Career or partner?

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)
Career or partner? Such things are always a question for women in their adulthood. Did you experience it? That is also a long thought at the moment. I'm 30 years old. I started thinking about my partner. On the other hand, I started to have doubts about certain things.

In Indonesia, there are several cultures that cannot be avoided. Suppose the wife has to go with her husband. In the end, the wife had to give up the career she had built. So did my mother, when she married my father. My mother had to leave her career and become a housewife. My mother took care of me and my two other siblings.

Today, I have built my career. I began to fear marriage, because I had to face the "partner or career" question. Another thing, some of my closest male friends who are currently close to me, are people who are outside Jakarta. Meanwhile, I am building a career in Jakarta.

Should I leave my career? In a long time, I have learned a lot about media. I'm starting to like today's work. I also really love my director. There are high expectations from my director for the new staff who are mostly young people. Director I hope that young people can carry on their thoughts and hopes.

I'm starting to have a dilemma with this. Do I marry him, who currently lives in Surabaya. Should I give up my career and live in Surabaya? But so far I haven't had any important future discussions with my friend. I was quite scared and didn't find the right time for this conversation.

But I remembered something important from my director. If women are not in the "career or partner" options. Women should look for partners who support career and future choices. I started to think about it, my director said. But I also can't find the right time to talk to my friends. I hope this option doesn't last long. There is a resolution I can choose in the future.

_MG_0489.JPG

Picture by Nurdiani Latifah





About Author

Nurdiani Latifah

My name is Nurdiani Latifah. I currently live in Jakarta – Indonesia, after 25 years I live in Bandung. I am a media staff at an NGO in Indonesia. I have worked in this institution for almost 2 years on issues of women and peace. I had been a journalist in Bandung for 3 years.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@nnurdiani, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

I can relate with that career or love. We women always ended up giving up our carreer for the sake of love or building our family. Not only that but also leaving our comfort zone. Quite a hard decision.

I always thought, why are women always faced with two choices that are always difficult. Actually, I want to walk between the two. don't choose one.

thanks for dropping by

Congratulations @nnurdiani! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

I hope you won't need to choose between the two. I wish you the best in finding one who will make you keep both :)

I think so too. I still remember how my mother ended her career. then take care of the kids. but, when my father died, my mother could not do much.

thank you for the support. virtual hug. thanks for dropping by

That's the challenge when we permanently leave work or career, at least we should have something to do on the sideline and not completely reliant on the husband :) You're welcome !LADY :)

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @nnurdiani and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (8/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You have made me think about it and I think they should not be mutually exclusive, you can have a career and a partner. I live in Venezuela on the other side of the world, but a year ago I had the opportunity to meet a woman from Indonesia, who is married and has a career (her position is leadership in her company), she is the mother of 4 children and is very happy. So yes, yes you can have both.

thanks for sharing this story. I also want to choose both. without having to be sacrificed.

thank you for the support, hug maya. thanks for dropping by