Something I want to do in 2027

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)
It's my first time joining a contest here in Hive, I just usually write random stuff. But, I'm excited to share with you my thoughts on the questions posed by the amazing ladies of hive.

Remember when you were a kid? We as adults, don't play enough in the way that children do. Adults need to play too! If you could have a 'play day,' what children's toy or game would you choose to play with, and why? Then, I want you to make a date — whether with a friend or your partner, to go do that play day!

Of all the adventures and things you want to do in your lifetime, what is #1 on your "bucket list" and why? When do you think you will achieve it?

It's not really a toy or game but what I really want is a museum play date! ☺️ Back when I was a kid, it was always a rare opportunity for me to go to museums, especially the Science museums here in our country. I was only able to go to museums through the school trips which occur once a year. The very first Science museum I went to was located in the metro, and I was already a college student when I was able to visit the place. I remember being so fascinated with Science when I was growing up, there was this popular TV show back then that I would always watch because the kids would do Science experiments. I didn't get to experience that. And since I was not able to see those exhibits with my own eyes, whenever an opportunity comes along, I always try to make it up with the kid in me to enjoy the exhibits and experiments in Science museums.


Science Centre Singapore

When we went for a vacation trip in Singapore, I managed to convince my siblings that going to this Science museum is something we should not miss. It was funny since it's located at the far end of the city, like there's no other tourist spots to go to in that area but this one. There I was able to play around with the exhibits and read the insightful descriptions of the displays. I had a lot of fun going from one room to another and see the things I have learned from school and the university right before my eyes. I wasn't just reading a textbook or watching a TV show, things are actually happening in front of me. I enjoyed the part where we can play with light, how it brings out the color we see, that without light all we could see is nothing.


Somehow this museum play date could also be one of my bucket lists. I went here with my siblings back then, if I will be able to convince them again that it's worth the time and effort to visit this place, I'd love to go back to this museum with them. When will it be? This answers that question...sometime in the year 2027.


Outside the museum, they have built this time capsule which contains science and technology artifacts from the years 1973, 1983, 2001, and 2012. And it is expected to opened again in the year 2027, in time for the Science Centre's 50th Anniversary. Isn't it amazing? There's this decade-old gift that is set to be opened six years from now. It's not a faraway future for me because I went here in the year 2017, and I'm now midway of the waiting.

This was fun. I got to know what I wanted to do again as an adult and I have realized that this could also be added to my long bucket list. I'd like to invite @wandersells to answer these questions too. I hope you could walk down the memory lane and write something about it too.
Sort:  

Really excellent post @travelingmercies. I love Science also. Several years ago we traveled to Florida, USA and went to an aquatic museum and saw jelly fish in huge tanks. Just beautiful. There we also saw giant turtles, fish of all kinds as well as live lobsters crawling around giant tanks. An experience I will never forget.
Thanks for sharing. Good luck in the contest.
Enjoy your day.

I'm glad you have that museum experience to keep. ☺️ Thank you for reading my entry post and for wishing me good luck. Hope you get to visit museums again too. 🤓

Singapore... I hope to visit again!

Good luck with the contest. @travelingmercies!

Yes! Singapore is such a lovely place to travel, there's a lot to enjoy. ☺️ Thanks for wishing me good luck. 🙏🏻

Sounds like you had a wonderful time! You have reminded me of my trips to the Museum of Natural History. I too went as a child in school and as an adult after marriage. It was fun. Take care!

Yup, it was really a wonderful time. It's nice you got to visit the museum again, there's really a lot to see and learn from those places. Take care too! :)

I have a Science World Center in Vancouver that I used to take my kids to but they have outgrown it as it is geared to the younger kids and my kids are young adults now. Very educational thought.
Now it's Computer games most often, and we have times at the park for a little sword play, Nerf gun shoot outs and water guns in the summer. I mention in my recent blog.

Thank you @travelingmercies for sharing your play days. 🤸‍♀

Museums are really great for kids and I hope we adults can have that much fun too. But parks have that same kind of magic too, glad you could play in those places. Take care! :)