Some thoughts about Language

in Ladies of Hive4 years ago (edited)

Language, the words we use, that's important. Most of our communication is done with words, we use them to inform others about our thoughts, wishes and needs. Words can have different meanings or connotations, we all know about failed jokes etc. because someone understood something not in the way it was meant.

"Think before you speak (or write)" is a rule that we all know. And if everyone used the "take a break before you send something you wrote" rule, not only Hive would lose much of its unneeded drama ;)

The ladybug was named after the mother of Jesus

And now I'll come to why I make this post in this community. "Ladies of Hive". I openly admit that I have a problem with "Lady". Let me tell you why - but be patient, because English is not my first language. Maybe that's why I sometimes think more about the words I use...

A bit of Etymology

Where does the word lady come from? It's old, coming from the Old English word hlǣfdīġe (which literally means "bread-kneader" - isn't language interesting?) and developed to lady in Middle English with a meaning that's one of those it's still has today: "wife of a lord".

And now to Semantics

Later, and still in use today, came the use of it as a polite address to a woman - like in "ladies and gentlemen".

Another meaning today is "a woman of high social standing or refinement, especially when viewed as dignified or well-mannered"

So, if it's a word with all these polite and positive meanings I can use it for everything female-related, right? Wrong. Historically, lady is something you became through others - like marrying a lord. And all the connotations with it ("ladylike") point to a certain picture. And that is not all-embracing for everything a self-reliant woman that manages her life herself. The male equivalent of "lady" is "gentleman" - when you wouldn't use that, woman might be the better word (like female where you use male).

Sorry, I won't be a part of something with "Ladies" on the label - I stick to my principles. That probably will bother no-one, but perhaps think about the words you use every now and then. Let's limit the word to use with aristocrats and bathroom doors ;)



Picture source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Interesting read, the wonderful thing about Hive and different communities is that they are voluntary so if it's not someones cup of tea they can find the niche's they feel more comfortable in. :)

As always, you should do exactly however you choose.

I do think it is sad that you would let one word keep you from joining in on the fun. Sometimes, you might consider "intent" instead of technicality on words. If not, I'm sure there are many ways to choose to be offended.

If you change your mind, come back and join in !

Take care and stay safe !💚

Hello @muscara. Interesting read here ... and of course it's your own choice to be a part of a community or not. Just know that you always will be welcome whenever you change your mind.

I absolutely agree with you here. It's why I find it hard to write anything as part of that community, although I would be part of something that was 'woman of HIVE". So you are absolutley not alone. And I definitely think that's something the founders should have considered or should reconsider. Thanks so much for speaking what I was thinking. Whilst I'd love to be part of the 'in crowd' of woman on HIVE, I do object to the connotations of 'lady'. Don't hate me if I do join in - though I might moan about the name too!