Play The Piano Or Violin? || Ladies of Hive Community Contest #109

in Ladies of Hivelast year


Image source

1️⃣ What is your favourite musical instrument and why? Do you know how to play it? If not, do you think there are limits to learning to play it?

Hello lovely ladies! Once I saw these interesting questions for this week's contest from @irenenavarroart, I knew I would love to answer the first one and talk about my love for music, especially the piano and violin.

Did I go for the obvious musical instruments? I can't tell but I know I've always had a special interest in and love for pianos and violins. Right from when I was small, I loved to watch people play with a full orchestra, hence my love for classical music. Soon as I was old enough to join the choir in my church, I did and had a crush on our piano player. 🤭😂

Sadly, he did not teach me how to play and my parents considered music lessons an extracurricular activity that was not worth it when I asked. 🥲 Oh well, I don't blame them. With what they could afford, they preferred to focus their financial strength on my schooling for which I am grateful.

However, this did not stop me from listening to other people play the piano and violin. This is where YouTube, the video-sharing website, proves valuable. I love to listen to classical music as I see displays of talent via musical instruments, with pianos and violins taking up a major role.

I admire excellent pianists like Ludwig Van Beethoven, Elton John, Alfred Brendel, Martha Argerich, Alicia Keys and so many others. Some of my favourite piano pieces include Les Adieux by Beethoven.


Source: YouTube

This beautiful sonata is a classic and I listen to it when I'm relaxed and enjoying my solitude. My favourite violinist who is also a pianist is Julia Fischer. This is one of her best pieces.


Source: YouTube

The way these talented players perform make me ecstatically happy and I see them as a gift to the world.

Can I Learn To Play?

I remember one time, some years ago, I tried to get a friend to teach me how to play. He borrowed a big keyboard for an occasion that lasted for some days. I realised it was not possible to learn to play within a few days. Also, I hear the violin is the hardest instrument to learn. Should I allow these excuses to stop me?

What makes me reluctant to learn is the music symbols I see on sheets like the image below.


Source

I understand music sheets are easy to learn and interpret but only for a person with a mathematical mind. I saw that as a limitation to learning because I didn't like maths in school. This made me shy away from learning. And my work schedule makes it a bit hard to start music lessons.

Is it too late to learn? I don't believe so. Someday I may decide to start my lessons and push myself to learn those musical symbols. Then I'll learn to play the beautiful pieces by my favourite and outstanding pianists and violinists.

I think I'll start with the piano first. Music is a wonder of nature and a part of me. It is my go-to when I want to relax and hopefully learning shouldn't be too hard.

What's your favourite musical instrument? I invite @deeanndmathews to participate. Here's the link

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @daveyjones7 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kemmyb, You have received 2.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you for the LOH. 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 133 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

I just remembered me of something, my mum also was in the choir and sometimes when I look at the music images it get me more confused since then I didn't even think of becoming a choir. Thanks for sharing

Hehe, I'm told it's easy to learn after all. Thanks a lot for your visit.
!PIMP 🙂

Thanks


You must be killin' it out here!
@kemmyb just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @heavensgrace.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

With your interest, I believe you can learn how to play these instruments :)
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @kemmyb and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/13 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you so much. 🙂
!LADY

I can't stop laughing, you see the music symbols they represent musical tones. I first found it very confusing at first sight but if your are been taught its very simple. Thanks for sharing

Well this is reassuring. Good to know it's simple to learn. 😄 Thanks for your comment. !PIZZA 🙂

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @kemmyb.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Ah yes ... another admirer of Alfred Brendel ...

If you can count, and divide by two and three (four also, but that's just two divisions by two), that is all the math you actually need for the vast majority of music. So long as you can translate that counting into rhythm accurately, you will do well. If you have an ear for music, you can learn that way as well.

Thank you for the invitation ... I am checking it out...

If you can count, and divide by two and three (four also, but that's just two divisions by two), that is all the math you actually need

Really? I was given the impression it's a lot more complex. Good to know. I do have an ear for music and hopefully I'll learn to play sometime in the near future.

Thanks a lot for your visit. !LUV 😊

The complexity is not in the math ... music is a language of its own, and there are dialects, if you will ... classical is different than folk or jazz or blues or rock and roll, and that's just inside one culture. Other branches of the human family have scales and rhythms of their own ... so, it is just learning the language, through hearing or reading...

both the piano and the violin are very beautiful instruments. Thank you for participating in the Contest

!LADY

You have already used the number of tips you had for the day. Please try again tomorrow or buy more LOH tokens to send more tips.

Thank you. 😊

image.png

My pleasure 😊

You need to try this! The joy that comes from making music is indescribable. I can also tell you that my husband, who to this day, does not count when he plays his guitar, learned to play as an adult. It's not all that hard; for him, he does have a sense of rhythm; for me, I was trained as flautist since the age of ten. I don't 100% understand why he can't understand how to count when playing, but we work well together and it works.

Don't be intimidated by sheet music! Especially with youtube videos available now, I am sure you can find one that will speak to you on how to read music. It is so worth it!

Take care and enjoy the journey!

Oh nice! Your husband learned to play as an adult. Now that's encouraging. I've always believed it's better to learn from childhood than try as an adult but really, there should be no end to learning!

This is encouraging. Thanks so much. 😊🤗
!LADY

You are very welcome! I have learned, through my trying different instruments, that if the need is there for it in the music for the service, then God gives me just what I need to play whatever instrument I'm working on. The only thing I'm truly trained in is the flute. It's amazing what you can do if you just try! Take care and enjoy the journey!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@kemmyb(1/5) tipped @justina7osun (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!