Batch 34 Finished, Started Flooring in Studio - Wednesday

in Freeze Dried Foods3 years ago

A SUNNY DAY!!!!! Finally we got a full day of sun with only a few clouds here and there and low 40s F temps. After feeding the boys their lunch I headed up to the studio to start making room to start the flooring. First was to move everything out of the way. The boys had left their tent setup inside which I moved to the deck and which they then spent much of the afternoon playing in. I moved all the lumber aside then vacuumed the half of the floor to remove as much of the sawdust and sheetrock dust as I could.

IMG_20210224_144327.jpg

Next was the foam insulation which needed just shy of 2.5 sheets to make the length. The sheets are 4x8ft.

IMG_20210224_145319.jpg

I have 1.5 inch thick foam that has an R-7.5 value which is not a ton but in the sheet form like this should give us a nice barrier to the cold beneath.

IMG_20210224_145330.jpg

The underlayment will also help the heat to stay in the studio and not let so much cold seep up.

IMG_20210224_145752.jpg

I started the first course against the back wall and got to the point I needed to start cuts. The table saw is all the way down at the house and I will be making about 30 cuts before I am done. I called it good for the day while I went in to figure out dinner for the night. I am not sure yet exactly how I will do it but I am thinking I can connect 4 pieces of laminate, make my measurements for each row then go cut 5 pieces or so at a time. It is dumping snow so I would rather leave the saw under the carport where it is protected.

IMG_20210224_150551.jpg

It was Wednesday which meant we had Cub Scouts in the evening. The kids had a blast, R cut his finger with the point of a knife as they were going over knife safety before carving on soap. The kids had a screaming good time playing freeze tag around the grange hall while I tried to talk with the parents.

After we got home from scouts and right before I was about to go to bed the freeze dryer finished it's cycle. It was right on 29 hours to complete and all but a few pieces of tomato came out perfect. The bell peppers are all nicely dried and it was a good thing I took of the whites from the insides as every piece is perfect.

IMG_20210224_213204.jpg

The tomatoes did good except for some of the thickest pieces, which amounted to about 10 in total, that had a tiny bit of still moist spots so they got kept separate to eat now.

IMG_20210224_213244.jpg

The corn always comes out perfectly. It makes for a good snack this way and is not taking up space in the freezer.

IMG_20210224_213304.jpg

I was super curious how the rhubarb would come out and I find myself a little surprised. It looks about like it is cut up fresh but it weighs next to nothing and when I pop a piece in my mouth is quickly absorbs moisture then compresses into a small mass that is vibrant with flavor. Each piece really pops with the rhubarb flavor now that the large amount of water is out of them. It rehydrates really easily so it should be interesting to try cooking/baking with it.

IMG_20210224_213347.jpg
IMG_20210224_213352.jpg

The snow started about 6:30 this morning and it has already dumped almost 2 inches. Today I am going to keep working on the flooring in the studio, shovel snow once it finishes for the day, and I am going to be packing up for camping this weekend up north under a boulder next to a lake. It would be nice to get some climbing in but just the time away from life for a bit will be enough. I'm going to take my climbing shoes and chalk bag but I won't have my crash pad with me. There are a few boulders that I am really wanting to climb, they have some super awesome looking problems on them.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

That's really cool about the rhubarb. I had wondered....

The flooring has lovely color. You'll get your walking miles putting it down...