Ladies of Hive Community Contest #61 - My Ways of Interacting with Online Friends

The questions from @ladiesofhive community this week are:

1️⃣ 2022 is on the doorstep! Grant yourself three wishes, let us know why! Maybe it is ideas on changing how we live, clean living challenges, social and cultural shifts, equalizing business to allow all to grow within new technology in creative manner, or something else.

Or

2️⃣ Name three ways you build your online friendships! What do you specifically look for? Similarities in personality, culture, gender, guidance, learning, growth in communications, or something more?

I choose to answer the number 2, and I invite all the ladies on Hive to participate in our ongoing contest and win prizes.

You may check out more details of the contest here:
Ladies of Hive Community Contest #61

___________________________________________________________-

As time goes by we clearly see that Online interactions are moving up at a rapid speed. The Social Media presence in everyone's life is increasing and for some it is also becoming an important part of life. Specially for those who run their small time businesses through Social Media. But then that's a different thing alltogether. People are getting more and more drawn towards the use of Social Media platforms, specially Instagram is buzzing these days with stories and reels. As the use increases so does interactions.

image.png
Source

There was a time when I would receive hardly one or two friend request in a week, and now I receive some daily 5 to 6 friend request. Normally it is my habit to not accept any friend request from people I do not know on any platforms, but these days I have a different approach. Because I have started looking at some other aspects also when making online friends.
What I specifically look at when building online friendship are these 3 important things:
1 - Do I know the person - This is my most important check. But as I mentioned I am not being rigid about it. So then my second check is
2- Do I have any common friends with this person - This also matters to me, because then I somewhere feel secured that the person I am going to connect with is not a complete stranger and I can do some background checks also if needed. But again here, I would not connect with anyone who shows up in common friends list. There is this vibe thing also, if I feel that I connect, else just ignore
3- If none of these 2 are there, then my third check is on what is the person's profession. If there's anything that links us like Yoga, Meditation, Travelling, then I do connect with the person.
I also have one more check, the 4th one.
4- Check through the pictures - Nowadays what happens is that the profiles are secured, so unless you do not accept the friend request you do not get to see the pictures. If I approve friend request on the 3rd basis, then once it is approved I scroll through the pictures. Check how old the profile is. If there are family pictures and other decent pictures I have no issues going ahead. If I find anything fishy, I immediately unfriend and block the account.

Yes I can say that I am a very safe player, I do not like to go out an explore much when it comes to the virtual world. I believe in Real world and Real people. I would want to see the person, hear the person and feel the person. The Online world is not really my cup of tea. So in the first place I do not encourage complete strangers in my space. And I also believe in that first vibe while connecting with the person.

image.png
Source

A lot of fake accounts are created with some very luring pictures, but if you check it out in detail you will understand that these are not genuine ones. They are created just a couple of months back and then they put some very attractive solo pictures, all together. These kind of profiles I immediately block them.

These are my ways of safeguarding my own interest. With the increased use of Social Media we also see many frauds happening, people come out of nowhere and then they come into your life and cheat you as well. It is very important to be careful while making online friendships. Specially the younger generation, they do get carried away when they start using these platforms. It is all fresh and exciting for them and then they become easy targets for some who have criminal minds and have wrong intentions of cheating people.

I would like to invite @sunitahive to participate in this contest

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

I believe in Real world and Real people. I would want to see the person, hear the person and feel the person.

I share this thought with you, I prefer to meet people in the real world, I am also very cautious about accepting "new friends" online.

Too many frauds these days, it's better to be safe and sorry

Yes,it's the best! :-)

I very rarely accept friend requests, and when I do I try to take the same precautions as you. I don't think I've accepted any request from a stranger, regardless the same interest as mine. There are also those who keep on making new accounts. I rarely accept requests from second/third/nth accounts too even if I see they are relatives. Hehe

True, and I always wonder what do they keep doing with these multiple accounts. It's strange, but we need to be cautious, as you mentioned even though if they are our relatives.

ME is your best example of online friendship:]]
we've never met in real life, but I love you online for years:>😍

Thanx my dear, but for sure we have a heart connection and it vibes out so well. I am sure, we will meet someday. Lots of Love 💖💖

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you for the tokens 💖

Good steps to follow making new online friends, a bit more time consuming but well worthwhile.

Life online is much the same as meeting people in person, some will be a friend until there is no longer something in it for them.

Using social media platforms each one is stealing something from you, your identity, phone number, credentials then allowing all kinds onboard, also add AI into the advertising. We will never rid the world of these types of people, keep safe to the best of your ability.

Yes, we will never be able to get rid of it, rather it will increase with time, so only one can do is be safe with their own methods

Too true 👍

Your ways to protect yourself on the internet are very similar to mine. With a little research into the account, you can usually spot the fake ones easily.
And people who steal other people's accounts then send you messages as if they were that person. How irritating!
I'm more inclined to use social media to keep with someone I've already met than try to cultivate new online friends. But the exception to this is HIVE and the communities I love, such as LOH. I love getting to know all the new friends and I'm glad to have "met" you @nainaztengra!

Thank you for the gesture @blueeyes8960. It is very annoying when people make wrong use of these platforms where so much good can be done, but then that's part of the world and we have to live in it so better be safe then sorry.