How To Turn Routines Into Rituals For A Meaningful Purpose | LADIES OF HIVE CONTEST #57

LadiesOfHive-Contest57.png
Image created by me in Canva utilizing it's free templates and images set out below

Hello and welcome back everyone. I'm participating in the Ladies of Hive weekly contest again. The purpose of the Ladies of Hive Community community is to empower, support and encourage all ladies on Hive in a positive environment. Since it's inception, they have lived up to their commitment to allow all women to flourish in that environment. When time permits, I participate in the contests to lend support to their efforts and also share my responses to the thought-provoking questions and topics.

This week I'll share with you my responses to the following challenge questions provided in the official contest post: https://peakd.com/hive-124452/@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-57

LOH-Disclaimer-Ver4.png

Some may brush their teeth, drink of water, kiss the kids goodnight, fluff up their stuffy bear, pray, check the smartphone one last time. What are your night time rituals just before bedtime?

First, I'd like to offer my input into the use of the term "rituals". From the question provided and the example, I feel that rituals are much more than brushing your teeth, taking a drink of water, completing household chores, and other activities. These can be viewed as routine tasks that an individual may engage in.

There is a huge distinction between routines and rituals. I view rituals as tasks on a higher level. Some may feel that a ritual is spiritual or religious. It doesn't necessarily have to fall in those categories.

I say this because my concept of a routine is to complete one or more items to a satisfactory conclusion without much effort.

The tasks may be mundane, such as I may complete certain items to ensure these tasks are done in an efficient manner. Many times, I don't even have to think about doing certain tasks. When it's time for bed, it's automatic.

A ritual can be a task also. However, it goes much deeper than just routinely performing a job. I feel that I need satisfaction in doing the task that will benefit me either short or long term. Then, I'm motivated to continue the task.

Some will say that all the above are rituals since they benefit you in the long run. But many don't take time to see the value of the benefit. That's where the tasks become mundane and boring.

If you stop to think why are you doing these tasks, then I feel the tasks turn into rituals that can become fun and positive. They motivate you to do even better at the tasks.

All parents, at some point, perform some of the following tasks such as:

  • preparing your children for bed and on the time schedule you set for them;
  • having them bathe and brush their teeth;
  • reading to them;
  • saving this time to talk through any issues they may have to discuss;
  • giving them a goodnight hug and kiss; and
  • preparing their items for the next day.

These routines are tiresome, especially after a long day you've had yourself. I know for a fact they are after working outside the home daily for eight hours. These actions much be completed. However, they are more than a routine.

They serve as a valuable and motivating purpose. We all want our children to get enough rest for their next-day activities. We want them to brush their teeth to have healthy teeth and gums to prevent dental problems. We want to connect with them by talking or reading to them. And finally, we want them to reassure them of love and affection. These are the reasons that routine tasks can become rituals. The tasks are the motivating factors to raise happy and healthy children to the best of our ability.

My routines are simple. Checking the thermostat, cleaning the kitchen, doing laundry, turning off all lights, both inside and out, tidying the kitchen, and setting the alarm are my routines.

Many years ago, I read where turning negative thoughts toward mundane and boring tasks can be channeled to positive thinking.

Hating to wake up to dirty dishes in the morning, I make sure to rinse and place them in the dishwasher. That way, the previous day's kitchen tasks are taken care of. Knowing I don't have any kitchen items left over brings a smile and positive attitude. I can start fresh that morning. Also, the kitchen smells better!

After entering into a special electricity plan with my provider, I check each night my thermostat, turn off all lights, and unplug all electrical appliances (except refrigerators) to keep my electric costs under control. I have a special incentive to perform these actions to lower my costs. Each month I receive my utility bill puts a smile on my face as I know I've done my part.

Other rituals relate directly to my health:

  • Drinking a cup of herbal teas. Not only do the Chamomile or Sleepy Time teas help relieve stress and relax me, they coat my stomach to absorb all the medicines I take before bed.

  • Brushing and flossing teeth ensure I won't encounter any diabetes-related dental problems;

  • Reading. I have problems sleeping eight hours or more. Reading helps, even if I don't finish but one or two pages. I settle into my quiet place. Before long, I'm falling asleep.

Whose or what picture is on the home page of your phone? And why did you pick that?

The topic of wallpaper images individuals upload to their phones is truly interesting. It's all about personal preferences.

I've seen screen images related to sports, selfies, gaming, bitmoji, gifs, and other, more personal images of family members.

When I first purchased a mobile phone, the wallpaper image I chose was a standard ones that came supplied with the system.

To this day, I haven't changed. If I want to find a new wallpaper, I just look in the system inventory and chose one.

Currently, my wallpaper is of a beautiful landscaped Fall season with trees, leaves, mountains, and a nearby waterfall.

If I happen to desire another one, it'll be to change from one season to the next. I'll soon locate wallpaper for a Winter landscape.

I'm simple in my approach.

The Ladies of Hive Community is an awesome group dedicated to supporting and empowering all ladies of Hive. To keep the Community alive and buzzing, we're able to participate in contests that are completely voluntary. It's a great way to engage with each other within the Community and get to know one another through our content. I've participated in a few contests so far.

LADIES OF HIVE COMMUNITY

Please join me in this awesome contest?

To make sure that your entry is valid, and can not be missed for the contest, please make sure that you follow the RULES:

  • Blog must answer at least one of the questions (or more, if you wish!)
  • Blog must be submitted before Sunday, NOVEMBER 20, 2021
  • Blog must be published in Ladies of Hive community
  • Blog must be original in order to win
  • Blog must be 200+ words
  • Blog must invite another woman to the community

I'd like to invite the following ladies on Hive to join me in the awesome Community: LADIES OF HIVE:

@doriangel

IMPORTANT: IF YOU DECIDE YOU WANT TO JOIN THE LADIES OF HIVE, just click the Ladies of Hive banner below to join in the fun at their Discord.

👇

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SaturdaySaversClub-Footer1.png

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Thumbnail image created by me in Canva utilizing one of its templates in accordance with my Annual Pro membership Subscription, and includes the following free images from Pixabay:

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

💯 to waking up to a clean and sweet-smelling kitchen in the morning, I do that as well although in my case I just make sure the dishes are washed as soon as the meal is over so mostly it gets done in the evenings, way before my bedtime.

The part where you remember to switch off all things electrical but the fridge is a commendable routine although I still leave all my outside lights on before bed 😊 cool read 👍 thanks for sharing with us.

Only the solar lights are left on. The electrical ones are turned off. It's enough to provide visibility.

Thanks for your engagement.

I was really struck by what you do with the kitchen. Leaving everything organized and clean. I do that too and I feel satisfied when I see the kitchen in order, it's as if my mind is also cleaned.

On the other hand, your ritual of unplugging the electrical appliances is something interesting, evidently your expenses go down monthly, which your pocket thanks you.

Hello @tibaire. Thank you for stopping by and viewing my topic responses. I appreciate your support. Yes, it's actually a throw back from my youth. My parents tasked me with the kitchen. Other siblings had their nemisis. I was the only one that gleefully finished my task over and above the requirements. My mom taught me the value of keeping a kitchen clean. With lots of siblings, every surface in the kitchen was left with unsightly items and the floor covered with crumbs. They didn't mind, since I was going to make it right before bedtime. I left them scratching their heads.

It's funny how we learn things; some take hold, while others, we can't wait to leave them in the past.

Unplugging the electrical appliances have been a habit of mine for many years. When our utility company offered the different plans, we decided to put the practice in full gear. Yes, the rewards are very visible.

Take care, and have a good rest of your week.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 80 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
13

Appreciate the rehive and support.

Thanks for the invitation, I will try to answer these interesting questions soon, I agree with you, waking up and the kitchen is messy is not nice, it takes time to enjoy breakfast. There are routines that become rituals, maybe because if you don't do them you can't fall asleep. Excellent publication. Greetings !

Hello. Thanks for stopping by. I know you're busy, so if you have time, please do participate.

I love beans. And you know what the smell does to a kitchen if leftover plates and utensils are not properly taken care of. Waking up to that smell just loses my appetite for breakfast.

That’s a very interesting distinction-rituals or routines, it puts things into perspective. Also, it’s true that a clean kitchen = a clean mind. Great reading.

Hello @itsostylish. A clean kitchen is an absolute because I hate smells left overnight. Yes, a clean kitchen does equal a clean mind. In fact, the entire house. It's just a feeling you get and knowledge it is done. Smells fresher for some reason, lolol

Thanks for stopping and for your kind words. I appreciate the support.

Thank you for sharing @justclickindiva! I think I have both just habits and rituals involved with mine, lol! Take care!

Hello. I think we all have a bit of both. The necessary "must-do's" and the enrichment do's. I just read a post by a young lady who takes time to thoroughly tend to her hair, moisturizing it and braiding it so it'll be easy to style the next morning. Now that's a want to do in order to value and pleasure to your life making it easy on your lifestyle.

Thanks for stopping by.

I agree! You are most welcome! Take care @justclickindiva!🤗💜

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! 🙂

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavía es tan nuevo, valdrá más si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente después de recibirlos, ¡pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudará a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "órdenes de venta" están obstaculizando la estabilización del precio de este nuevo token. ¡Considere esperar! ¡Gracias! 🤗

Hello. Thank you so much for the 5 LOH Tokens. I'm a hodler, so I'm in it for the long term as I see the value to the ladies of Hive.

Congratulations @justclickindiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Indeed, some routines are valuable and have motivating purpose.
Thanks for sharing, @justclickindiva!
I learn so much from you and about you through your articles!
Good luck with the contest.

"The glory of friendship is not the outstretched hand, not the kindly smile, nor the joy of companionship; it is the spiritual inspiration that comes to one when you discover that someone else believes in you and is willing to trust you with a friendship."
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate them and your support. The best kind of friend is one where words are not needed. You just know.

!LUV

I like how you differentiated between 'routine' tasks and 'ritual' tasks. And I can easily picture your comforting & reading to your children at night, making sure they are loved and feel secure! 🤗

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

If I hadent had my routines in the family we are i would have lost my mind long ago. I go great on routines. And my family thrived on them hahahahahha

Great post! I agree that you could call your daily routine rituals, the things you habitually do before bed etc.

Those seem sensible and healthy ones that you have! I am mostly just checking that the door is locked and closed and lights are out before going to bed. I would liket to improve my morning routine, that is something I need to work on.

I came via ListNerds!

Thanks for your visit. I also have my night routine. Before I retired, I had a morning routine getting the kids ready for school, then myself for work. However, all routines just fell to the side when I retired. I rise whenever I feel like facing the day. I do like my morning coffee. However, I've strayed away from making my lists of to-do items. Sometimes I just go with the flow unless something urgent or previously scheduled for that day.

Like is much simpler without routines and schedules. But then will it be more simple if you're not organized? I've always been an organized person. To-do lists keep me on track.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I know it was lengthy. I appreciate the support.

!LUV
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @mypathtofire and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/9 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

That sounds like you have a nice and relaxed morning routine! I still have the kids and work things so maybe it won't be so important once I am retired. Have a great day!! !LUV