21 tokens in my Coingecko portfolio, some of them are from SmartBCH. Some of them were acquired in different airdrops and blogging, some were bought using the profit I got from selling a certain token.

But among all tokens I have in my portfolio, I am only focused on these few tokens and they are usually used in trading:
BCH, BNB, ETH, BTC, XRP, ADA.

ETH was the very first token I bought using my own money back when I wasn't blogging yet. It was invested in a Platform which eventually turned into a scam. At least, I was able to gain a small profit from that platform and the ETH price kept rising as well.

BCH was the crypto I acquired next from the platform I invested most of my spare time in blogging. It also has the biggest percentage in my portfolio because it's all my blogging profit for 2 years of blogging on this platform. I got huge losses in this token but still holding them until it recovers. Because I believe it has so much potential and good vision.

It was the late quarter of 2020 when I decided to diversify my portfolio when I learned a lesson about not putting all eggs in one basket. Because when unexpected circumstances happen, at least, we have something to pull out from other baskets.

Using some of BCH, I sold them to buy some BTC, BNB, XRP, and ADA because these tokens are included among the top crypto tokens. I was even persuaded to buy DOGE due to Ellon Musks' influence. Yet, I am still at a loss in this token since its price dropped as well.

Meanwhile, on Binance Smart chain DeFi, I also bought CAKE and CUB tokens and staked them on PanCakeSwap and CubFinance to accumulate more, and some BAKE and JulD too. I also got some FARM, AMPL, and BAT from blogging on Publish0x before. Unfortunately, all prices of these tokens also dropped drastically.

When SmartBCH was launched, I opted to put my BCH to work with the hope of accumulating more. Some of the tokens I bought include EBEN, LAW, CATS, JOY, and others. But along with the unexpected crypto market crash recently, the SmartBCH market crashed as well, dragging all my tokens down and losing a huge percentage of my BCH portfolio. More than 50% was invested here and I still haven't recovered most of my losses until now.

3jpR3paJ37V8XPrHkfZdMtiM68fywBJwYt7EuhvpC9y91wCtmsFAPR2hd8YsciUbc22rVaeYHVLt8nmEF6BfW5nHAbc3DYnredGWnQqohdFE8L5sqSA7uaZNJ7v5tCba3VHPC.png

png_20220823_151855_0000.png

The Lessons and Goals

With the good and bad experiences, scams, rug pulls, losses, and lessons I learned in the past two years in the Cryptoverse, one thing is certain, the bear is more inevitable than the bull so one must take due diligence before taking any actions and consider the probability that may arise, not just the current situation.

We can't really predict up to what extent the market will go up or down, so some things should be taken into account.

  • We better take a small profit than lose a huge one, and consider the fact that a small one will become big when accumulated over time.
  • As much as possible, do not be greedy and learn when to stop and set a limit. Those huge digits of profits are truly motivating, yet, when greediness takes over, everything can be gone in just one snap.
  • Don't be FOMOed or affected by FUD because we have the utmost control of our decisions and whatever the consequences, it's only us who will suffer and should be blamed, no one else.
  • And above all, this is something I needed to practice and constantly remind myself not to hesitate to sell when the bull is there and patiently wait for the bear to come before diving in again.

It has been a huge mistake and a worse decision of mine when I didn't do anything when the crypto market was at its peak last year. Most of the tokens reached their ATH but I didn't do anything at all as I was hesitant to let go of my assets. I may have stayed longer here, but I am still a noob and still have a lot of lessons to learn.

Picsart_22-08-23_14-52-39-377.jpg
Meme generated by imgflip and edited on PicsArt

When the crypto market crashes multiple times, that's when I realized that, holding too much isn't the good way, but letting them go and taking profits. Besides, the right time always comes to buy them back.

3jpR3paJ37V8XPrHkfZdMtiM68fywBJwYt7EuhvpC9y91wCtmsFAPR2hd8YsciUbc22rVaeYHVLt8nmEF6BfW5nHAbc3DYnredGWnQqohdFE8L5sqSA7uaZNJ7v5tCba3VHPC.png

After losing more than half a million worth of crypto, what will be my next financial goals and plans?

With all the hiccups I suffered this year, I opted to reset my crypto assets management to recoup my investments, alleviate the losses, and hopefully, take more profits this time.

My financial goals and plans remained and that's to:

  • To achieve six digits in my savings account before this year ends. Saving real cash is more important because we need it in our day-to-day life. And being a breadwinner in our family, it's often tough to balance everything and save more for myself. So blogging and crypto trading is the only way that I could save for my future, not just for my family.

  • To achieve a $20K worth of crypto portfolio. I know this is quite impossible as there are only four months left, the market isn't that stable yet, and high prices have not recovered yet. However, this is a long-term goal. Whether I achieve this goal this year or not, it will continue until I accumulate that amount.

One more crypto that has been added to my portfolio is HIVE. When I opted to be active here, that's when I realized that there are a lot of opportunities here and benefits to get when staying longer. The Hive Staking for instance has so much to offer and HIVE is for a long-term hold.

My recent profit in trading was also used to buy more HIVE and put them on Binance trading to accumulate more.

And the main reason why I joined this contest is because of the prize sponsored by @kerrislravenhill. Who doesn't like to be delegated with 500 HP anyway? My Hive Financial goal for this year is to accumulate 2000 HP before the year ends. And checking my wallet's current stats, I still need more or less 35% to achieve this goal this year. I know it's possible through regular posting quality content and interacting, as well as joining different contests like this one of LoH.

Speaking of Ladies of Hive, I opted to put my LOH on the Hive Engine trading platform to use them in trading. I don't have much and this will be my way to accumulate more LOH. I sold 30 LOH when it skyrocketed recently and have created a buy order. And if this will be hit, then the 30 LOH will become 179. That's how easy it is to grow a token if executed well.

Screenshot_2022_0823_144059.jpg

Yet, again, patience and proper strategy and plans are necessary to be successful in trading. And maybe I need to wait for more years? To recoup my initial investments and losses. And hopefully, by that time, the market is doing well and I could get more profits.


Those were just some of the crypto journey stories, gains, and losses I got in these past 2 years. I am inviting @ruffatotmeee @eybyoung @bmjc98 @yen1503 to join this challenge. I know these ladies have something to share as well. They were my buddies when I was still learning how to trade and invest in DeFi. Just like me, they have gains and losses, strategies and goals, as well as lessons learned in crypto trading. Good luck ladies 😊.


FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20220809_221527_0000.png

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

That last meme accurately depicts the truth about trading; we can never predict how the market will move. You might think it will go up and then you quickly buy because you want to make some profit when it pumps but it suddenly goes down by over 50%. Or the opposite might happen; you sell and the price shoots up by over 50%. Trading is mostly based on luck; sometimes you might be lucky enough to have the market move in the direction you predicted

Yeah. And I feel like im not lucky this year haha. Better be careful in trading next time and not be greedy

I just check my CoinGecko and grabi pala loss sa portfolio ko. 75% ampt ahhaha. Nag invest baga naman sa shitcoin huehue

Haha. Iupdate mo bka hndj tama..lalako pa yan losses 🤣.. Lage. Dami shitcoins. Hayst

Ayaw ko na huehue. Masakit makita ang katotohanan. Kaya ayaw ko din mag monitor re. Basta alam kong maalki loss ko ayos na yun 🤧🤧

Hindi ka nag iisa. Kaka update ko the other night. -85%. Sakit lalo na pag kinonvert mo into fiat. 😔

Ang laki Jane. More than half 🥲

Sobra.. Ang sakit dn haha

I think set a financial goal is really important. It keep us motivated to achieve the target.

I just acknowledged about @bmjc98 @eybyoung also active here.🤗. Feeling good see both of them here🙂.

You can visit them to say hi 😊

I already have done it😂.

Just recently joined. Glad to see you here too.

Grabe yung losses mo, madam. Sakin, pinakamalala lang ang Pegaxy. SmartBCH, mejo di pa ganun kalugi if sell ko na sila ngayon kasi naka 2 BCH na ako. Anyways, relate talaga ako. Sa sobrang taas ng expectations natin and HODL is the key, ayun takot mag sell. Lesson learned, sell talaga when there's an opportunity to do so, and yeah, wait for the price drop before buying more. Sakit Yung bumili ka sa $1k tas $100 na lang ang worth. 😔

Sobra laki tlga..imagine 1500 price to 100. Yun pa pinaka malaki ko holdings...

Kaya nga pag iisipin mo, malaking pera na yun talaga. Sana lang talaga sa 2023, maganda na ang balik para makabawi naman tayo.

Oh wow Jane!! What a report.. you sure have been through the grinder with crypto. At least you are now building a solid foundation to take advantage of the coming bull market.

Still noob though. even lost a lot even in bull market, lol

I guess those aren't real losses until we sell.

I came into 2022 with high hopes too but things haven't been so pleasant. I don’t think i lost half as much as you but it still hurts , so i understand.
The lessons you mentioned are things I've also learnt, i learned them the hard way.

We all learned lessons... But sometimes still repeating the mistakes 🤣..

Grabe talaga nawala sayo sis. Sana mabawi mo this year.

Not I guess..bka after a few years haha

Wow is what I would call a tough one in the world of cryptocurrency investments.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@tibaire, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (7/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thanks ..trying to be tough not to get insane 🤣

Awww half a million. You could already put up a decent coffee shop, sis!

Kahit milk tea.franchise lang hehe..hayst..laking sayang

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jane1289.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Excellent!
@jane1289 You are a seasoned Blogger before coming to Hive and a veteran trader with the scars to prove her mettle. You didn't let scams, rug pulls, and market crashes deter you but you learned from them, refocused, and carried on!
And I hope you blow away those goals you've set.

Thanks for sharing your Crypto journey!

Not a veteran trader.. I still consider myself a noob 🤣.. Full of failures. But thank you for this topic...

A veteran won't fail at the same thing, twice.

I hope I am.. But still falling on the same thing sometimes 🙈. Still have a lot of things to learn..

Aigoooo gravity ang loss!! iyak malala, parang business na biglang nagsara lang ung pain. But I am sure makakabawi ka na ate sa next bullrun!

Mga 5 years from now 😭🤣

Live and earn, sometimes get burned, thanks for sharing.

The cryptoverse is certainly teaching us a lot of lessons. All the best to you sis on your investments.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (10/10 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Congratulations @jane1289! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow. What a journey of GROWTH I must say!
This determination is next to nothing.

I admire the fact that you don't let setback and failure set you back..

Nice one Sis 🤗

Thanks. There is no room for giving up on the breadwinner of the fam 😅

Lol. definitely sis😊

Giving up is not an option 🤗

I never knew that crypto could be this devastating but when I saw how it made me brother feel and how it flipped his emotions easily, then I knew crypto is truly volatile. Honestly, from your write-up, I feel my dream of getting to a portfolio of $1,000 before the end of this year is actually attainable. Thanks for the motivation ❤

It is . With the help of Hive 🥰.. Trading is toxic... I've been there 🤣

wow! you are really amazing dear friend, Jane.

🥳 CONGRATULATIONS 🥳
on your winning entry in the
LOH #96 Contest!!!

!LADY
💓💗💟💗💟💗💓

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ninahaskin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/6 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I lost more than 5 thousand dollars and I don't even have 100 and I want to leave this country there is no future death to socialism.