Weekend Self-Care

in Ladies of Hive4 years ago

Since I build a new schedule six days work one day break, there are some favorite things that I love to do during either Saturday/Sunday. Though to be honest, I am all about self-care and even it is not the weekend, I still do some of these.

Weekendselfcare.jpg

1. House chores !

Though I clean daily, I spend my weekend doing laundry and dusting my room. I also clean my work space where I spend almost 90% of my week days trying to look busy and do my thesis. It can get quite messy especially when I spend too much time on it. Other than cleaning this space, I also do laundry, cleaning my pantries and listing all the items I need to buy during my next grocery shopping. I also clean out the house and sanitize it. I use sanitizer spray to clean out the air and also surfaces.

2. Facial Care

image.png

On the weekend, I try to give myself a bit of special treatment using facial scrub, facial mask and sometimes pore strips. After that I moisturize my face and applying lip balms. I love nivea products as you can tell. I also have their sunscreen and body lotion.

3. Reading books

While waiting for my mask, I like to read a book. I generally try to read one book a day but lately, it has becoming an impossible thing to do. So, I move it to weekend (either saturday or sunday) where I get to read as much I want.

image.png

This week, I am trying to finish reading The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella. Other than books, I normally read journals, news and anything other than politic. I keep politic during week days only.

4. Prepping

The only prep that I do is medication and vitamins. I like to take my nootropics regimen very seriously. It's been a while since I am doing reviews and charting my nootropics. I generally take vitamin C, A, Bcomplex because I think getting it from food is not enough. I also take magnesium and ginkgo biloba. The only prescription I have is piracetam which I take to help me with my post-concussion. Sometimes, I also throw in acid reflux medication but I often skip them since I don't get acid reflux that often these days.


5. Budgeting

My self-care definitely includes finance planning. I don't have time to do this during weekday. So, I dedicate either Saturday or Sunday thinking about how much I should spend on food and snacks. By either Sunday/Monday, I generally I have ideas how much I should spend in a week and things I have to pay. During this day, sometimes I also research about investment plans and things I want to buy especially cryptocurrencies. I also have digital budgeting tools but it's much easier to write it down first before moving them into digital expenses.

6. Anime/Movie time

This one is really depends. I normally watch anime with my boyfriend on Thursday but sometimes we also do it during Saturday/Sunday if he's not going out with his family. If I watch alone, I like to watch the same thing all over again just to learn about the character developments, symbolism, plot and over-thinking about the meaning behind the story.


7. Creative time

image.png
My creative idea is limitless. Recently, I am trying to learn colors from my watercolour pencils and doing collage. If not doing art, I am learning how to sew or butchering my old phones to learn the components. Sometimes, creative for me also means learning how to make games, writing a poetry, trying new recipes or just simply doodle random things.

So... that's how I spend my Saturday or Sunday. How do you spend yours? let me know in the comment section or even write a post about it.

~ Mac


Mac is a freelance writer based in South East Asia. She specializes in Technology, Management, Productivity, Minimalism, How-to, Reviews, Travel, Food and Lifestyle. Other than those,she dabbles in other various interests and pursuits, including cryptocurrency and art. If not writing, she can be found cooking or brushing up her programming skill.
Sort:  

You are so organized! I remember when I used to plan out my days like that, but now that I am retired I pretty much just do things when the mood strikes me. It's probably not very efficient, but is certainly a relaxed way of life!
Great post!
!tip

ooh yeah, that makes total sense. A relaxed way of life is my goal but I am doing it a bit more differently by being more organized. I don't know why but having a good structure and organization relaxes me more than a chaotic day since I don't know what to expect, etc.Much love and thank you for visiting me 🌸

self-care rutinku untuk sekarang nonton video motivasi sama ngopi. Sisanya masak menu menu baru :D

Kalo udh mulai nulis projek buku, bakalan beda lagi sih. Tapi aku jadi kangen baca buku :(

Wah iya, masak menu baru emang top self-care

Now that sounds really like the kinda weekend I could like to have also. Especially the reading and the facial masks. The shopaholic series I enjoyed very much to read. The cleaning ... hmmm that is not really a hobby of me, but nevertheless it has to be done. So I understand you completely on that ... and I don't know about you, but for me it always does feel good when I have finished that job.

Sounds like you really are enjoying your weekend, even tho one day sounds a bit short to me. Take care girl and enjoy!

omg that's so true ! it just feels so food when you have finished all the chores. One day is a bit short but I am not in a position to live a luxury for now, gotta keep hustling.

I enjoyed reading your intro.

I am not so organized as you on the weekends. 😊

On weekend nights I sometimes stay up very late, since I don't have to work the next day. Because of that, I sleep in on Saturday and Sunday and when I get up, I start the morning with several hours sipping coffee and playing here on my computer or sitting out on my porch when the weather is not too hot or two cold and just having some lazy time. It is not a rule ! LOL, so I sometimes put in some laundry in the background or straighten up the house or whatever else needs to be done. Sometimes around noon I get started on chores or errands, although with covid, I try to limit my errands to a small minimum and some weeks don't go out at all !

On Saturday the rest of my days is spent on whatever projects are at hand. In the evenings I paint or watch TV.

On Sundays it is about the same except most Sundays I go check on my Mom who is 86. Sometimes that lasts from about Noon till supper time, so most of the day is spent on that.

Of course since there isn't a rule, it is not the same from weekend to weekend.

That is post worthy already ! I enjoy my coffee time but these days waking up from bed is a lot harder during, the weather is just soooo cozy, so my time is getting shorter and shorter.

Maybe when it gets colder I will stay snuggled in bed longer on the weekend.

Because I can !

That's a well planned out weekend, keeping everything in check.

For me, I do my laundry on Saturday, clean the living room and my room. I do any leftover task from the week, watch TV or a movie on my phone. I go to church on Sunday so I prep my outfit. In the evening I make sure to exfoliate my face with a scrub and mask. That's about it.

Is church open even during covid these days?

Yes it is. Pretty much back to normal here. Masks aren't even mandatory in church.

WOW ! here we are back to quarantine mode cause there's spike in cases.

That's serious!

I don't know the numbers here, everyone's relaxed and don't care anymore. They mostly think it's a hoax

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

🎁 Hi @macchiata! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Ladies Of Hive And Archon! Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I love your routine and pictures that go along, yes self care is aces above all else or you can't do anything else. ....am a vitamin fan myself and have them pretty organized and sort of do a routine similar to yours, it just keeps things clean , organized and flowing . Good luck on your works!
Axey

ooh what's your vitamin regime looks like? are you into nootropics as well?

yeah I take theanine if that counts hehe

That definitely counts !