@LadiesofHive #59 Challenge. - Family traditions πŸ‘ͺ πŸŽ„ 🎁

in Ladies of Hive β€’ 2 years ago

I have been wanting to try a @ladiesofhive challenge, I have just read the instructions for challenge #59.

FAMILY HOLIDAY TRADITION.


received_955827611686337.jpeg

When I was growing up with my parents we had no traditions, Christmas was just another normal day with a few presents usually something she mother would have knit. I don't call my parents mam and dad as they weren't good. parents. I will call them him and she. I can't forget the pillow case instead of a stocking They would put some fruit and nuts and if they had spare cash they would put a bar of chocolate aswell.

I never wanted children with what I went through as a child but as I grew older, found a partner and found somewhere to live my thoughts changed. I wanted children and I wanted to make great memories for them to look back on, something I didn't have.

I started my families new traditions when my first daughter was 3 so she would understand what was going on.I would make Christmas day last the whole day.

Once she had woke up we would go downstairs into the kitchen first to see if Santa had eaten the sweet mince Pie and drank the whisky. Her little face was all smiles and full of excitement. She would see the crumbs on the plate from the pie, the glass of whisky would be empty and see the carrot top had been left from the reindeer, santa would leave her a little present to say thank you. She would open that one first, we stuck to colouring books and pencils for then. We would then head to the sitting room where she would find all her presents piled up.

Once she had finished there we would tidy up letting her play with her toys whilst we made lunch, I would have the table dressed up. I would then hide another present on her chair so when we pulled it out for her to sit on she would get another surprise, this would be a present she had wanted usually a new doll or cuddly toy, as she got older this turned to jewellery. We would eat lunch then she would go play with her new toy.

Once lunch was tidied away and we had ate our Christmas Pudding it would be around 4pm, we would find another present for her to open, this one would usually be a board game we could all play and enjoy up until bedtime.

Then time for bed we would take her upstairs where she would find another present on her bed, usually a new pair of pyjamas and a DVD of her favourite movie for that year.

These presents were all taken from the pile of presents she would have got anyway. The excitement and surprises lasted all day, for a little one this made Christmas special. When my youngest daughter arrived we carried on with our tradition.


received_854548191884828.jpeg

Now the girls are grown and my oldest has moved out we still try to make the day special. Whoever is here for lunch will find a present on there chair then bedrime they will get a surprise box with new pyjamas, chocolates and usually something funny or a DVD. With my oldest living with her partner I make a box for both of them, new pyjamas, chocolates and something funny, this year I have given them a make your own key ring, there is enough for them to make one each and one for each other, its a bit of fun.

I was hoping I would have grandchildren to carry the tradition on but up to now no luck, my oldest is determined not to have children there is a small glint with my youngest but not holding my breath.

Thank you for visiting. πŸ’ŸπŸ’Ÿ


hive-blog-share 5.jpg

Sort: Β 
Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

You have started a wonderful tradition!
Lots of presents!!!
You'll never know... you might have grand children!
Thanks for sharing, @karenb54.
Good luck on the contest.
And welcome to Ladies of Hive!
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
And let's have fun!

I look forward to getting more involved and thank you for that very warm message 😊

You are welcome, @karenb54!
Till next time!

image.png

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! πŸ™‚

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavΓ­a es tan nuevo, valdrΓ‘ mΓ‘s si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente despuΓ©s de recibirlos, Β‘pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudarΓ‘ a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "Γ³rdenes de venta" estΓ‘n obstaculizando la estabilizaciΓ³n del precio de este nuevo token. Β‘Considere esperar! Β‘Gracias! πŸ€—

I will gladly hold on to them if I ever get any. Thank you. β™₯️

That is wonderful, that even though Christmas didn't hold fond memories for you, you created a special all day long Christmas for your children! Never say never, and keep hoping for the grandchildren. You might just get your wish! You changed your mind, and I'll bet someday your oldest will change her's as well.

Thank you for sharing Christmas with us! Take care!πŸ’œπŸ€—

Thank you for a lovely reply πŸ₯°

πŸ’œπŸ€—

Me alegro que tu vida haya tomado un vuelto y tengas a la final recuerdos gratos y quisiste mejorarlo aΓΊn mΓ‘s en tu familia, ya me estΓ‘n dando ganas de ir a la comida de navidad y quedarme en tu casa, ya que el que vaya encontrara obsequio πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚πŸ€£fue muy grato leerte, te deseo suerte en el concurso. Feliz tiempo de adviento. BendicionesπŸ™πŸ»πŸ€—πŸŽ„

I am glad that your life has taken a turn and you have fond memories at the end and you wanted to improve it even more in your family, they are already making me want to go to Christmas lunch and stay at your house, since whoever goes will find a gift πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚πŸ€£It was very pleasant to read you, I wish you luck in the contest. Happy advent time. BlessingsπŸ™πŸ»πŸ€—πŸŽ„

Thank you. 😊

My mom and dad were also afraid that family traditions would be lost. They had their hopes pinned on me, but I assume they've already lost them ha ha ha!

Fortunately, my nephew was born and we were able to continue them.

Thank you, glad you had a sister especially for the grandbaby. Both my girls are totally accusing l against having children, I'll just have to focus on my 🐢 pups 🐢 lol

Love the traditions you have created for your family
The presents on the chair, the board games, the bedtime suprise
A full day of wonder and joy <33

Thank you for sharing your celebrations with us :D

Thank you for reading 😊

I ate up this whole post. It is a beauty. I loved the sequence you adopted in gifting your children and making them feel so special. There is something for me to pick up here too. Well done. I will enter my first post too.

Thank you for the very sweet reply πŸ₯°

I love this idea of the presentsthroughout the day and on the chair. I think this will be so fun. To do with my own kids this year. Thank you for sharing

Thank you, they don't have to be big or expensive presents its the surprise they love.😁

Congratulations @karenb54! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It was beautiful what you did for your children. I also wish my parents could do the same as you. Spending less time working and more time with me.

That's the best present, hopefully you get more time with your parents this year.

Thank you :)

The family Christmas tradition that you have started for your children is really amazing. I believe they loved it even now that they have grown up :) Hope one of your daughters will carry the tradition with them when they will change their minds and have their own children :)

Thank you and I hope so too πŸ™

What we weren't able to enjoy, we'd want to give them all to our kids. ❀️❀️

I agree, thank you 😁

Thank you for sharing your Christmas tradition with us. It's nice to know that from bad memories from childhood you were able to change it to a good one. Hope you have a great Christmas this year with your family.

Thank you. 😁

I'm sorry to hear that your childhood was not good. I sympathize and know the feeling for sure as I have so many BAD memories of my childhood that there was no room left for any good ones that might have taken place.

I also know exactly what you mean about wanting to create the exact opposite environment for your own children.

What a beautiful tradition of the way you made the gift-giving and surprises last all day. It gave the kids a chance to savor and cherish each new present without being overwhelmed with them all at once.

Thank you, watching there little faces light up all day made day extra special. 😁