Favorite Vegetable To Grow - LOH Contest # 81

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

20170727_155021.jpg
Image from private file of @mers

Tomatoes amaze me every time I grow them, no matter what variety... They are my favorite vegetables. Whether in pots or in soil, they are nature's gift to all gardeners. I pick them freshly when they are ripe and use them in salads.

Successful gardening in pots

Container gardening has become a passion. Each season I grew my own tomatoes, in particular, cherry tomatoes. Year after year, I get 3 varieties and see the difference in each of their tastes. I had been successful in growing them in the past even if only in pots. I Used to have a garden 2 years ago... we moved to a flat in a newly built complex near the Donau-Auen National Park and this is my second season to plant them.

cherry tomatoes 2.jpg
Image from private file of @mers

My Favorite veggie, cherry tomato...

In our former house, the top terrace had been used for my container gardening because as I have said in my many posts, I preferred to have the veggies in pots, placing them on the rooftop terrace where the slugs could not reach them. My recipe is called Garlic Roasted Tomatoes that serves as antipasti. We also use this to top a dark bread or Baguette. I have been making this again and again because it is delish and we love it!

IMG_0133.JPG

Note: Below is the process on how I roast the cherry tomatoes. This recipe was published 5 years ago and underneath is the "source" of my blog where it was posted .

Garlic Roasted Cherry Tomatoes Source

Ingredients:

800 grams cherry tomatoes, washed and dried-up
3 cloves of crushed garlic
1/2 tsp dried thymes
1/2 tsp dried basil
2 leaves bayleaf, each cut half
1 tbsp soy sauce
1/3 cup olive oil
salt & pepper
1 pinch of fine sugar

How to roast:

Preheat the oven to 200°C.

1...
Line an oven tray with baking parchment/sheet.
Arrange the tomatoes on the tray, add the crushed garlic,
sprinkle the olive oil on top of the tomatoes and add the rest of the ingredients.
I use my hand to mix everything so that all other ingredients coat the tomatoes.

2...
Place the oven tray on the lowest rack of the oven and roast tomatoes in the preheated
oven with temperature of 200°C for the first 20 minutes,
then reduce heat to 180°C and roast for another 30 minutes turning tomatoes every
now and then. the skin should get crumpled as in the pic below.

3...
Remove the bay leaf and place the tomatoes in the sterilized jar, add the olive oil just to cover the tomatoes. Close the lid tightly and store in the refrigerator. Once opened, consumed within 3-4 days.


IMG_0481 -a.JPG

2nd Season of Container Gardening in 2022 (In my new home)

This is my second season of container gardening in the new flat and recently, I have gotten various newbies namely; 1 cherry tomato, 1 Beefsteak tomato, and a variety called Prince Borghese and all were planted in pots in our 16 sqm balcony.

IMG_20220507_121717.jpg

I always have a good feeling whenever I see the potted plants growing everyday. Now at the moment, the cherry tomato has buds and flowers already as well as the cucumber with those tiny cukes thriving. Also one of the three peppers has buds now.

IMG_20220507_121725.jpg

IMG_20220507_121713.jpg

IMG_20220507_121749.jpg

I have posted my garden journal where you can see the spices I planted in my container garden for your reference here.. And another tomato recipe can also be found here.

Many thanks to @elizabethbit for suggesting the contest theme of favorite vegetable to grow. And in this post, I would like to reach out to @sisterhood2 to join the challenges of the Ladies of Hive Community.

All images in this post are owned by me, @mers including the sourced ones.

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  

Congrats on your container gardening, You've got a green thumb, my friend, your plants be it veggies or flowering ones thrive.

It's so nice to see a mini container garden that bears lovely tomatoes, those are amazeballs!

Thank you my friend. I hope they would grow like the last season. Yaks, before I started planting, I inspected the soil (because I was reusing them). I wanted to enhance with used brewed coffee rest when I saw the grubs! kaadiiirs. ut did not kill them, I put them in a bottle ad spread on the field. I think they will become June bugs, you know that green color bug!

I do love tomatoes too so much, I even drink Tomato juice before & it's so delicious. Na inlove poko sa mga tanim nyu @mers Ang lulusog😍 I hope magawa ko din again Yan at mabuhay din Ng ganyan ka ganda 😊

Thank you.. Kaya mo yan.. Start small...

Congrats to your successful veggie container gardening. Ma Ka ibog worth emulating.

Thank you...start putting all your potted veggies higher or on a pedestal so your pets avoid them.... hehehe.

Very nice! We have slugs here too, and they wreck havoc on most plants, even flowers! They really annoy me, lol! It looks like you've been blessed with a green thumb for sure. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thank you. The slugs are not a problem anymore. What concerns me are those grubs that I found in the potting soil. Last season I found more than a dozen in my potted pepper, good thing I was able to remove them before they damaged the plant. The pepper grew nicely after once the worms were removed. Just have a look at the photo... I placed them in plastic bag and brought them in the nearby field. I guess they will become June bugs.

image.png

When I started to plant again about 8 weeks ago, I have reused some soil from last year, one pot has about 11 grubs. Good thing I inspected, removed them and again brought to the field when I made my walk. They must have been the eggs from last season and only hatched during the wintertime...

Happy Sunday!

I'm glad you got them all removed! Nothing like nurturing a plant and then having it die. I've been there before.

Have a wonderful week!💜🤗

Sarap ng may ganyang yard para sa mga gulay...

Hobby lang naman yan... pero nakakatuwa mag tanim.

I do gardening in pots too!
And I do love tomatoes!
Thanks for the recipe.
Good luck with the contest.

Thank you so much @silversaver 888. I hope you would try the recipe. Have a nice Sunday!

I love cherry tomatoes too ☺. Something I want to grow once I get back to my homecountry

If you could do it and if you have time, try planting it in a small pot, there are cherry tomato variety that doesn´t grow tall but still bears many fruits.

I hope I could..but im living in my boss house.. So im not allowed 😅

You're article was upvoted by MinnowSupport.
image.png

Thanks for the support, appreciate it much!

Dream crusher alert!!!!!

Tomatoes are considered fruits. Not vegetables.

Hahaha....you are right, botanically they are fruits because they have seeds, but for nutritionists, they are vegetable because they can be applied to any cookings.

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Appreciate the support, thanks a lot.

These tomato growing is awesome. I'm also growing some tomato. You have cherry tomato so sweet, im not even sure which variety I have. So far they about 9 small pea sizes !