I want to be a child again / LADIES OF HIVE COMMUNITY CONTEST: 35th EDITION

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)

rollo.png

hojitas.png

I am happy to participate in this new contest, because I have a lot to tell you. Well, actually, I always have a lot to tell you 😂.

This week, the Ladies of Hive community invites us to answer two questions, which I will be happy to answer.

Let's go with the first one...

1️⃣ What’s your favourite childhood memory/memories?


no.jpg

This question is, at first glance, very simple to answer. In my case, I have so many beautiful moments from when I was a child, that I wouldn't know which one to choose.

I think that even when I suffered the accident in which the school bus ran over me, breaking my femur, it was beautiful. I am not referring to the pain I felt during the two months I was in bed, but to how many gifts, affection and love I received during those days.

My beloved parents always took turns taking care of me and my sister, when she left work, would come flying home with some comic book, or the latest edition of Tu magazine.

I had just turned 5 years old when this event in my life happened. I remember there was a boy, a little neighbor who was in love with me and every day he would bring me ping pong chocolates.

That's why I say that even those days of the accident, I remember them fondly.

nos.jpg

But taking a look at that trunk of memories that I treasure in my memory, I go to those days of Christmas, when we would go to bed early, so that Baby Jesus could leave us the presents next to the bed. He never brought me anything I asked for, hahaha. If I asked for a Barbie, he would bring me a rag doll, for example.

I always accepted it, because as a child, I was satisfied with whatever he brought me, but as a child, one day I asked my dad crying if Baby Jesus didn't read my letters, because he never brought me what I asked for and dad (I remember it as if it was yesterday), looked down and told me that maybe because he was so little, Baby Jesus couldn't read. But he would talk to the Baby Jesus.

Two days later, Dad told me that he had called heaven and talked to Baby Jesus himself and that he had told him that the coins were not enough to give me the gift I asked for, but that he was going to break his piggy bank to give me what I had asked for in the letter because I was a very well-behaved child. The following Three Wise Men's Day, I received the long-awaited Barbie.

nosotros.jpg

Days later, I missed a hammock where dad used to lie down to rest. Years later I understood that he had sold it to buy my Baby Jesus present. That broke my soul.

I will always carry all these memories in my heart. The trips to the beach and my mom making sandwiches with deviled ham and lemonade, while dad put an umbrella and beach chairs in the trunk of the car.

Those were moments full of happiness. On the way to the beach, we used to sing at the top of our lungs. Always together, always laughing. There were no luxuries, but I think we had everything: love, principles, respect, joy and health. What more could you ask from life?

image.png

In addition, Dad taught us to love history, because as a good historian, he would tell us about past events in different parts of the world, in a captivating way, as if he was telling a story. He made us dream of other worlds, other times and took us directly to the scene of the events, with his way of telling us everything.

I remember that any school assignment, we would run to him and ask him to explain it to us. He already knew it, because his only hobby was reading the encyclopedia and watching Who Wants to Be a Millionaire.

Every moment of my childhood was definitely unique and I thank life, the universe and God for having put me in this family, with beautiful, patient, loving parents, who gave us a life full of magic.

2️⃣ What’s the weirdest food you’ve eaten and what was the experience like?

Well, well... I start by telling you that I am a very bad eater. I don't eat everything. In fact, there are few foods that I like. For example, I like shellfish, but not mollusks. I hate cooked fish (I only like ceviche). Of chicken, I only like the breast. Of red meats, I don't like ground meat, nor stewed, swimming in sauce.... No! I definitely don't like any of that.

As it turns out, in December 2020, I was sick from COVID-19. Thank God, I was not hospitalized, but I did lose my sense of smell and taste. I remember that I was bedridden for more than 8 days, with fever and when I got up to go to the bathroom, I was dizzy and the pains in my body were intense. I was worried about my son, who was only 10 years old at the time, who was all alone and had to feed himself. I could hardly move.

sopa.jpg

A neighbor wrote to hear from me because she had seen my car parked in the garage for days. That's when my son answered for me and explained to her what I had.

That same day, in the afternoon, she knocked on my door because she had made me some pumpkin soup, telling my son that it was delicious and to serve it to me, because I had to eat something.

So she did and in small sips, I drank a big cup. I slept well and woke up stronger the next day. I drank a cup at breakfast and at lunch, whatever was left in the container. I called her and thanked her.

  • Did you like it? - she asked.

  • Yes, delicious and it made me feel better. - I answered and she laughed, telling me that she had given me hen's foot soup 🐓and not pumpkin soup. I almost threw up, thinking that I had eaten 🐓hen feet soup... OMG!

I know that in many countries, hen feet are a delicacy and I know they are a source of nutrients, but... having already told you how I am with food, imagine the look on my face when she told me the secret ingredient. I don't deny that it was good for me, really, but it is something I will never eat again in my life.

This is my story. I hope you liked it. I invite @carolinacardoza and @antoniarhuiz to also tell us their story.

For this publication, I used the tools PhotoScape, Canva and as a translator's assistant, Deepl, because my English is not perfect.

hojitas.png

All photographs are my own, edited with the free tool GIMP and PhotoScape.

Sort:  

Guao, que bonita publicación llena de hermosos recuerdos, como me gustaria tener una foto así con mi padre, gracias por compartir y gracias por invitarme.

Chacha si sopa de paticas de 🐣 es rico jiji pero cada quien con sus gustos.

De tu infancia que linda si los padres que nos daban amor el lujo era algo que no era de importancia. Que sacrificio de tu papá de vender su hamaca. Ando de nuevo por estos lares saludos 😍

Me alegra verte de nuevo por acá, mujerrrrr!!!