Holiday and some family traditions that I miss.

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

Holiday means a lot of fun, the family gets to gather, having good food, visiting places, and whatnot. It always makes me feel great to see different cultural rituals, family traditions during holidays.

I miss the warmth of holidays so much. The more we mature the different it feels, no? Now holidays are full of responsibilities. I don't mind that. But not being with the family sometimes make me feel down. Like during this pandemic we celebrated four festivals without our family.

Anyway, moving to talk about my family tradition.

stefan-vladimirov-Q_Moi2xjieU-unsplash.jpg
img

Festival time means 'Mom's cooking'. This is what I miss most. My mom used to prepare roasted chicken the day before the festival. At night we used to help her prepare the chicken and other food for the next day. I feel like I can smell our kitchen. Then going back to sleep late at night and waking up early in the morning is also part of the big day.

We used to serve food early in the morning to my Dad and my brother before they leave for the special festival prayer. We used to wait for them to come back and then we eat the roasted chicken with rice flour roti. These were our special food items for the holiday. Then we used to have some special gifts/money from my parents for the day. We used to have a little chit-chat and then proceed to the day.

We didn't use to go outside to dine out because both of my parents were Govt officials. So their time at home was more precious than going outside.

You may notice all I use is 'Past tense'. Because things are not the same anymore. My Dad passed away 11 years ago, my mom live alone, I live with my husband far away from my mom. Now, I spend holidays with my husband's family. I'm well welcome there and they also have some good traditions like cooking together with the extended family. But I miss how we used to celebrate the big day when we were younger, before my marriage.

Time changes and so does our life. I accept that.

Now what I'm doing will be my son's memories. That's my inspiration. I try to make some special food, do something special like some gifts, go outside, have movie time together, and so on to enrich his memory.

Thanks to #LadiesofHive for this content, it made me bring back so many beautiful memories. I invite @teknon to participate in this wonderful contest.

Have a good day, everyone.

Hive Steem Footer.gif

Sort:  

image.png

I'm so sorry to hear about your Dad and hopefully, the pandemic is gone and you will have a chance to return home to visit your Mom and enjoy her food. :)

No matter what food a mother cooks for her children, it will always be the best because she is cooking with love and dedication to see her children happy.

Great entry and good luck with the contest :)

I usually visit my mom two or three times a year. But during festival, I have to be with my in-laws (part of our cuture). But after one or two days, I go visit my mom.
Mom's cooking is always something different.
Thanks for your wonderful words.

Wow, lots of food!!! Truly "Mom's cooking."
Sorry to hear about your Dad.
Thanks for sharing, @rem-steem.
Good luck with the contest.

"Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom." Marcel Proust

Thanks for your wonderful words. And especially for the quote. It makes my day a little better.
Have a good day, dear.

Times do change and so as to how we do things especially when someone in the family passes away and some go to places far away. It is good that your in-laws also have celebrations that you can enjoy. I hope times get better and you will get to spend festivities with your mom too :)

I aceept the flow of life but this can't stop us from feeling what we leave behind.
I wish I could spend more time with my mom soon.
Thanks for your wonderful words.

That's true, we always yearn for home. You are very welcome and I wish you all the best on your holiday plans. Cheers!

OMG! Thanks for the mention 🥰. I'd love to participate and of course you really had a very cool family tradition there before your dad passed on and thank God you've got your own family to transfer such an amazing tradition to. Weldone. !PIZZA

I'm trying my best to keep up the tradition and make some of our own too.
I would love to see your perticipation. Don't hesitate to tag ne there.
Have a good day.

You're doing a great job then. Thanks and of course I'll sure tag you. Hehehe

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@teknon(1/10) tipped @rem-steem (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I sure do miss eating together with my siblings 🥲

That's the best thing we had when we were younger.

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! 🙂

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavía es tan nuevo, valdrá más si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente después de recibirlos, ¡pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudará a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "órdenes de venta" están obstaculizando la estabilización del precio de este nuevo token. ¡Considere esperar! ¡Gracias! 🤗

You are so right, @rem-steem; as we grow older, things do change. I understand missing how things were. It's hard when, as in your circumstance, your missing your dad. It's hard when your mom is so far away. But, you are correct; focusing on creating traditions for your son is important; someday, he too, will look back and remember fondly these times.

Sometimes, I secretly wish I were a little girl again and (but with the ability to better appreciate the time at hand).

Thank you for sharing.💜🤗

That is what I came to understand, we pass the traditions just like our parents do. They sure felt the same way I'm feeling now and this is life.
How beautiful life would be if we can be a little girl again, we can do it, in our imagination. :)
Thanks for your wonderful words.

You are most welcome!💜🤗