These Are A Few Of My Favourite Things || Childhood Memories

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

The questions for this week's Ladies of Hive's weekly writing challenge are from me and I will also be judging them. I am excited to see the memories that linger into adulthood but first I would like to share some of my favourite childhood memories.

images.png
Image Source

During the early school years, I was raised by my grandmother, because my parents felt the schools where they were wasn't good enough. Googling facts, I found that in 1991, the town had a population of 25,000. I was a kid way before that, so you can imagine what a small town it was. In fact, it didn't even have a hospital, and Mum had to go to the next town about 11kms away to deliver me.

My grandmother lived in a shoebox. 500sqf, twelve stories up in the air, and one time there were 11 of us staying in there. So, imagine the excitement of visiting my parents and running around on landed property (government quarters because my dad worked for telecoms)

So, even though it was a 450km journey on busses/trains, and I had very bad motion sickness, I looked forward to the 3 school breaks every year. Now when I think about it, my parents were super cool. Just be there for mealtimes, get home before dark and don't get into trouble! Otherwise, we were free to cycle all over town. We, would be my brother and me, and we really did cycle all over town and beyond. To the river on one side, the waterfalls on the other, and then the rubber estate - like really everywhere. The infamous siblings, who did not even care for traffic, we had several people call my dad to complain about that.

And if we weren't cycling, we'd climb up the Mango tree in the backyard. We each had a favourite branch, and we'd sit there daydreaming or telling each other stories. Some days, we'd even bring up a knife to peel the mangoes to eat. One time, we thought we'd make some money out of those mangoes. We plucked some, set up a table in front of the house, and called out to people who walked past. Finally, we had a customer, we looked up excited, it was my Dad and not a happy Dad because we were calling out to strangers. He made us pack up everything.

Then we wanted to form a club that would solve mysteries, thanks to all those Enid Blyton books I was reading. So the two of us and my clueless 4-year-old sister (who just wanted to be with her older sister which she hardly saw), formed the secret club up in the roof. Yes, not the attic but the roof. My dad got this tall ladder from work and placed it in a safe enough spot so we could climb up, told us to stay on the beams so we wouldn't fall through and boom, we had a secret club. But it ended up with just my brother and me because my sister was too young to climb up the ladder and hang out in the roof.

Those were really the good old days. And honestly, there were definitely angels watching over kids. The things we got up to and got away with!!

page divider orange.png

Would love to hear some of your stories that you remember fondly and talk about at family gatherings. You can find out more about the contest HERE.

Thank you for reading,
Till next time, Carpe Diem!
Sh33la

Sort:  

Cool your dad got a ladder for you to climb up the roof.
Climbing trees was my favorite hobby too.
Moringa trees and terracotta tile roof meant breaks and falls for me.
I was bruised but not broken. Lol

My brother fell off a rambutan tree once - and what a fall it was. I think everyone panicked for about 3 minutes. He didn't break anything, thank goodness

I have fallen off the bicycle, taking a fancy turn on sand is a bad idea, and I had the neighbour kids come out to laugh at me too.
But not the trees - mango and jambu and I tried climbing the coconut trees too, but never managed to make it to the top.

Those were good days :D

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank you thank you ;D

Days and days of cycling, climbing up the mango trees.. and forming a secret club!
What wonderful childhood!
Hmmm... I have lots of childhood memories! And they were all great.
I think it would be great to write it down... in a journal.

We didn't have money, but we didn't miss it at all
It was a good childhood :D

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 11000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP