Ladies of Hive Contest # 18: An Advice to my Younger Self

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago
Hello Hiveians! It is my first time to participate in a contest initiated by @ladiesofhive. It is a community promoting women empowerment and where ladies could be sharing anything under the sun to inspire and be inspired.

Advice to self.png

To support the community, here is my entry to the 18th edition of the Ladies of Hive Contest and answer the question:

If you could go back in time and give your younger-self just one piece of advice, what would it be?

I would whisper to my younger-self a certain number combination and would say "You will thank me later..." 🤣

Kidding aside, I don't have just one but three advices to myself if I could go a few years back.

Get into investments early

Investment.png

When I had my first job and earned my first few salaries, I was overwhelmed on buying stuffs that I have longed for. I spent mostly on gadgets. Though I also saved some of my money in the bank but it was only years after I started to learn about investing in stuffs that are more valuable and have higher returns. I was introduced to different forms of investments like real estate, cooperatives, VUL, cryptocurrency and among others. It may not always a gain but if I had started earlier and weighed more on my spending, my first salary could have been a long way.

Read more

Read.png

I can remember as a child, my parents would buy encyclopedias and story books from Sales people visiting houses. During these times too, fairytales in VHS were also a big hit too and preferred over reading. In my perspective, reading becomes more of an academic purpose. During pastimes, I haven't thought of flicking a book for entertainment and excited to watch cartoons instead. It was only in high school that I was influenced by my friend to borrow Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books from the library. I just discovered that in reading, you could go in the zone for hours. It really boosts my imagination and sometimes I get frustrated watching movie adaptations from books since it was different than what I imagined it to be. (Disclaimer: Not all movie adaptations though 😆) If I could go back, I would read during my idle times. Of course being balanced with the physical activities.

Ask more questions, speak out more and make yourself heard

Confidence.png

Talking to a lot of people really got me the nerves, be it in person or online. I always think over and over again what are the right things to say. Even in speeches or reporting, my mind would go blank, gone with the wind are my days of preparation. If I could tell my younger self, I would tell her that to gain confidence, you should ask questions often. In that way, you would be able to gain confidence and be comfortable with interacting with people. Don't worry if you would be judged or you won't have response. As long as you would be able to speak your mind. Don't just keep silent while your mind is boggling with lots of questions. Let it out and make yourself heard.

I might want to impart more thoughts to my past self and would sound regretful; but it is never too late to make changes. As what Max De Pree, an American businessman and writer said,
We cannot become what we want by remaining what we are.
Change is essential for one to grow and improve. I am inviting @reewritesthings to join Ladies of Hive community and share to us what are her thoughts in changing one's self to be better.
Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Credits: Canva.com for the pictures and designs

Sort:  

Congratulations @wandergirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 34000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting

Good to hear reminding yourself to ask questions something too many of us don't do. As for the combination number keep that secret, yours!

Welcome to Ladies of Hive and have a wonderful weekend @wandergirl

@tipu curate

Thanks @joanstewart! In trainings I barely ask questions and in the end there are still some gray areas on certain topics that should have been clear if I asked.

Welcome to the community @wondergirl!
Join us in discord!
Good luck with the contest!

Thanks @silversaver888! It's actually @wandergirl 😁

I agree with the confidence part. I wished I was more comfortable in my own skin. Thanks for nominating me!!! I am so excited to write a post about this ❤️

It's a pleasure @reewritesthings. I know you have a lot to share to the ladies of hive community. You can also make a post on their new topic.