Foodie's interview update

I had my job interview on wednesday.

Playfulfoodie

I'm a little late writing about it. I had written a new post right before I left that morning, so I figured I'd wait a little. Haven't heard back yet either.

So, the day itself! In the morning I wrote a blog for the EcoTrain's question of the week (someone had to address the elephant in the room about the meat industry destroying our environment). It was a nice distraction, but it also made my head tired. Oh well! Then mum came over, had some tea and then we left for the city.

Mum went shopping and I walked over to my interview location. While I was waiting in the lobby, I heard a woman telling another woman that there were two interviews today, which made me wonder if they were talking about my job interview. If so, that would mean the other candidate would be an internal one. Yay.

That is exactly what I was told when the interview started. There was one other candidate and it was an internal one. So I was pretty bummed out, figuring this person would already know the organisation and maybe even the processes, so it would be a big competitor.

Nothing I could do about it though, so on we went with the interview. The ladies I talked with seemed like they could be nice co-workers and I think the job would fit my expertise. They also work from home a lot, which I really like. The biggest problem for me is they want me to work on fridays. Fridays are mother daughter days for mum and me! That's her day off and has been my day off for years aswell, so we can easily get together or talk on the phone. I'm sure we can make it work, but I like our fridays, so it kinda sucks.

The interview ended after about 45 minutes and I met mum in the city for lunch. They told me I would hear back at the beginning of this week or sooner. So far, I've been waiting to hear back and mum and I decided that might be a positive thing. If they don't want me, they can easily call and say 'no'. However, if they don't want the internal candidate, they have to let her down easy and fairly, so that might take a little longer.

This evening, hubby and I are visiting another organisation which also has some job openings. I'm kinda interested in them aswell (and needed a back-up plan!). I want to know what exactly the job will entail, if they allow working from home (and how much) and if they'd need me on fridays. The upside there might be fridays off and also, they pay better. Downside is I'd need a car to easily get there, instead of carpooling with hubby. It'll all come down to which job seems most interesting, and, ofcourse, who wants me!

I'll keep you updated!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

Sort:  

Good luck. It will be tough going up against an internal but on the other hand, sometimes you get doofuses in any org that go for jobs they are not suited for so it could be a win!

Thank you! Turns out, they do prefer me, so I'm on to the next round 😊

Woot woot, happy days!!! Get in there ya job-desirable second rounder! And good luck :O)

Interesting.
How did you feel you did in the interview?
Well, keep your hopes up until they say NO.
In the meantime, apply for other jobs.
Thanks for sharing, @playfulfoodie,
and take care 😃

Thank you! I actually didn't really have a good idea after the interview, which doesn't usually happen! But they called back now and I'm on to the next round 😃

I hope you find the job that best suits you, your mother-daughter Friday and that you fulfill what the organization requires. By the way, it's a job about what?

Thank you! It's a job in IT and business processes, working for youth health care 😊

That is awesome, I wish you luck!

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time