My crypto journey since 2017 and how to get a taste of crypto for free.

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)

Hey world!

If you are a crypto veteran, this is definitely not for you but if you are entry level or have never plunged into the world of crypto but it has peeked your interest, this might be the post you never knew you needed. Unless you have been hiding under a rock I'm sure you have all heard of Bitcoin or the word cryptocurrency by now, it's all over the news. But what is Bitcoin really? It would be hard for me to explain the whole thing and how it works and many do it better than myself but besides a new emerging speculative asset class that can make some people really rich or really poor, it's a key to a doorway...A doorway to a whole new decentralized world, a new more efficient way of accomplishing certain tasks, a doorway to the future. The world of Micro-Economics or tokenization of the internet and data. Bitcoin is often the currency needed to invest into new up and coming blockchain projects and technologies associated with what we call Alt tokens. Many assume Bitcoin and crypto currency are a speculative asset when in fact their true value is in the technology.

blockchain-3446557_960_720.webp

Image from pixbay free images:https://pixabay.com/photos/blockchain-technology-smart-bitcoin-3446557/

I'm not a financial adviser or an expert, not even close to all that knowledgeable in crypto but I represent the very average person in the world. I get up, I go to work, hope to win the lottery someday with a few curious hobbies that have taken a life of their own. I first heard of bitcoin in 2009 and laughed at the 10 000 dollar initial investment and remember specifically saying I'm not investing 10k into farmville money when I can hardly pay my rent or put food on the table at the time, I'm sure that is very relatable even today for many. Boy do I hate myself now, they were worth pennies per bitcoin back then. Instead of surviving 2020 I could have been sitting on my own private island with every color Lambo's on the rainbow skipping over the whole thing. Damn, what if I knew then what I know now.

Fast-forward to 2017, a few month before the massive bull run, I noticed the price and thought damn, how do I get in on that farmville money without spending my own hard earned money, there must be a way to earn it in case it does become a thing . I first discovered faucets (more on that later) and the steemit platform (after some controversy the decentralized moto was carried on into what we now call Hive. For those of you who want to try before you buy or always have an excuse why you don't have money for crypto or just want to learn what it's all about, this is my journey. Dip your toe in the crypto pool for free, learn how to set up wallets, trade currency, do transactions without betting the farm, it's always less intimidating when your learning how to play with house money until you understand their true value and feel confident if it's something you want to invest time in or financially.

download.jpg

First what is Hive in a nutshell? It's a decentralized social media, blogging platform, a place to build DApps, a place to read, learn, interact whatever the community wants it to be. Our, thoughts, our photos, engagement, all of our data posted on the social media giants gets sold to third parties without our consent on top of making all the add profits and in return we get censored on free speech. Unlike Bitcoin that requires expensive set-ups, too much electricity and complicated computer math equation solving, Hive offers it's users the opportunity to mine the native token along with a series of hive-engine tokens (based on rewards earned on DApps and games built on the Hive Blockchain) with our interactions that can then be held in a virtual wallet to contribute to the governance and future token distribution or can be sold on the market in exchange for Fiat(you current day to day banking system...just in case) or maybe you like it and want to speculate on it's future and have more stake. (to join if you haven't, there should be a button at the top of this page)

image-3375234_960_720.png

Image from Pixbay free images:https://pixabay.com/vectors/image-set-interface-pictogram-3375234/

In other words, want to organize grandma's recipes into an easy access place for all of your relatives to get to instead of a bunch of paper clippings and cue cards, maybe you have an eye for photography or make videos, like to write or even just want to share your day to day, it may be worth something to people of the blockchain and could still earn you sizeable stake with time and patience, more than what facebook will ever give anyone. It's also a great place to learn about the world of crypto and all the projects and the opinions of veteran holders, traders and developers. Looking past the current value of the token (a good time to accumulate while it's cheap), having been here during the boom, this token's true value is in the bandwidth usage it allows, which became a hot commodity in the 2017 bull run when a million accounts where trying to sign up at once, it's like owning internet real estate. Businesses and apps, bloggers need bandwidth to post and operate on the blockchain and that isn't unlimited and we all share it according to our staked tokens. The building on Hive has just begun yet the project is old enough to have stood the test of time in a crypto bear market. Staked tokens currently earn over 3% inflation/interest, more than any bank would give you in your basic savings account along with accumulating curation rewards when you up-vote (like) content on the platform and give value to other's blog.

Now what are faucets? Simple way of explaining, a page that looks click-baity except they are honest about being click-bait and will share part of their ad revenue with those who take the time to visit and give them a few clicks. The amounts is given in micro fiat cent value of whatever crypto they offer that adds up over time, as each token rises in value each bull run, the micro amounts can turn into another savings account over time. The lower the token value, the more tokens they give out so getting in early before the token has too much value is key and just hodl for years and slowly add to it.

It may be too late for bitcoin on faucets but as I mentioned, there are other Alt tokens that have a potential valuable future. Once upon a time, I used to collect over 450 satoshi from a single faucet every hour, now it's 2, just as an example how it reduces as the token gains value. Over the years, a few cents worth a day turned into over $500 US with the recent ATH. Not picking lambos but I never said no to anyone giving me $500 in exchange for some legit clicks on the internet. Before my time, the faucets gave out way more and I'm starting to see stories of people leaving their passwords on thrown out hard-drives beating themselves up while others paid off their parents house having posted a single meme or filled out a few surveys a decade ago and hodled what once was worth cents, in other words... faucets.

To get started on all of them, you only need an email address until you accumulate enough for deposits, it will give you time to learn about setting up wallets to hold your crypto and learn about sending and receiving tokens or trading for other tokens to help you get comfortable in case you do have interest into investing in the crypto world or just keep slowly accumulating if you have no other means of investing but still want a bit of skin in the game. Keep your keys and passwords! Don't be that person in a decade. You wont get rich tomorrow but between faucets and a combination of blogging on hive and formerly on steemit, I have earned just as much in $$ terms with each to a total of over $2 000 usd over the last few years, not bad for killing time on the internet. How many people again don't have $200 savings to cover an emergency? How many in third world live on a few dollars a day. What if they were participating in the world of internet micro-economics to hodl for the future and could change their fate?

Free micro XRP:

Free micro Cardano (ADA):

Free micro Tron (I know eww but it's free and #13 in market cap):

Free micro Tether (I think this one s a stablecoin) :

Free Steam (I think this is redeemable on gift cards on Steam gaming platform, stablecoin as well)

Obviously my key strategy here is just hold hold hold and keep slowly adding to it especially the tokens with a current low value. Up or down, just ride the waves for years, it will go up in value if you pick the right tokens and projects. Those who use my faucet links will help me earn referral commission based on what you collect from them, helping me on my accumulation goals as well, sharing your links and signing up your friends can help you earn a little more as well. Cryptos can be hard to buy in some countries around regulations, this is a simple way to get in until you learn but it's slowly getting less complicated as cryptos continue their journey to become more mainstream.

Free micro Etherium:

Free micro Chainlink:

Free micro bitcoin (sats):

The links below all automatically deposit into a central wallet called coinpot where you also earn their native coin to play in lotteries or to buy any of the token the wallet holds or exchange any held currency for an other while learning how to trade and do transactions. All is needed to get started is an email address. Please be respectful and don't use bots. Bots are BAD Mkay!!

free micro Litecoin:

Free micro Bitcoin x3:

Free micro Dogecoin:

Free micro BitcoinCash:

Free Micro Dashcoin:

The Bitcoin faucets don't give out much anymore but hey why not keep stacking them sats 2 at a time anyway. This dogecoin is a mystery to me, I always thought it was a joke coin and used to collect it because I thought it was hilarious that I could collect many whole coins every time. Then I abandoned them all and left my tokens all over until recently when I discovered my 5 cent hoard somehow turned into over $50 worth....wait what? I watched it turn a penny per token last week, before I become a dum-dum in a decade I went and retrieved them all and decided to continue adding to the pile with just this one faucet since the others are no longer active( I still got to retrieve my tokens to a personal wallet so no misfortune here). 🤣🤣🤣 In hindsight, some of the faucets I had stopped using because it seemed pointless until everything I held went up in value since I had stopped, I kind of wish I had continued now because they used to give out more. No time like the present!

https://www.coinbase.com/join/robich_dk

The link above is Coinbase, a mainstream crypto exchange compliant to US regulations. Along with their stature with government they also have a section where you can learn about other Alt coins and earn over $100 USD worth of various free crypto by watching videos of their projects. On top of the free crypto, both the referrer and referral get a free $10 worth of bitcoin after the first $100 USD bitcoin purchase. I hope this can help you if you were one of the curious ones but still afraid to go all in and just want to try out crypto first before making a financial decision or if you just don't have the means or just want to keep accumulating just because why not...

Sort:  

Thank you ;)

You are welcome! I just saw that the coinpot wallet and the handful of faucets with it are shutting down at the end of the month. Sorry now I feel like I got egg on my face haha less than a day after I post just that small section you might want to ignore now. The rest are ok tho, they just updated their systems a couple weeks ago. I'm going to have to test out new ones in the meantime.

Alright, thanks for the update :) I might give them a shot soon...

I'm like you. my strategy is HOLD, hold, hold...specifically precious metals!
I have Coinbase. I don't trade much, and it suits my purpose.

I like it, you don't feel as much fomo that way. Yes like you exchange fiat for pm and earn the crypto. I don't trade much either so it's perfect for me too. I tried but yeah, no good at it so I quit while I was ahead😂

In 2017, I held bitcoin for about three months, It was my first experience in cryptos and the only kind that I bought (because a good friend ThnikVesting convinced me to buy for the $5 rebate). At that time I was not convinced and pretty scared to do it. It was on the rise! The December of the year, I sold it, and bought my first 1ounce gold and converted the remaining in ETH.
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

Nice! sounds like you had a positive experience , your first ounce of gold must have been so exciting! (it always is 😁) I'm a bit scared to but I think in the long run it will go up in value. The good projects at least. I hope your still hanging on to that ETH!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @ladybug146! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.
You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.
You received more than 8000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 9000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP