Wild plants as edible vegetables - It has been proven to have a place in everyday eating but you need to be careful as well!

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

Dear Hive Ladies and other Busy Beez,
I hope my current post proves useful and instructive for all of you!

I have observed that more and more people have recently turned to nature and are looking for new opportunities for nutrition and natural remedies. In truth, this is not new to me because as a child, I collected and consumed wild plants that I knew were edible and had a healing effect. Of course, I learned from the elderly who still had the knowledge.

Wild greenery in urban area. Be careful with poisonous and polluted plants!

20210427_160811.jpg

Forests and fields were a set table for me even then. I have just rediscovered this miracle! This knowledge comes with great responsibility because certain plants are poisonous and can be easily confused with edible ones. We do not make a decision based on a photo! More senses are needed for accurate and secure identification. t is also important to take it as cleanly as possible! The plant can absorb heavy metals from contaminated soil! Where animals walk - such as dogs, cats, foxes, deer, wild boar - they can leave parasites behind. Therefore, plants growing near the soil should be steamed or scalded, or at least washed carefully in running water!
Use strong, antibacterial and anthelmintic spices, e.g. chili, ginger, garlic, turmeric (as in India!), you will not go wrong!

Sorrels (docks)

20210427_160625.jpg

Just because a plant is edible doesn’t mean it can be eaten in unlimited quantities!
For example sorrels (or docks), the leaves contain oxalate that can cause kidney stones and other unpleasant symptoms like diarrhea. I admit, yesterday I ate a little more of sorrels than I needed to, and I had to run into that "certain little room" at dawn. Maybe the method of preparation wasn’t right either, because I added too much vegetable oil and put sour cream in it as well. It was very delicious anyway! Interestingly, the same plant can have the opposite effect. Its leaves cause diarrhea, but tea made from its seeds eliminates diarrhea.

Hop shoots - a really luxury vegetable, however, it is also available for free

20210427_160934.jpg

20210427_164525.jpg

I managed to take a larger portion of hop shoots, so I made it with penne pasta and served it. I was recently surprised to read hop shoots are luxury items and they can cost up to 100 Euros per kilograms! Should I open a restaurant? 😁

Some green onion in a bit of vegetable oil

20210427_164917.jpg

Hop shoots added

20210427_165643.jpg

Hop shoots mixed with sour cream and added to penne. Looks not so nice, but really delicious!

20210427_172704.jpg

Other plants you can eat: Red dead nettle and chervil, (French parsley). Dead nettle has a spicy taste, chervil tastes similar to anise.

Red dead nettle

20210425_140830.jpg

Chervil

20210425_140840.jpg

Salad that contains dandelion flowers, chickweed, sorrels, cucumber, carrot, some olive oil, vinegar and spices

20210425_145835.jpg

A simple but full-fledged lunch supplemented with wild plants

20210425_150319.jpg

20210425_150312.jpg


I'm not a person! I'm human!

With lots of love from Kalemandra

163769043_2965967613646265_7074252544141388012_o.jpg

Sort:  

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Que maravilla tener cerca tanta vegetación para disfrutar de muchas formas, gracias por tus fórmulas e indicaciones para poder consumirlas, es cierto debemos cuidar en lavar muy bien cada planta para el consumo. Gracias por ilustrarme!

I keep on learning new things from you, @kalemandra!
Useful information!

Very useful stuff, just a shame I couldn't recognize any of these plants as I have no prior knowledge of them. Maybe they don't even grow in my country.