Ladies of Hive Community Contest #122 - Beauty of the Heart and Mind and not of the Looks

in Ladies of Hivelast year (edited)

For this week @LadiesofHive - Contest I would be giving out my responses on both the questions
1️⃣ Why do you think society places such a high value on beauty
when it serves no functional purpose?
~ 𝐀𝐍𝐃 / 𝐎𝐑 ~
2️⃣ What job would you be absolutely terrible at?
image.png
Personally, I feel that it is not wrong to value beauty. It is a good part of life. If we do not have the virtue of appreciating beauty in any form, be it the beauty of looks or the beauty of nature then we are lacking Gratitude in some way. The problem is giving it a value in many other comparisons, especially when it comes to the beauty of good looks.

It is true that the society largely judges us with many things like Good looks, our Financial status and the positions that we hold in society and we give value to these rather than seeing the value in who we truly are. A rich woman with no beauty also gets value in the society. Or a dumb woman with great looks is given more attention to. These are the conditioning of our mind, that what looks appealing and glamorous is good. We do not take the effort of dwelling deeper.

In this fast-track world when everything is on fast track and things happen instantly so are our minds functioning in similar manner, we make fast judgements and come to quick conclusions by just seeing what we see from the outside. I sailed in the same boat some years ago. The place that I worked in had diversity from all regions of India, and there are regions in India where people have dark skin and somewhere I had this block that a dark skin person does not appeal me. Sorry no offence to anyone, but I am just admitting the blocks that I had once upon a time. When I started working with them, I was feeling shameful, because these people in intelligence and wisdom were far better than me. That's how my opinion changed.

image.png
Source

At the same time once I was travelling with a very low mood, and on the flight next to me was a middle-aged lady. She looked very rough and not very neatly dressed as well. As we took off and I was in my gloomy mood, she held my hand and asked me what was wrong with me. I wanted to avoid her, as I felt, what will she understand. Then she herself made some advances in conversations, and gradually I realized that she was talking a lot of sense with me. In those 2 hours we had some deep meaningful conversations. Then I asked her, what was her background and she turned out to be a very big shot. She was the secretary to the Governor of Reserve Bank of India. I was stunned, because her looks and appearance no where seemed to be close to her position. I refused to believe and she gave me her visiting card asking me to visit whenever next I would be in her town.

That's how most of us perceive looks, because that's the way we are conditioned in our minds. But the reality is that looks are deceptive and they should never be given importance unless knowing the person as a whole.
image.png
Here comes my answer to the second question
What job am I terrible at- I feel that I can do most of the things. I am not absolutely terrible at doing any job, because I try and put in a lot of effort in whatever I do. But still Cooking is something where I go wrong at many times and one job that I do not even wish to do or enjoy doing it on a regular basis. I can cook and there are some dishes which I make very well. But I do keep messing up a lot, specially trying out on new dishes. If I have to try out something new, I do it when no one is around at home, because if it messes up, I just discard the full thing...hahaha and that's how I get saved from family scolding :-) I have a cook at my home and I enjoy her food. On a daily basis it gives me a headache to think what has to be cooked. I better leave that job for the experts. My hubby is a good cook and he has pampered me right from the beginning on this. The day I cook, everyone is in dilemma if they would get food on the table or not. Sometimes it can turn out excellent or it can be a total disaster also.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif

image.png

"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



Sort:  

You have received 3.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you for the token and encouragement

image.png

Its true we are living in a world of fugazi, fairy tails where the society by using mainstream media dictates what you need to be, how much you need to have and how you need to look to fit and feel successful, Im a millennial and saw how the internet and social media became popular and everything change, I have always thought that most of the generations after mine are/were worst but I guess by experience and age we learn that beauty is more than looks and things we own, thx for sharing ✌️

Thanx for sharing your views. We are so much dominated with all these highly governed forces that we forget our true nature and keep acting like puppets

Hello @nainaztengra. I agree with you that society has conditioned us to only look at the outside of a person in determining their value in terms of beauty. I love it when you say:

"I feel that it is not wrong to value beauty. The problem is giving it a value in many other comparisons, especially when it comes to the beauty of good looks."

If only the conditioning wasn't set so deep that it's now entrenched in our hearts. We can't break away from it to take time to look at the other aspects of beauty in a person. I appreciate you providing examples of how this can be done by sharing with us your experiences that changed your concept of beauty.

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. I thoroughly enjoyed the read.

Take care and have a good rest of your week.

!ALIVE

Real life experiences change our perspective and I am glad that I got to encounter some which changed the way I thought.

@nainaztengra! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @justclickindiva. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations @nainaztengra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 50000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 51000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

But the reality is that looks are deceptive and they should never be given importance unless knowing the person as a whole.

I so much love your entry and this sentence is the summary. When judging someone based on the look than we might loss an opportunity because the said person might be the right connection one urgently needs.

Yes, sometimes in the bargain of looks we may miss out something even more beautiful

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 11.63% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

As you say @nainaztengra, we are so conditioned to judge by the appearance of people, that this makes us make big mistakes many times, and only by knowing and treating them do we recognize that the beauty of someone is not only on the outside, since can be even greater, inside, your being,
I am glad that you have been in contact with these people who changed your perception.

Something that I don't like to do much is cook, although it is proven that it is when I don't have someone to accompany me, because when it's to eat with others, I try to make everything look good and I enjoy the compliments I receive for how delicious it turns out. It's good that your husband consents to this. It was a pleasure reading you. Blessings 🙏🏽💖🌺

Hahahaha, everything is mine set dear, once you set your mind to cook you will be surprise at what you cook, from today tell your self that you can do better than what you are doing now, and you will see great change, thanks for sharing

Ohhh yes, but somehow I have no interest, so guess it all goes hand in hand :-)