Dealing with the "Red lady"

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Tissues, clothes, cotton wool or pads?

As a lady, our monthly flow is inevitable except we have certain health issues or decide to go on the nine month journey 😉.

img_0.8932485722960064.jpg
Pixabay

Some days ago, I was discussing with my brother's wife about periods and why she doesn't like pads and she mentioned her fear, "disposing of the used pads".

Over the years I've heard stories of people who look for used pads in waste sites and make use of the blood for rituals (in Nigeria, this is very possible) and that's why some girls are scared of using pads. Some even go as far as Washing the blood off from the used pads before disposing them, some prefer to use tissues that can be flushed while others use piece of clothes so they can wash it, dispose the water properly and reuse the clothes. Some say it is cost effective, considering the price of pads recently.

img_0.7113268879170029.jpg
Pixabay

img_0.121398888855704.jpg
Pixabay

Menstrual cups?
Some local Nigerians (me particularly 😅) have refused to make use of them cause of the risks.
Tissues, Cotton wool, clothes, pads or menstrual cups?
Which would you prefer and why? 🙃
❤️&🕯️ From @orah14

Sort:  

Wow I have been left with my mouth open, they use blood for rituals! ... In your case, I would also hesitate to use sanitary pads. I think I would go for a cup, but to tell you the truth, I haven't had my period for many years.

Wow I have been left with my mouth open, they use blood for rituals!

They use different things for rituals here including used pants too

I think I would go for a cup, but to tell you the truth, I haven't had my period for many years.

Must be nice (I think), no pains again 😊.
Thanks for engaging 😊❤️

There are still ways you can dispose used pads, you can just piece the used pad in the WC which is your toilet then flush, it works.

It can only block your toilet if it is not cut into pieces

I haven't tried it before, I think I'll try this but it's going to be really weird though.
Thanks for engaging 😊

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Now that is really scary ha, some people there use such to do some rituals. I would be really careful too if I were there. I do wish manufacturing companies consider making something that are easy to decompose so we can just bury them in a pit and they will decay in a short period of time.

I wish they would consider that too, the risks we face is something else.
Thanks for engaging 😊

You are very welcome❤

Wow, blood rituals?! That sounds freaky!

There are so many other options to be used for periods. Cloths are not really absorbent - I'm super confused how those work...what type of cloth is used? I think I'd like to know more!

There are tampons, periods cups (which are really under-stated!!!), re-usable pads, menstrual sponges/discs, and sterile guaze.

The most important thing is to ensure that whatever is used is clean, not left on for too long, and appropriately disposed. This way, there will no no infections introduced to the body.

Thank you for introducing this discussion. It is an interesting one.

Cloths are not really absorbent - I'm super confused how those work...

Cloths are not really absorbent but it's the only thing certain people can afford.

What type of cloth is used?

It depends on the person using it, there's really no specific type of cloth used.

There are tampons, periods cups (which are really under-stated!!!), re-usable pads, menstrual sponges/discs, and sterile guaze.

These are not really rampant here.
Thank you for engaging 😊

Hmm. How very interesting. Thank you so much for replying! It is so enlightening.