My Holiday Traditions || Ladies of Hive Community Contest #62

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

png_20211223_171209_0000.png



1️⃣ Do you like to travel during the holidays, or stay close to home?
For either answer, please tell us why!

I always look forward to Christmas holidays with excitement, mostly because I will be off work (phew!) and I will have sufficient time to spend with my family and loved ones.

The proverb 'home is where the heart is' means that wherever my family is, that's where Christmas will take place! The celebration of Christmas is not complete without family and friends. This is the reason I don't envy those who spend the season alone. There is no fun being alone.


img_20211223_170524.jpg


I love traveling but this year, my family is here in Lagos so no traveling! Two years ago, my family was in Abuja (capital of Nigeria) so my siblings and I flew there and had a fun Christmas with the family. Sadly, it's the last time I traveled, no thanks to the covid-19 virus.

1615528867_16681.png

2️⃣ What is your favorite holiday food, and why?

In Nigeria, one of our common Christmas delicacies is fried and/or jollof rice. Hahaha! Does that sound cheesy? I eat rice almost every other day but on Christmas or during festivities, it never gets old.

In my house, we usually cook fried or jollof rice or both and garnish with salad or coleslaw and fried chicken or turkey meat. Yum. It's the best.


img_20211223_170552.jpg


This dish is simple to make and the ladies in the house handle the cooking. So we wake up quite early, like 5am- 6am and start cooking. Soon as the rest of the family smell the sweet aroma of our food, they get up and come out for breakfast!

This is when our celebration begins. Much chattering fills the house with everyone greeting each other "Merry Christmas!", the elderly saying some prayers for the young ones, some men coming to the kitchen to sneak out some meats while we shoo them away.

Then we serve the meal and everyone digs in eating, drinking, laughing and having fun! So rice (fried or jollof) never gets old or tiring for me at festive times. They are my favorite holiday food and it must go with a bottle of red or white wine. Never mind that it's in the morning!

I invite @cescajove to participate. Here is the link. Merry Christmas, everyone! 🎄

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 86 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

Hola! Que tengas unas felices fiestas... Ya vendrán tiempos mejores donde puedas viajar con tu familia.

Saludos.

Sí. Espero poder viajar muy pronto después de que se solucione el tema del covid-19.
Muchas gracias por tu visita.
¡Feliz Navidad! 🎄

I tend to be a Christmas home body now even though I excitedly accept invitations from my Siblings of their hospitality. Welcoming the Christmas holidays as an opportunity to get needed rest but it seems God has other plans. I guess I'm feeling some old age.
On to the Christmas rush!

Merry Christmas @kemmyb 🎄

Hehe, I get what you mean. Sometimes, being a home body is not bad. I use the Christmas holidays to rest as well!
I hope you have a wonderful celebration.
Merry Christmas! 🎄

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Thank you @r2cornell and @blessed-girl for curating my post. I appreciate your support.
Merry Christmas! 🎄

Sounds like your festive celebrations are filled with everything important in life; family, friends, eating, drinking, laughter and love. I wish you a very Merry Christmas Kemmy x

Sounds like your festive celebrations are filled with everything important in life; family, friends, eating, drinking, laughter and love.

Yes, they are. 😊 No celebration is complete and satisfying without family.
I hope you have a wonderful celebration too.
Thanks for your visit and have a merry Christmas! 🎄

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you so much for the LOH tokens. I'll keep hodling. 🎄

Hahaha yes rice never gets old.... I appreciate the invite and I have already submitted my entry

😳😄 You have? Lol, good to know. Thanks for your visit.
Merry Christmas, dear. 🎄

Lol 🤣!

Jollof rice mist be very delicious., thanks for sharing about it.
Enjoy your day.. Celebrate.. Smile.. Laugh... Sing.. Dance.. Have fun dear @kemmyb.. Merry Christmas!!!😃😃

Oh, yes. It is delicious, if well cooked. This is what jollof rice looks like

images.jpeg

This dish is always available in most of our festivities! 😃
Thanks dear Preets for the kind wishes.
I hope you are doing great. 😊

Hello @kemmyb. Sounds like a lovely holiday with family. I've read now in quite a few posts about the Jollof Rice. While the ladies are in the kitchen children and men come in to sneak goodies. They can't resist the smells and can't wait. It's fun shooing them away. All in family cheer.

Thanks so much for sharing your holiday food and festivities. Take care, and have a good holiday.