Ladies of Hive Community Contest #103 - Life for Woman in Iran

This week @ladiesofhive Contest questions are:
1️⃣ What do you think about news of this sort? Do you think you could ever live in such a conservative society? Would you even consider briefly visiting such a country with such laws? How can we assist such women, who cannot afford to flee to a safe place?
Or
2️⃣ Some of the members of LadiesOfHive actually live in countries with similar laws. Are you one of them? If so, how do you cope with the constant hatred and suppression of women? Or do you enjoy having strict rules to follow? Do you think your country's views of women could be improved, and how? Would you flee to a safe place, if you could?

This is a very intense and sensitive topic. I will answer the 1st question, since I have been to this place and experienced some bit of this hypocrisy.
20180507_164301(0).jpg


In 2018 I travelled to Iran, I was aware about the clothing restrictions in the place, but never imagined it would be so strict. I had to do special shopping for visiting this place since most of my clothes are short sleeves or tight fit. I was informed that my clothing should not be very body hugging tight, it should be full sleeves and legs covered and full head covered. I was feeling a lot of burden thinking of it, because when you travel you want to be light and easy going and not piled up with layers of clothing from head to toe. But anyways this place was on my list to travel so I went ahead with all of it.

The moment we landed even before we exited the aircraft we were informed that we had to cover our head. This was only for the females, the men did not have any restrictions. I did not imagine that the fiasco would start right from the aircraft itself. Anyways there was no choice, but covering up head to toe was making me feel suffocated. I am not used to it, and my general clothing is mostly sleeveless so all the more I was feeling uncomfortable.

The most tedious to manage was the head scarf because it would keep slipping all the time, and there were times when we were sitting in the hotel lobby and if my head scarf would slip down even for few seconds someone from the hotel staff would come and point out to me. That was the most annoying part.

A picture taken at one of the oldest Cedar Tree site.
20180507_121936.jpg

I was feeling sad that the place is so beautiful but the lifestyle is so conservative and rigid that it makes so difficult for one to live here or even to visit here. There I met one lady who works for my husband's office based in Iran, and were out for coffee. She seemed to be a very modern girl with open views and I was speaking to her about why is there no objection from the people on all of this madness. She mentioned that the police is very strict there and they would just beat up people or even kill them for not following rules. It was very shocking to hear. She mentioned that couple of times she has walked down the street without her head scarf and police had chased her, and she has managed to escape by running away fast from them.

A lot of youngsters condemn to these laws but it is a police start with dictatorship and people cannot raise their voice. Social media is banned there, we had to use vpn to connect to our social media accounts. Thank god that facility is there and they do not yet have control over it. The place is over conservative and has some most stringent and rigid rules in the name of religion.

I too live in a Country with Islamic roots here in Oman, but there are no such restrictions in our Country. The local women do wear their Burqah but again it's not so stringent like what I experienced in Iran. For expat women, we are free to wear what we want and there are no restrictions of any nature.

A picture taken with the local ladies in Yazd
20180507_164301(0).jpg

Life for women is very conservative and there are different rules for man and woman which is a clear hypocrisy of the society there. It is sad to see that women in some parts of the world are still suffering under the male dominance in the name of religion. What has happened is very shocking and disgusting. Someone has to lose their life over a religious norm which is not even actually a religious norm but a country imposed norm is inhuman and complete violation of human rights.

A big time revolution from the people living there itself is needed if the scenes have to be changed. The need to end the dictatorship rule by uniting and standing up against it strongly. Iran was never a place like this. The women there were modern and progressive until the 1979 where a conservative revolution took place and that changed the face of life for Iranian women.

I so loved the place when I visited but I felt sad for their ways and culture.


I will like to invite @sduttaskitchen to participate in the contest


Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this friend, I think such place should be populated by only men, let the women leave so the men could make thier laws. But it won't be easy though but we can actually adjust these laws and keep it moderate. In some countries that ladies go half naked and aren't punished but used as cover page for magazines. Why must it be Iran and women? I am not in support of ladies dressing uncovered but the law should be a bit moderate for women to breathe air. We need air to touch different parts of our body for Christ sake. Thanks for sharing, have a lovely day.

"I think such place should be populated by only men, let the women leave so the men could make their laws"

That's what I was thinking, too! Let the men who hate women live in their own country, by themselves! They would be much happier never having to look at a woman again, and the women could finally live normal lives!

Yes, all the woman can live in one Country and man in another....hahahaha.....
They would end up raping each other in that case.... :-)

Exactly, let them be there alone enjoying their freedom and setting rules for themselves only. I personally believe that a woman should have freedom to decide what she wants to wear. The whole problem is that these man cannot control their lust and hence they keep setting rules for woman, and the other thing is their ego, they cannot see a woman rise higher than them so they always want to make it difficult and keep woman under their control.

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest! 💜 I am glad you responded, considering where you live, and I am glad it's not quite as bad where you are. I honestly thought the entire Persian Gulf area was as restrictive in "required dress" for women as Iran is. I've seen photos online (such as this pic) from Quatar, Bahrain, and other places where the women are covered in black, head-to-toe, with only their eyes visible. The climate of that whole region seems to be brutally hot as well, I don't know why all the women haven't died from "heat stroke" already. I think I would be too terrified to visit any country in that part of the world.

!LADY
037

Ohh no. Have you seen Dubai, lifestyle for man and woman is extravagant there. Oman is almost similar, it's not a conservative country but it's not as flashy as Dubai so it does not get much light from tourist.
You are right, I too wonder how they survive in those scorching temperatures :-( but it is their personal choice again.
But someone being beaten to death over a little slip is nothing but just to prove their dictatorship and ego.

Life for women is very conservative and there are different rules for man and woman which is a clear hypocrisy of the society there.

I used to know an Iranian man who came to Malaysia to study at a university. He was perhaps the most misogynistic man I have ever met. In his skewed POV, women were to blame for every single thing that went wrong. Such a repulsive being.

What can we say of such man. They cannot control their own lust and then they want to blame the woman. Perverts is what I can call them

The women there were modern and progressive until the 1979 - really?? I didn't know it...
I was sure it's old local traditions. I'm surprised..

you're nice in this type of clothes to0:)❤️

Thanx darling.
Checkout this to get some glimpse of before and after revolution life of woman in Iran
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-47032829

image.png