Batch 29 Finished, Hay Roll, Healing - Sunday

in Freeze Dried Foods3 years ago

My leg is doing much better. Sleeping wasn't bad and it helped to have my leg level with my body overnight to help the swelling go down. In the morning I was happy to feel the pain in my shin has gone down a lot and it has mainly focused on the ankle area which is where the swelling is the most. I can stand on my leg I just can't walk right yet. There is good range of motion coming back slowly and hopefully by the end of the week I will be able to walk normally.

Most of the morning was spent resting my leg as much as I could. After noon I went out and got the hay bale ready to move.

IMG_20210207_140852.jpg

I have a bunch of old cubicle walls that I have found work perfectly on the hay. They bales are round and between them they form a valley where the rounded sides touch. This valley collects rain and snow and makes it difficult to move the tarp. These wall sections get laid on top of the bales to cover the valleys and keep the snow from filing them in.

IMG_20210207_141208.jpg
IMG_20210207_141214.jpg

I'm very happy with my choice if the pallet covers for the bales. They are almost perfectly good with only a tiny bit of mold on the very bottom . With the double layer of covering over them I've finally managed to keep the hay good without having a barn to store them in.

With my leg still sore I had to wait for @stryeyz to get home and then my mom helped roll it in as well.

IMG_20210207_141417.jpg

Not long after she and the boys got home the freeze dryer cycle finished. I was not sure if it would be completely done but as soon as I pulled trays out I could tell it was perfect. At 50 hours I knew the carrots and cucumbers would be super well done, but the broth was my main concern.

IMG_20210207_150031.jpg
IMG_20210207_150058.jpg

All the broth is perfectly dried and very light weight. It is really crazy t break a piece off and toss it in the mouth since it just instantly melts. The hard part now is going to be determining proper amounts to use and what sizes to bag the stuff into. It is still containing a large amount of fats so I won't be storing this for more than a year I think. It may do fine longer but I don't know I would trust it too much longer.

IMG_20210207_150139.jpg
IMG_20210207_150228.jpg

With the trays pulled and the freeze dryer defrosting we all went out and rolled the bale into the pen. The alpaca is uber nosy and is always the first too investigate anything.

IMG_20210207_151648.jpg

The game thingy was awful and the halftime show was truly disgusting. I really can't stand that music and the absolutely horrible jock strap masks they had on. There is no subliminal messaging anymore they have stepped right to superliminal. I love that Under Armor has dropped the NFL and MLB. Hopefully more companies do the same.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

I’m sorry to hear about your leg! May you heal soon! And I’m double jealous now you have a freeze dryer and llamas?!!!!! They have been my favorite animal since I was a child, llamas and alpacas for the win!🥰🥰🥰😞

I am glad to hear your leg is healing already. It's difficult to be limited in what one can do for a few days, but (as you undoubtedly know) taking care of it is important. I didn't know you have an alpaca! That's an interesting addition to the farm.

That's so cool the stock finished so quickly! Glad your leg is better...