Batch 20 Finished and 21 Started - Tuesday

in Freeze Dried Foods3 years ago (edited)

Holy rain Batman! Between 4pm on Monday and 7am this morning we got 1.76 inches of rain and it is in the mid 40s F. Now the winds are gusting to 50+ mph. So far in just 13 days of 2021 we have gotten 3.89 inches of just rain, the last snow to fall was on 12/31. Crazy damned weather.

In the morning I pulled the trays from batch 20 out of the freeze dryer. The kiwi were the first thing I tested and they came out amazing. They nearly melt in the mouth and taste amazing. The banana came out like before and have a much stiffer texture than a raw banana.

IMG_20210112_081148.jpg
IMG_20210112_081153.jpg

The pears came out very similar to apple in texture and the flavor is not quite a sharp as the apple. It is a bit more muted but that is likely just the type of pear I used.

IMG_20210112_081204.jpg

The orange pieces ended up not being fully done. There is a LOT of water content to oranges so it is not surprising to me. I tried a couple pieces and they taste awesome, the sweetness seems to be higher dryer than when full of water. I decided I needed to run them longer so I tossed the tray in the big chest freezer until I could get the next batch ready to go.

IMG_20210112_081210.jpg
IMG_20210112_081217.jpg

The cooked pumpkin was left in and on the oven over night so I set about removing all the skin from the pieces on all four trays. I tossed all the pumpkin chunks into the bowl and once all the skin was removed I ran it all through the blender to get a nice fine puree.

IMG_20210112_101113.jpg
IMG_20210112_111518.jpg

I took R to school then picked him up in the torrential downpour of rain. Once we got home I ran down to the tunnel to see how full the creek is. The snow level has been up a 1000 to 2000 feet with the warmer storm so the creek has filled with a good amount of snow melt. It is even higher this morning as I look down at the small creek, I will get pics of them today.

IMG_20210112_144516.jpg

In the afternoon I made up a big batch of pumpkin pie filling. I used 48 ounces of raw pureed pumpkin and 6 of our chicken's eggs. After mixing everything up I poured it all out into 3 greased baking dishes to try and keep them each thinner so freeze drying will be easier. I baked them for an hour then pulled them out and set them outside to cool down.

IMG_20210112_162038.jpg
IMG_20210112_163532.jpg

J and R got an evening away from the house at @stryeyz's co-worker's house. She got them food and then they made soaps and watched Angry Birds. Of course R made the poop shaped ones. While they were at her house I went back home and got the 2 dishes of pie filling cut into chunks and laid out on the last empty tray for the batch.

IMG_20210112_182855.jpg

The other trays are: 2 filled with cooked pumpkin puree, 1 tray of raw puree, and then the orange pieces got a full length 2nd run.

IMG_20210112_195216.jpg
IMG_20210112_195311.jpg
IMG_20210112_195351.jpg

Today will be largely about the weather. It is to be really windy most of the day so I'm keeping my eyes on the many surrounding trees on the farm. Hopefully the ton of rain has not saturated the soil too much that any blow over. Though that has yet to happen on the farm, the trees have only broken off at mid points and not uprooted, I'm still cautious. Makes me happy I took down the 2 standing dead before this happened.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Hi flemingfarm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I am amazed at the variety you think of and process of just 1 vegetable!