Ladies of Hive Community Contest #13

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

PicsArt_011411.26.17.jpg

I have really missed a lot in this contest but I can't see myself missing out on this week contest which talks about food, so here am I sharing with you the question for this week.

1️⃣ If you had a choice to "COOK" or "ORDER DELIVERY," which would you choose, what food would you have, and why?

image.png
source
As much as I love to cook, I also love to eat the food cooked by others to understand the taste and learn from their cooking, lol that's another aspect of learning. I mostly do this when I eat out not really having a home delivery, If I'm to have a home delivery that means I intend eating light and simple food, nothing traditional. In this case I would go for Pizza, along side a glass of Hollandia Yogurt. That's really a relaxation point, pizza is my choice because it contains a percentage of balance diet and it has the capacity to satisfy my hunger.

Or

2️⃣ When you cook, what is one of the best dishes of your country/region? Share the recipe with us, please!
PicsArt_011407.57.58.jpg
Don't mind the set up of the food, I just did a quick wrap up of this for this post. Normally, yam has been one of the major food eaten in Nigeria not minding the region or tribe. Before the modern facilities and modern foods came to play the common food known to all was boiled yam with palm oil which till this day has not lost its value in Nigeria.
IMG_20210113_140020_466.jpg

Yam and Stew

For some weeks, I have not really eaten yam and with #ladiesofhive contest on board, why don't I satisfy myself and also make this post.

Ingredients
  • Yam
  • Groundnut oil
  • Salt
    IMG_20210113_140540_046.jpg
    This is a simple recipe that would take you less than 30minutes to wrap up, First of all, I cut out the quantity of yam for I and my niece, after which I pilled off the back and put the yam directly into a bowl with water. You can slice your yam according to the design of your choice but I choose the design you see in the photo.
    IMG_20210113_140834_922.jpg
    After slicing, depending on the quantity of your oil, if the yam is much and you have a small oil, you can always divide into two or three section to fry. Add a pitch of salt to the yam before putting into a preheated frying pan
    IMG_20210113_141100_474.jpg
    Allow to fry for 2mins before stirring to prevent some part from getting burnt or brown, if it burns or gets too brown it gives a bitter taste so in other to prevent this, you need to stir so the heat can circulate.
    IMG_20210113_141434_048.jpg

After few minutes, my yam is ready, using my frying spoon, I take out the yam and place in a filter and you can also use a paper towel to drain the excess oil out of the yam.

After all this, our fried yam is ready for consumption, you can always use a ketchup with it but I'm eating mine with a little stew I made earlier. Secondly if you don't want the normal fry yam, the second option is to break and beat an egg, adding a little salt to the egg, deep the quantity of yam into the egg before frying.

This is my entry to the ladies of hive contest, and I would love to know which food @bliss11 @soyunasantacruz @revivemyheart would choose to write on. The rules and the entry to the contest can be found here

Thanks for reading, do support with comment and upvote



Pastel Purple Blue and Pink Salons Back to Business Landscape Banner.jpg


By @sgt-dan

powerh.jpg

banner.jpg
Click on the banner to get redirect to the server. Art made by @tripode

Sort:  

Hello @jizzyjoe thank you for inviting me to participate, I had already seen this contest but there is always the push to enter.

How curious I have a doubt what you cook as a yam is what is below or what is in the next image.

In my country this is called yam.
👇
image.png

In my country this is called papa.

image.png

Which one did you use in your recipe?

image.png
Source
This is yam, the second photo in yours is called sweet potato here

So your yam and mine is the same 😜🤣 I have never tasted it the way you prepare it, we only eat it in soup here in Venezuela.

What you say sweet potato here is papa and to another vegetable you say sweet potato. @jizzyjoe

You should try it, you will love it. The potatoes is just a difference in name

Fried yam.... Yum!!!

Thanks dear

I really liked your participation in the contest, because I was able to learn a little more about your country 😉. But I would like to clarify a doubt, because I don't know if the translator translated it well: this way of eating yam is like eating French fries?

Yea, that's right. The translator was correct, it can still be eaten with fried eggs

Fried yam looking tasty. Thanks for the invite....although, I don't cook much this days but if I'd enter in. ❤

That's fine, you can still enter in the next round. It would be a different question

Yam is jummy
Hi jizzyjoe great entry
Good luck in the contest
Tomorrow the new one will be online and please when you do have time enter the contest of the ladiesofhive again!
!
B

Thanks for the reminder, I will be on the look out